Customer Reviews


325 Reviews
5 star:
 (205)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why I Work in the Detox Unit of a Treatment Center
Read this book and you may understand why. James Frey's wonderful, dark, and truthful portrait of addiction and the infinitely small possibility of recovery is one of the most honest portrayals of drug addiction that I have ever read. It's not a pretty story as no true story of addiction can be. Frey writes about the gritty reality of life on drugs and never once...
Published on April 29 2003 by Clare G. Stella

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Her Highness Oprah
I was extremely dissapointed in Oprah for her shameful treatment of the author. All authors make embelishments. She felt the need to embarass this man in front of the world, in order to distance herself from (silly) publicity. I think Oprah made herself look like Jerk. This took away from all the good that she does. She should have let it go. I read a review that...
Published on Feb. 20 2006


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why I Work in the Detox Unit of a Treatment Center, April 29 2003
By 
Clare G. Stella "Word Lover" (Rockland, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Read this book and you may understand why. James Frey's wonderful, dark, and truthful portrait of addiction and the infinitely small possibility of recovery is one of the most honest portrayals of drug addiction that I have ever read. It's not a pretty story as no true story of addiction can be. Frey writes about the gritty reality of life on drugs and never once attempts to glorify any of it. His story is sad, honest, frustrating. Vomit and snot and rage. Victims, brutality, and very little in the way of hope. Frey is a Substance Abuse Counselor's nightmare - he refuses to play by the rules, he won't attempt to "go along and get along", he often bites the hand that feeds him. His addiction is a living thing residing in his head like a monster with huge bloodied teeth. I loved this book. Read it, feel it, learn from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The hard truth but with no answers., Sept. 24 2005
By 
Tracy Stillman "Space Cadet" (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Million Little Pieces (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
This is an absorbing gritty novel that I found very hard to put down, but also found myself wondering about. The author lays the awful truth of drug addiction on the line, along with hard truth that the addict must face when going through detox, but there does not seem to be any conclusion beyond "this is what happened." I would like to know more about why, at least why the author thinks this happened to him. The book deserves the praise it is getting, it is well written, but it is kind of like watching a car wreck. You want to look away but can't, and then there are no answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a good read, regardless of the level of truth, Feb. 23 2006
This review is from: A Million Little Pieces (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
In light of what has happened regarding Mr. Frey's two books, I feel the responsibility for fact checking is the responsibility of Doubleday and also of Oprah's staff. I feel that Mr. Frey got caught up in all that there is with having a best selling book. Yes, he should not have lied but his books needed to be classified in another category and again the responsibility of the publisher. This is not the first time that this has happened with publishing corporations. Mr. Frey was used as a scapgoat and publicly humiliated. I read Million Little Pieces and bought copies for several people and have just purchased My Friend Leonard. I will continue to read all the books that Mr. Frey writes, still, I can't imagine why people haven't figured out "what's going on" in the publishing world and places such as Hollywood. A good example is McCrae's book "katzenjammer" which tells exactly this sort of thing-what someone has to go through to get their book published and then what "they" do to it to sell it. Or the book "The Man who invented Rock Hudson" is another which shows the inside workings of the corporations and their lack of ethics, etc. I would recommend the following books to see how people really got where they are: "The Man Who Invented Rock Hudson" and McCrae's "Katzenjammer." And I would still recommmend AMLP whether or not you believe everything in it. Still a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful story, Feb. 21 2007
This review is from: A Million Little Pieces (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
This outstanding memoir by James Frey's articulating his struggles to put his pathetic , addicted, broken life back together is written with such realness that most addicts can relate to it. One gets awed from the beginning by the author's writing skills as well as the gripping nature of the story. Not only has it so many lessons in it, I also find it inspirational. Like SMASHED, or The Oaf in the book USURPER AND OTHER STORIES, A MILLION LITTLE PIECES easily brings tears, sighs, laughter and phew in different turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Her Highness Oprah, Feb. 20 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: A Million Little Pieces (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
I was extremely dissapointed in Oprah for her shameful treatment of the author. All authors make embelishments. She felt the need to embarass this man in front of the world, in order to distance herself from (silly) publicity. I think Oprah made herself look like Jerk. This took away from all the good that she does. She should have let it go. I read a review that said this book did what it was exactly supposed to do - give the reader a quiet afternoon with a page turner. !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the Extreme, Feb. 2 2005
There is something about "A Million Little Pieces" that makes you have to keep reading no matter how much it churns your stomach. It's that phenomenon like watching a car wreck. We have to watch. This guy destroyed his life with his addictions. You squirm when you read it. Think "Requiem for a Dream" or "My Fractured Life". It is EXTREMELY graphic. It is EXTREMELY vivid. AND it is EXTREMELY good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Happy customer, Dec 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Million Little Pieces (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
The book was good, It`s an easy read and it is entertaining. I didn`t particularely care for Frey`s writing style but others that have read it didn`t mind at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, inspiring, July 9 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Million Little Pieces (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
if you like books about recovery, than i guess this is the best book you can get your hands on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never understood the controversy, Jan. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Million Little Pieces (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
Hi style and tale is really amazing. The controversy was a joke, it's a must read for anyone who likes real stories and stories of addiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addicting!, June 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Million Little Pieces (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
Amazing! I loved this book, I could not put it down! One cool thing about the book is this; James tends to repeat the same word over and over, while reading the book I didn't really like it. However, after reading it It's those repeated words that play in your head! Chilling, I totally got why he did it after!

One day I would like to write my own book and I might steal that idea!

Must read! If you always wondered why addicts do what they do and why here's your chance to get in their head!

Melissa Stiles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5fdbabc)

This product

A Million Little Pieces (Oprah's Book Club)
A Million Little Pieces (Oprah's Book Club) by James Frey (Paperback - Sept. 22 2005)
CDN$ 18.95 CDN$ 9.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews