Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(3 star).Show all reviews
on October 26, 2015
Information a little dated but principles very sound.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2015
Nice ideas in principle but overly simplistic. Still, the book takes little time to read and the ideas are worth considering.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2015
Tim Ferriss is a very creative guy. He wasn't content with the status quo and decided to do something about it and create a life on his own terms.

The book is a great and easy read. It is valuable because it shows that there are many solutions that are easily achievable but may not be "obvious". Yet they are obvious to others, to Tim Ferriss. This books shows you those creative options and for that it gets three stars.

The reason why I do not give it more stars is that it "promises" a life of easy riches. It plays on the basic human emotion, the desire to become rich quickly and stop working so hard! If we all worked 4 hours a week, would our economy still function? Or is there a chance that the author is promoting some method that would get quick riches on the backs of those other people? Like your uncle who didn't see this book and was dull enough to work 20 years hard labour... The methods used and proposed in the book fail to have a moral compass.

It also fails to discuss the difference between what people think will make them happy and what actually does make people happy. I would recommend reading "FLOW" by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi to get an answer to that question.

Overall it is a useful book for those who want to start a small business, get some ideas, I would recommend it just don't get carried away in the hype. The title is just an attention grabber...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
The first 100-pages are very interesting. Very good advices, fun to read and I already applied some of his tips and it works great. But the rest of the book is boring, too many details, too many personal example. So only the 1/3 of this book worth it, I don't regret to have bough it though.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 5, 2014
But actioning some/most of it seems a bit far fetched.

Would recommend only if you had $10,000 or more for initial startup with the overseas companies - and could afford to loose same.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 22, 2012
I found this to be a very complex book. As the author of The Captain`s Story`, a novel about the Royal Navy`s youngest ever Captain`s fight to help win back the Falkland Islands for Britain, and conquer his own personal demons, I do empathise with the author.
I understand the trials and tribulations of writing a book only too well. It`s true that not everyone will like your `masterpiece.` In fact, I find myself agreeing with many of the previous reviewers of this book, who say while some of the concepts within are indeed noble, many are totally unobtainable by the majority of people.
Dig deep enough and you will most certainly find some golden nuggets.
However, some of the author`s ethics seem to me to be questionable in the very least, and lacking in integrity. He seems quite happy to sell pills, even with a severe lack of medical training.
On the other hand, I do agree that waiting until we are old and infirm to enjoy our retirement does seem to be rather futile. So his idea to pursue one`s hopes and dreams while still young enough to enjoy them is much more appealing.
Finally, I think the best way to achieving a `Four hour work week,` is to write a book with that name.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2012
Tim Ferris takes time management and turns it into a how-to-guide for taking responsibility for your own happiness, well being and self actualization. He enthusiastically and insistently encourages us to get off our lazy butts and start living our lives, instead of passively squandering hundreds of minutes, hours, days and weeks engaged in mindless wasteful distractions that can trick us into thinking we are actually doing something useful. Put aside the fear and stagnation, start living. His tips and strategies are empowering. Thanks to Tim.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 16, 2007
Whilst a great book overall I have given this book 3 stars because in general its a rehash of parts of many, many other books already out there. I've seen examples from Dan Kennedy's books, O'Bryans Portable Empire book and some others. Concepts such as selling online, researching markets before finding products, finding a niche have all been covered so much by those authors that there is literally nothing new in some parts of the book.

A lot of the book also seems to be promo. for his website. He constantly tells you to go there for further details or to read the full article.

Some parts of the book do present new way of looking at things though; looking into setting up a biz just to make money quick, and concentrating on your life's vision at a later date.

I also like the detailed sections on automating your business so you can go off travelling and doing the things you really want in life.

Overall some good and some bad. Check out his website at [...] to get some free execerpts.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
219 of 229 people found the following review helpful
Did you know that if the trends of the last two centuries hold, everyone's workweek will be four hours by 2407? What will people do with all that free time? It's a good question that this book recommends you consider.

Mr. Ferriss does a favor for those who hate their jobs but cannot find work they like by explaining how you can still draw a salary while working very few hours (by hiding from the boss and using the 80/20 rule -- 80 percent of results come from 20 percent of efforts). His method is deliberately manipulative (possibly fraudulent is another possible description that comes to mind), so you'll have to watch out that you don't get caught or you might have to repay some of that salary.

What do you do while you are hiding from the boss? Mr. Ferriss recommends starting a highly profitable online retail business that's so highly automated it can be operated in only four hours a week. You'll find details of how to do this that matches what I receive in lots of spam e-mails every week.

After you've got half a million a year rolling in by selling expensive items at a high profit margin, Mr. Ferriss provides lots of advice on how to take six-month miniretirements in cheap places around the world (Argentina and Berlin are his favorites). I'm still puzzled by why Berlin can be a cheap place to live. The rest of Germany when I've visited certainly isn't.

The book's come-on explains how Mr. Ferriss has accomplished all kinds of world-class things to boost his credibility. Unfortunately, you'll find that it isn't always classy how Mr. Ferriss does this. For example, he won the Gold Medal at the Chinese Kickboxing National Championships in 1999. He dehydrated himself more than the other competitors did the day before the competitions for the weigh in so that he could compete against men much smaller and lighter than he was, and he then simply used his quickly regained weight the next day to push competitors off the platform (three times off the platform and you are disqualified).

I find several problems with this book:

1. There's almost nothing original in it. You're just reading summaries that might have been written by a $5 an hour researcher in India. And much of what he draws on isn't acknowledged. For instance, he uses some of Dr. Stephen Covey's seven habits as chapter subtitles . . . but never references or credits Dr. Covey once in the book.

2. He provides so little information on each aspect of his ideas that I doubt that very many readers can really implement what he recommends.

3. There's no moral center to the book. Mr. Ferriss comes across as a con man in several ways.

4. He achieves a 4-hour workweek by simply skimming the cream of a business model that any one of two billion literate people can implement at some level. Are we to believe this business model will be highly profitable for the next several years? I doubt it.

5. I've met very few small business people who simply wanted to retail something on the Internet so they could work only four hours a week. Usually, small business people see their businesses and work as a creative activity that energizes them.

I do admire the book's title. It's a real grabber. It's too bad that there's not more substance to go with it.

If you want to learn how to make breakthroughs in personal and organizational productivity that allow you to live the life you want, there are better resources out there such as The E-Myth Manager by Michael E. Gerber, The Success Principles by Jack Canfield and Janet Switzer, How to Get Control of Your Time and Your Life by Alan Lakein, and Photoreading by Paul R. Scheele.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Think and Grow Rich
Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill (Mass Market Paperback - May 12 1987)
CDN$ 8.99