Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars you can still call her miss ross !!!!
I am a avid 60's motown fan and i love all of the acts that hailed from that label including the supremes. I must say that after reading many books about diana ross and the supremes, this one is the most beleivable and probably most accurate account. I truly beleive that taraborelli did accurate and fair research from all of his resources who seem to be reliable since...
Published on Nov. 4 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars MISS ROSS IS STILL THE BOSS!
An unflattering and backstabbing book about this legendary soul diva which does have some interesting stories but you can't help feeling that Taroberelli tends to focus on all the negative things and somehow is trying to discredit Ross. This book should have more of a balance to it as as a mother of five who has helped a lot of her colleagues out in times of need and...
Published on June 22 2000 by ianphillips@uk.dreamcast.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars you can still call her miss ross !!!!, Nov. 4 2003
By A Customer
I am a avid 60's motown fan and i love all of the acts that hailed from that label including the supremes. I must say that after reading many books about diana ross and the supremes, this one is the most beleivable and probably most accurate account. I truly beleive that taraborelli did accurate and fair research from all of his resources who seem to be reliable since most of them knew diana personally. Also the fact that everyone interviewed for this book seem to be in almost complete unison when detailing their own experiences and observations of diana ross give this book some validity. The depictions of Diana Ross as self-centered, self-controlling, maniuplative, underhanded but also a loving mother devoted to her family, sympathetic to the needs of others (as long as the "needs" and the "others" in question didn't stand in the way of her own ambitions), her undeniable and undisputable star power simply only educates the reader of this book that diana ross is nothing but who SHE is: a human being!! No one is perfect and void of making mistakes and acting unruly at times but regardless of what is revealed in this book you can't take away the fact that she worked hard for who she is and for what she has, not to mention she is one helluva of an entertainer! And by the way, can one really imaging someone else singing 'I hear a symphony', 'you keep me hangin on, you can't hurry love and other classics besides diana ross!! I rest my case! You can love her, hate her, or just leave her alone. This is a good book, and good reading and i recommend it to anyone interested in diana ross!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inside out...Round, Round!, July 5 2002
By 
This review is from: Call Her Miss Ross (Hardcover)
After reading this book, I'm sure "The Boss" was not pleased, but this unauthorized account of Ms. Ross' life and career will keep the reader interested throughout. In honesty, I think Tarabollerri did a tasteful job in depicting, Diana, the good witch vs. Diana, the most wicked. While many passages in the book attempt to defame Ms. Ross' character, I found these moments comical at best. It has always amazed me that Diana, seventy pounds at best in her early years, managed to evoke so much fear amongst her peers- why didn't anybody just slap her? I think artists point Diana out as the target due to their fear of confronting the man behind the monster- Berry Gordy.
I am not a big Diana Ross fan, but after reading this book, if you like her or not, you will have to agree that she is a very driven, hard working individual, who, ultimately, got everything she strived for- and then some. I have an immense amount of respect for her. She was thinking like a man way before it became fashionable. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Is Still The Definitive Bio Of The Legendary Ross, Feb. 11 2002
By 
Miss DTP (St. Thomas USA) - See all my reviews
512 Fantastic PAGES of the Diva--Miss Ross. Even the pictures are reason enough to get it. For true fans, THIS is the bio to read, NOT EVEN Secrets of a Sparrow (Diana Ross 250 PAGES) comes even close to the revelations put forth about Ross. CALL HER MISS ROSS and two other books, 'All That Glittered' (Tony Turner), 'Dreamgirls/My Life As A Supreme (Mary Wilson) can come close to this one. The relationship b/w Ross, Berry Gordy and her first husband Bob Ellis (Silberstein) are exposed for the first and only time. Not even Ross talks about this touchy subject in her book.
Ross claims that she was controlled by Berry but J. Randy uncovered the truth. He shares with the world how Ross used the power she was given to step all over members of The Supremes and most of the Motown family. Martha Reeves, Gladys Knight-even Patti Labelle confirms this in their respected bio's.
Even though the very, very bad is displayed-so is the very, very good. The author does an excellent job of painting both sides. He gives insight into Ross's business's, her children and her relationship with her undying fans (me included). This book only made me want to know more about the diva. If you are already a fan...don't listen to what you might have heard about this book. Pick it up; you're sure to enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Dramatic Tell-All Book, Feb. 5 2001
By 
Sandra D. Peters "Seagull Books" (Prince Edward Island, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Call Her Miss Ross (Hardcover)
This book is not all sugar-coated and sweet, but one that truly gets down to the nitty-gritty and tells what (if we can believe what we read) Miss Ross is all about. For anyone who is a product of the 60's and is wondering whatever happened to the fantastic group known as "The Supremes," this is an in-depth account. From the growing years of the group, the aches and pains, glitz and glamour, tragedy and sorrow, to the solo career of Miss Ross, every page of this very lengthy book is worth reading. The book often portrays a self-centred, critical side of Miss Ross, for example, her actions at Flo Ballard's funneral. However, one must also bear in mind, we all deal with grief in our own way. If one reads between the lines, Miss Ross definitely appears to be carrying around her own share of hurt and insecurities - there are two sides to every story. Overall, the book is informative and enlightning. Whether you agree, or disagree, with the author's portrayal of Diana Ross's true character, the book will take you through a whirlwind thirty year span of her legendary and illustrious career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars MISS ROSS IS STILL THE BOSS!, June 22 2000
By 
ianphillips@uk.dreamcast.com (BOLTON, LANCASHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Call Her Miss Ross (Hardcover)
An unflattering and backstabbing book about this legendary soul diva which does have some interesting stories but you can't help feeling that Taroberelli tends to focus on all the negative things and somehow is trying to discredit Ross. This book should have more of a balance to it as as a mother of five who has helped a lot of her colleagues out in times of need and someone who has opened doors for several of todays new artists, is she all that bad - no! It may come across that Ross used the other supremes as stepping stones for her own career but if the situations were reversed and Mary Wilson or Florence Ballard had the same opportunities would'nt they have taken them? Also we should have had a detailed breakdown year by year of what Ross was doing musically including chart details and critical opinions on her albums as after all its the music that made her famous. To me this has done nothing to alter my opinion of Ross as the good always outshines the bad and after all dont we all make mistakes! Worth reading once for its pure trashiness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars a poorly done job, Oct. 13 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Call Her Miss Ross (Hardcover)
one feels empty and cheated after reading this book, and whatever one's feelings about ross, it's the author, taraborrelli, who comes off as a pathetic figure; one gets the feeling he approached each of his sources by urging them to come out with only the worst things they could remember about ross; here and there he throws in some 'good' thing that she allegedly did, yet i couldn't shake off the feeling that taraborrelli's ONLY goal was to defame her as much as possible; although probably all of the 'dirty' stuff is true, this is actually a very poor biography, offering almost no insight at all into or commentary on WHAT made ross the premier black female superstar in the 1964-1983 period; and it focuses too much on her private life, well, GOSSIP about it, and we get very little about her musical work; why don't we find anything about what albums ross recorded? since this is an account of her life AND her work, why no mention on how EVERY album was recorded, with some critical views about them? one cannot blame ross for being unscrupuolous and letting no one stand in her way to the top; one should actually admire this woman, a black woman in the 1960s to boot, for having, by all accounts, worked her ass off to achieve what she has; sure, the fact that she slept with gordy helped her career a lot, but it was far from being the ONLY thing that made her a superstar; i give it two instead of one star only because it is very detailed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about the real Ross, Oct. 22 2000
This review is from: Call Her Miss Ross (Hardcover)
I loved this book. It was well written and objective, not just trashing Ross, but pointing out the good things about her as well. It had its humorous moments as well as its tragic ones, too. It tells the story of Diana's childhood, her rise to fame as the lead singer of the Supremes, her ruthless and cutthroat behavior to get to the top at the expense of others, Flo Ballard's demise and much more.
However, Taraborrelli's book did much harm to Diana's reputation, much more than Mary Wilson's books ever did. This is why Ross didn't want this book to be published...because she did not want people to know how she really was/is. What I find to be so amusing now is that these days, Taraborrelli is trying to get back into Ross' good graces by trashing Mary Wilson. So, so tacky, don't you think? But it's a good read. We see Ross as she really is, and I suppose that's what she was afraid of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as in-depth as I'd have liked, Sept. 29 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Call Her Miss Ross (Hardcover)
This book seems as if most parts of it have been directly quoted out of Mary Wilson's "Dreamgirl--My Life as a Supreme". I read Mary's book first, and the parts in the Diana Ross book pertaining to the Supremes, almost all matched Mary's quotes, exactly.
I didn't feel like I learned too much, and since this is an "unauthorized" biography, I feel that one cannot tell what is true or untrue. Of course, out of the 3 original Supremes, Diana was my LEAST favorite, so it doesn't upset me to read anything negative. After all, we are all human, and anyone who can't have ANYTHING written about them, cannot be human! At any rate, I was not too satisfied with the information I received from this book in terms of completeness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ross like she does not want to be seen, Aug. 18 2000
By 
This review is from: Call Her Miss Ross (Hardcover)
While clearly admiring her career and musical achievements, Taraborelli effectively did ruin Ross's personal reputation: everyone could read that she is not a very nice person. Well written, the book gives a good look on the sacrifices required by a career like Ross had. Many Ross fans did not like the book at all; they should stick to the book Ross wrote about herself. Taraborelli also wrote the excellent Michael Jackson biography. These both books are a must for everyone who is seriously interested in pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, Jan. 6 2000
This review is from: Call Her Miss Ross (Hardcover)
i thought the book was great.it didn't discredit her to me.cuz if you liked&respected her work then you wouldn't trip on the book.she has given the world some of the most important music ever and has been very influential.but also she wasn't always fair to the other members of the surpremes and fellow motown artists.everybody has two sides to the coin and it's important for balance.she is a true diva.that word is used loosely today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call Her Miss Ross: Unauthorized Biography of Diana Ross
Call Her Miss Ross: Unauthorized Biography of Diana Ross by J. Randy Taraborrelli (Hardcover - Nov. 2 1989)
Used & New from: CDN$ 18.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews