Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected!
I saw the first season of the TV show and wanted to read the book. I was afraid that I either would not like the book or realize that the TV show was a cheap imitation. I was pleasantly suprised to see that I loved the book. Also, the TV show deviates enough from the book to make both entertaining.
Published on Feb. 24 2007 by M. Vignaux

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book was ok
Its amazing how well they have made the series having read the source material now, I really give the writers credit for this show.
Published 11 months ago by Trevor Bath


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected!, Feb. 24 2007
By 
M. Vignaux - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darkly Dreaming Dexter: Dexter Morgan (1) (Paperback)
I saw the first season of the TV show and wanted to read the book. I was afraid that I either would not like the book or realize that the TV show was a cheap imitation. I was pleasantly suprised to see that I loved the book. Also, the TV show deviates enough from the book to make both entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book was ok, May 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darkly Dreaming Dexter: Dexter Morgan (1) (Paperback)
Its amazing how well they have made the series having read the source material now, I really give the writers credit for this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but fell short of my expectations, Oct. 30 2007
By 
G. Larouche (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darkly Dreaming Dexter: Dexter Morgan (1) (Paperback)
Who knows, perhaps my expectations were too high, but after watching the show's first season religiously, I found that the book version did not have the sharp edge I'd come to love. I found that the characters were not as interesting and that there wasn't the abundance of details and dry, dark wit of the show. It isn't a bad book, but don't read it just because you got hooked on the show: just watch and enjoy, as they screenplay writer is more talented than the original writer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dexter!, Feb. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darkly Dreaming Dexter: Dexter Morgan (1) (Paperback)
Love this book, its as good as the TV series! I have bought all of the books in the series and can't get enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Feb. 6 2014
By 
THOMAS J GOWDYK - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Darkly Dreaming Dexter: Dexter Morgan (1) (Paperback)
A typical Dexter novel. Lots of suspense and great descriptions. Hope Mr Lindsay keeps writing the novels now that the TV series is gone. A very enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A murderously charming protagonist, July 20 2004
By 
Luan Gaines "luansos" (Dana Point, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Here's the deal: a good book writes its own review, triggering sufficient spontaneity to fill the page without reaching for bits of interest; this is one of those books, pushing aside all those mundane summer novels, leaving the reader with a satisfying, "Ah."
The attractively ghoulish protagonist is a sociopath and a murderer, but one with a "conscience", unfortunately an asset as manufactured as his other feelings. But Dexter does his best, given the circumstances. Brilliant and introspective, Dexter charms from the first page, even while distracted, dismembering his latest victim. What makes Dexter's extra-curricular activity bearable is the reason he kills: Dexter only chooses victims who have perpetrated foul deeds, those who would continue harming innocents if not stopped. To be honest, who hasn't secretly applauded the occasional vigilante who takes justice in his own hands, balancing the scales a bit?
Essentially passionless in his pursuit of evil-doers, Dexter is an elegant ghoul, fascinated by blood, the essence of human life. With the self-control of a recently sated vampire, Dexter is intelligent and thorough in his murderous pursuits. Like Rice's Vampire Lestat, this more human predator has a dark, romantic appeal, his dispassionate regard for "necessary" murders seductive and curiously erotic.
Dexter spends his days as a blood spatter analyst for the Miami Dade PD, the perfect job for keeping up with current crime scenes and maintaining a cover, not to mention the chance to troll for other deserving victims. Lurking behind his public self, Dexter is as secure as a serial killer can be. Until another killer shows up, perfectly modeling Dexter's MO. Both anxious and intrigued, Dexter scents a challenge, another creature of the night that lives with a Dark Passenger, as he refers to his murdering alter-ego. But Dexter is torn; he covets this newcomer for himself, but has promised to help his half-sister policewoman solve the case in her bid to become a detective.
Suddenly events spiral out of control, Dexter's careless insouciance is a thing of the past, as he is pursued by dark dreams and chaotic nightmares. Like Alice in Wonderland lost in a psychedelic trance, Dexter tumbles down the rabbit hole. What he finds is completely unexpected, a twisted, deviant detour into horror, startling the man who has thought himself incapable of shock. One has to wonder about Dexter's powers of self-preservation, whether he is tempting fate and secretly wants to be caught.
Lindsay has delivered an inspired mystery, one that demands to be read, in one sitting if possible, the elegant Dexter speaking to the need for justice where often there is none. Can't help but smile at the young man's antics, dancing in the moon-drenched night with his own demons and skirting the edge of mayhem. With infinite grace, the author reaches into the dark heart of each of us, igniting atavistic memory, no doubt with a smile on his face. Luan Gaines/2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed, Feb. 18 2005
By A Customer
I have mixed thoughts on this book. On one hand, it was an entertaining read and once I started I could hardly put it down. The descriptions of the murders were good; specific enough so I knew what was going on but not so gory that I was stopped reading. On the other hand, the characters spoke in a trite, melodramatic way that drove me nuts. Dexter's internal dialogue was interesting and kept the plot moving along but every time Deborah came along I rolled my eyes and wished she be quiet.
If you're looking for an entertaining murder-thriller that's a quick read, this book is for you. For more cerebral murder-thrillers, I recommend Ian Rankin's John Rebus books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A KILLER PLOT..., Oct. 3 2006
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Darkly Dreaming Dexter: Dexter Morgan (1) (Paperback)
This is a remarkable debut novel, one in which the author has created a memorable character. So memorable is Dexter Morgan that he now has his own series on the Showtime cable network. What makes the title character so intriguing is that he is a serial killer working as a forensics blood splatter technician in Dade County, Miami, where, as a sideline, he metes out his own brand of justice. You see, Dexter, takes the law into his own hands, killing those who also kill but have gone unpunished by the law. Consequently, the author has created a killer that the reader actually likes and roots for.

Good looking and self-effacing, Dexter is the adopted brother of Deborah Morgan, a Miami vice cop with whom he works. She is trying to follow in the footsteps of her father, Harry Morgan, the Homicide cop that adopted Dexter at the age of four, after he was discovered in the aftermath of an unspeakable tragedy. It was Harry who sensed Dexter's strange proclivity and guided Dexter into channeling it in the way that it would be of benefit to law enforcement. Now, Dexter is trying to help his sister get promoted to Homicide by assisting her in finding a serial killer. It seems that since Dexter is one himself, he has an intuitive appreciation of the work of another. He also has a nose for sensing evil in others.

In this particular case, it goes beyond that, as Dexter finds himself confused by this serial killer whose style is strangely reminiscent of Dexter's own. In fact, this serial killer seems clued in to the fact that Dexter is one himself, leaving Dexter even more puzzled and somewhat unnerved by the fact that his secret may be out, despite his meticulous care in the public service that he clandestinely performs. Just who is this mysterious and almost mischievous serial killer, and how is it that he seems to so intimately know Dexter? That is what is at the crux of this novel.

With a well-plotted, slightly macabre story, narrated with quiet humor and intelligence by a fascinating central character, the author takes the reader on a walk into the dark side of humanity. While to Dexter's mind he lacks that sense of feeling that makes him as others are, the reader will find oneself liking Dexter and sensing in him that one thing that Dexter seems unable to sense, that very human desire to belong. As Dexter's life unfolds on these pages, the reader will be compulsively turning them, wanting to know more about Dexter. The author, his fondness for alliteration apparent, does not disappoint the reader, as he has written "Dearly Devoted Dexter", a new novel featuring our likable monster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Darkly Dreaming Dexter Indeed!, Oct. 18 2011
This review is from: Darkly Dreaming Dexter: Dexter Morgan (1) (Paperback)
Let me start by saying that when I started reading this series, I had not watched the TV show that they are based on. When TV shows or movies are based on a book or series of books, I always prefer to read the book before seeing the show or movie. I can honestly say that for this series, I enjoyed both.

In Darkly Dreaming Dexter, we are introduced to our protagonist when he is at his happy slashing best. We are given some background into who Dexter is and more importantly, why he is the way he is. His adoptive father Harry is a cop who realizes when Dexter is a teenager that there is something different about him. Dexter is a serial killer! Realizing that he will never be able to change Dexter, Harry instead crafts a serial killer code that Dexter must live by. Instead of running amok around the city of Miami, Dexter takes care of those who have escaped justice at the hands of the law.

How does Dexter get away with being a serial killer? Well on top of being trained by a cop, Dexter himself is a blood splatter analyst with the police department. Who better than to get away with murder than someone who spends his days investigating them? Joined by his adopted sister Deborah, who is also a cop, Dexter begins investigating a peculiar series of murders. Sooner rather than later Dexter begins to feel a certain affinity with his fellow artist.

Dexter really is the best anti-hero I have ever read about. I find myself, despite knowing that I probably shouldn't, always rooting for him. That is what is really special about this character. You know he is a killer. You know killing is wrong, no matter the reason. Somehow though, Jeff Lindsay has managed to create a character in Dexter that despite all of his perversion and murder, is just downright likeable. Dexter's sometimes bumbling attempts to fit in and appear normal are a large part of his appeal. He admits things in his inner monologue's that no one else would ever consider, and trust me, it's not just confined to the killing.

On it's own, the book is great. It is not laugh out loud funny, but gave me more than a few laughs with Dexter's dry sarcastic wit and macabre sense of humor. The plot moved along well, and Jeff Lindsay really found the perfect balance between past/present; giving some very good insight into Dexter's character. I must say that I was surprised by the ending, and that is not something that happens often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Points, Dec 11 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While this book lingers in places it has it's good points with a killer storyline and realistic characters along with the perfect backdrop for the novel.

The book wasn't as gruesome as I expected it to be and Dexter's killing scenes are few and far between. Fans of the TV series will find that the storyline is very close to the first season only straying in minor bits and pieces.

Overall I gave the book a 4 star rating. It's a worth a look, especially for fans who are looking to discover more about Dexter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbb095f0c)

This product

Darkly Dreaming Dexter: Dexter Morgan (1)
Darkly Dreaming Dexter: Dexter Morgan (1) by Jeff Lindsay (Paperback - Sept. 19 2006)
CDN$ 18.95 CDN$ 13.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews