Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book for Today's Health Consumer
The authors of this book have made a significant contribution to the resources available for today's health consumer. By providing this current, well-organized and useful "guide" they are helping those of us trying to protect or improve our own health, and those of us facilitating others in doing that, tremendously! Their research is thorough and and unbiased...
Published on March 31 2000 by Dr. Jim Burdine

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great.
There's a lot of good information in this book but I would not recommend it as a reference.

First of all, it isn't totable: it's format makes it a clunker. It's 8 1/2 by 11" and its page format is such that the book could have been printed with half the paper. The added appendices are pretty useless considering the main A to Z section entries pretty much...
Published on Dec 5 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book for Today's Health Consumer, March 31 2000
By 
The authors of this book have made a significant contribution to the resources available for today's health consumer. By providing this current, well-organized and useful "guide" they are helping those of us trying to protect or improve our own health, and those of us facilitating others in doing that, tremendously! Their research is thorough and and unbiased - I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great., Dec 5 2002
By A Customer
There's a lot of good information in this book but I would not recommend it as a reference.

First of all, it isn't totable: it's format makes it a clunker. It's 8 1/2 by 11" and its page format is such that the book could have been printed with half the paper. The added appendices are pretty useless considering the main A to Z section entries pretty much tell you exactly the same thing.
Second of all, the formatting is inconsistent; adding question to your inquiry. Did they make this entry as complete as they did that one?
I very much prefer Meletis/Jacobs' and Brinker's books to this one. For intuitiveness and extensive cross-referencing, Meletis/Jacobs' wins hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, Dec 7 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A-Z Guide to Drug-Herb-Vitamin Interactions Revised and Expanded 2nd Edition: Improve Your Health and Avoid Side Effects When Using Common Medications and Natural Supplements Together (Paperback)
Too many common Canadian prescription medications are not included. Out of date. when CPS is updated annually. It is one of my more useless college textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to refer too for interactions!, Sept. 21 2012
This review is from: A-Z Guide to Drug-Herb-Vitamin Interactions Revised and Expanded 2nd Edition: Improve Your Health and Avoid Side Effects When Using Common Medications and Natural Supplements Together (Paperback)
This is a great book to have on hand if you ever need to look up reactions between any drugs, herbs, & vitamins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Unable to access the research behind the recommendations, Jan. 14 2012
By 
Melinda Vale (Kemptville, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A-Z Guide to Drug-Herb-Vitamin Interactions Revised and Expanded 2nd Edition: Improve Your Health and Avoid Side Effects When Using Common Medications and Natural Supplements Together (Paperback)
I use this book as a reference, based on a reading list that I obtained from my nutrition school. The book includes "references" to research articles, but you have to go online to look up the references. The Web site that contains the references appears to be inactive ([...]). This doesn't do much to support the credibility of the recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "Must Have" Reference for Patients and Doctors., March 24 2000
By 
Richard K. Maurer "Lazy A Ranch" (Portland, Maine USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The editors and authors of this HealthNotes publication have presented the most up-to-date information in an easy to read format without compromising scientific judgement. In the information world of alternative medicine, it is all to easy for conventional medical texts to react out of fear by recommending "extreme caution" for just about any prescription or possible nutrient/herbal interaction. "The A-Z Guide..." does a tremendous job of integrating insights of physicians form several different disciplines (the book is written by an MD, ND, and DC, et. al.), which provides the reader with a diverse and thorough scientific review of known and suspected interactions. I have personally found this book extremely helpful in the waiting room and on my desk as a quick refernce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5e0496c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews