march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars22
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 19, 2016
loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2016
Long read but it gets good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2015
Bret Hart is an incredible story teller. I use to live in Red Deer and read his write ups in the Calgary Sun all the time this book discusses in great detail the event's in his life. The only let down for me was after the Montreal screwjob he seemed like he was in a rush to wrap things up and I would have liked to know more about him going through hell between 1999 and 2003.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
Great book in excellent shape
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2014
As noted, very detailed. In some ways, somewhat of a slow start. But there is no other wrestling book like this. The details, the wiring, the history behind it.

It is not a fast read like others. More like an Epic (of wrestling books). Really stands out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2013
This book was absolutely what I expected it to be. Great stories and all around a great autobiography. Quality of the book wasn't the best but wasn't bad at all. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
I want to start this review by saying I'm a huge Bret Hart fan. I watched him throughout my youth, and I was even in the stands in the Molson Center (now Bell Center) on November 9th 1997, for the now infamous Montreal screw job.

As a Bret Hart fan, I could not ask for a more complete or entertaining book than Bret's autobiography. Oftentimes with wrestlers, there is the tendency to exaggerate, to highlight only the positives and hide the negative, or blame someone else for them, but Bret doesn't do that. On the contrary, this is the most honest book I've ever read. Bret doesn't try to defend himself, hide what he feels he did wrong or blame others for his mistakes. In the book, Bret admits to constantly cheating on his wife, to taking drugs, steroids and painkillers. He talks at length about his time in the WWF, in the WCW, on his life after wrestling and also on his childhood and his dysfunctional family, no stone is left unturned, no subject is deemed taboo and no punches are pulled. Simply put, this is a wrestling's fan bible, a book that can never be beat, equaled. This book is simply put, the best there is, the best there was and the best there ever will be, as far as wrestlers' autobiographies are concerned.

A must read!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2013
Bret does not hold back. So many great stories and awesome memories. If you like, '90's wrestling, you have to read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2010
Its an excellent book. I've finished just over 300 pages so far and also flipped through with bits of the personal obstacles and Hart rivalry until the very end and I don't want to stop reading the book. Bret has portrayed the truth about himself -- the love for the art of Wrestling, the rivalries early on growing up in a household of 12 Kids, the sides the parents would take in such kiddish rivalries, the early story lines n Stampede Wrestling, the struggle to get to where he was without any intimidating physique early on. The race between Davey Boy Smith, the Dynamite Kid and himself early on and how they were big in Japan and things turned a few years later. It also documents important lessons he learned along the way such as "To pace yourself for the long haul" and the book also has insights onto the dark sides -- Unfaithfulness, loneliness on the road, having to work without seeing your family for days, Sex, drugs, steroids, ego clashes between wrestlers, etc.

The tone is narrative and makes a good read for a Hitman fan, who can correlate to the moments watching the angles on the ring. It adds a lot of genuineness since Hart has a professional Wrestling legacy behind him and understands Wrestling pretty well -- what works, what does not. Lots of interesting insight on working some of the best story-lines in the Hitman's career.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse