march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store Family Tools sports

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars25
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$102.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 5, 2010
This book is extremely well written. It covers a lot of ground, and it covers it deeply. Because of that, it might be a little hard for beginners; You'll need to skip over sections if you don't want to break your brain in half.

It's an excellent reference book. Some people think that a reference book is useless now because you can search on the internet, but I don't think you can find websites written as well as this book.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
I bought this book to learn algorithms in a self taught manner but it turns out to be "just" a reference book.
The book is well written and it covers a lot of topics.
It is very rigorous indeed. It's actually empathizes rigor over accessibility.
For a beginner like me it feels like learning to speech by reading the dictionary.

I would advise you buy this book of you already know the topic a minimum but need a reference OR if you are using it as a textbook in class.

To give you an idea of the target audience, there I actually stumbled upon an instance where the book had something like this:
"By exercise XXX, some given property is true" where XXX is an exercise given at the end of a previous chapter.
Come on... Can you not, for the lone learner, explain why such property is true?
And the book also mentions that only a portion of the exercises have correction because they want the teachers to be able to give exercise and make sure the students cannot google the solution.
It does make sense. But it's another hint of the targeted audience.

I will still rate 4, because as a reference book it's good.
But beginners: you've been warned.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2010
Still contains all the material which has made this book great. Some nice new additions though the removal of binomial heaps saddens me.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2013
This book clearly describes all the concepts and theories with very informative examples and exercises. It takes you from very basics of the data structures and some simple algorithms into complex and fascinating problems.
If you are taking a course in Algorithms or just want to expand your knowledge, this book is for you!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2013
Similar to what other people have said about this book, it's a great reference which does an excellent job covering the subject of algorithms in computer science.

I have followed a course on discrete mathematics and it is in my opinion a must to have a chance at understanding this book without being overwhelmed. The reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because there is only a subset of solved exercises in the link provided within the book. Also, the book is not taking any shortcuts to teach you about algorithms so get ready to have pen and paper at hand and even a compiler to implement the pseudo-codes on your own to truly understand them.

I recommend a quick first-pass of the book and once you're ready take a good month to study in detail the chapters of interest to your field.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2015
The coverage of the material is great. It's one of the better algorithms books I've read. However, many parts of the book are unclear and the practice questions are extremely difficult. I was able to get them, but it takes a long time. I needed external resources to clarify terms for me before I could do them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
Well this book surprisely made me understand what the professor could not , really a good reference but sometimes in the hard one I find it difficult to understand for overall it's one of the best book I will keep for my self and I'm happy with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2015
Loved it, great to review concepts I had forgotten years ago. Covers everything you'd want to know about sorting, classic data structures. I would recommend it for any software designers... period... you should have this in you technical library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2014
now i know i'm dumb. However the book is excellent at explaining complex concepts in as simple a way as possible, with a lot of helpful diagrams. It is an excellent book for a difficult subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2013
explicit teaching and nice exercises. well... needless to say, this book has already had its good reputation. I think everyone would enjoy this book and learn something very useful from it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse