Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, educational, inspirational, a refreshing view on running.
If you have ever thought about running, currently running, having foot problems, or just want a refreshing look at how running could affect your everyday life this book is a must. I find any great book is hard to put down once I start reading it. This was one of them. The mixture of humorous moments, the flow of the storyline, and the scientific bits are mixed in a manner...
Published on Aug. 31 2009 by Bruce W. Klimpke

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entewrtaining but unconvincing
As an anthropologist who has lived and done research in rural Mexico and as a moderate runner, I agree with other reviewers that this book is entertaining and very well-written. It has all of the elements of much earlier travelogues -- the good, the bad, and the ugly. The good is that it is an interesting narrative brought to life through a series of interesting...
Published on Aug. 25 2011 by don Goyo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entewrtaining but unconvincing, Aug. 25 2011
As an anthropologist who has lived and done research in rural Mexico and as a moderate runner, I agree with other reviewers that this book is entertaining and very well-written. It has all of the elements of much earlier travelogues -- the good, the bad, and the ugly. The good is that it is an interesting narrative brought to life through a series of interesting characters. However, what is good is overshadowed by the bad and ugly of such narratives. It is a story of white adventurers making forays into the "wilderness" inhabited by "primitives" who provide "magic," "mysteries," and a "primal naturalness" to ease the physical and psychological aches and pains of civilization. Then the white adventurers return home to make a small fortune writing a book while others open this "wilderness" to tour groups who want to experience "adventure tourism." All you have to do is consult "Caballo Blanco's" website and the smooth marketing of Mc Dougall's book. But what are the Raramuri getting out of this? And most of the "science" in the book is laughable -- generalizing about millions of years of human evolution from limited contemporary ethnographic examples, assuming a uniformity of conditions in early human evolution, exaggerating the role of persistence hunting among contemporary foragers, etc. In reality, the Raramuri and Mc Dougall's other main ethnographic case -- the Kung of the Kalahari Desert -- are the least likely cases to say anything about early human evolution since they were relatively recently forced into extremely harsh environments with scattered food resources, hardly indicative of the varied, and often plentiful, environments that early hominids occupied. I could go on, but enough is enough. This is exploitation that feeds a leisure time activity and business and creates the illusion that runners wearing the latest gimick in footwear are doing something "human" and "natural.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting book about human spirit., July 25 2014
This review is from: Born to Run (Kindle Edition)
No need to be a runner or an athlete to thoroughly enjoy this book. Very educational, with anthropological musings. Great race stories that draw the reader into page turning fenzies. Very egalitarian focus that illustrates the bravado of women, men, and Native North Amercans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why still wear running shoes?, Dec 13 2010
By 
Rose Anne van der Heiden (Blue River, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This book lines out greatly why barefoot running makes a lot of sense, while entertaining with a great story. I am reading it everywhere and all the time, whether while running on the treadmill or before going to sleep. Definitely ordering those Vibram Five Fingers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Want to Run All The Time Now!, July 18 2009
By 
Neil Wilson (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
[...]
WOW! WOW!
I and my wife have really enjoyed this book!
I first listened to the audio of the book from Audible.com, fantastic listen, well read, but I was planning a road trip of 2500 miles and wanted my wife to know what Mr. McDougall had to say. So we bought the book from the fine people at Amazon, it arrived exactly on the day we left on the trip and we read it to each other.
Both my wife and I are now running like we did twenty years ago, and loving it.
To improve my running and follow Mr. McDougall's plan I've ordered "Evolution Running DVD Run Faster with Fewer Injuries" by Ken Mierke and "Healty Intelligent Training: The Proven Principles of Arthur Lydiard" by Keith Livingston - All from Amazon
Thank you Mr. McDougall for introducing us to the Tarahumara, Mr. Blanco, Barefoot Ted etc!!!!
I read the reviews on Amazon before buying this book.
One review was critical of the description of the races!
What planet did this guy/gal come from?
Those are some of the best parts.
Mr. McDougall makes these races live and jump (run) off the printed page.
If you want to get the love of running or reawaken it, BUY THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of best all round books I have ever read, Oct. 23 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This non-fiction book is as entertaining as a great work of fiction, as informative and enlightening as a scientific journal, and as inspirational as the top self help book. I have bought three copies for close friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14 2014
This review is from: Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen (Paperback)
Très bon livre! Belle histoire, et bons commentaire éducatifs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for all running enthusiasts!, June 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A very nicely written and inspirational book. In the age of fancy running gears and injuries, it is humbling to read about people who still run just for the fun of it. I see my little one's face light up with joy every time he breaks into a run and that is the smile I imagine on the Raramuris. McDougall's narration is very gripping. He does a good job of explaining the science and brings in various characters (some quirky and some borderline insane) adding a lot of wit.
I bought three copies of this book as gifts (so far) for friends and family and always recommend this to anyone who loves running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very motivational!, March 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen (Paperback)
Very motivational and inspiring. Well written, and easily captures and keeps you attention. Also quite informative with bio mechanical info and some interesting recipes. Lots of anaecdotal info too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, March 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Born to Run (Kindle Edition)
Read this book in one sitting, unable to put it down! Even if you have no interest in running, it is a well told story that is both captivating and informative. I found it to be very inspiring and have since put into practise it's basic concepts. I would rate it as the best fitness reading I've done. I would recommend following this read with Eric Orton's "The Cool Impossible" as they are a natural fit and together these books are assisting me with my new goals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, Jan. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Born to Run (Kindle Edition)
This book was extremely entertaining and inspiring to read, and I say that as a non-runner. The chapters on barefoot running in particularly interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen
CDN$ 19.00 CDN$ 13.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews