Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbound, May 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spell Bound (Hardcover)
I Love Kelly Armstrong and have almost everyone of her novels. My son gave me one of her novels two years ago for Mother's Day and when I read the back of the book I thought oh my, I will not enjoy this book at all, what was my son thinking. One weekend while camping I started to read it and did not put it down until I was done and started to purchase her novels since then.

thanks for asking.
Denise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, May 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spell Bound (Kindle Edition)
Great read. Fills the need to know more about these characters. Easy read and I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Second to last storyline, Feb. 3 2013
By 
Sandy S. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spell Bound (Paperback)
SPELLBOUND (Women of the Otherworld #12) by Kelley Armstrong

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Savannah Levine is in terrible danger, and for once she's powerless to help herself. At the heartbreaking conclusion of Waking the Witch, Savannah swore that she would give up her powers if it would prevent further pain for a young orphan. Little did she know that someone would take her up on that promise.

And now, witch-hunting assassins, necromancers, half-demons, and rogue witches all seem to be after her. The threat is not just for Savannah; every member of the Otherworld might be at risk. While most of her fellow supernaturals are circling the wagons at a gathering of the council in Miami, Savannah is caught on the road, isolated from those who can protect her and unable to use her vast spell-casting talent, the thing she counts on most. In a story that will change the shape of the Otherworld forever, Armstrong gathers Elena, Clay, Paige, Lucas, Jamie, Hope, and other beloved characters, who soon learn that the greatest threat to supernaturals just may come from within.

REVIEW: SPELLBOUND is the second to last storyline in Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld series.

At the end of Waking The Witch, our heroine Savannah Levine-part witch/part sorceress-all powerful young woman has sacrificed her powers to save a young child, and now Savannah must make her way through a haunted world of demons, werewolves, clairvoyants and an end of the world prophecy foretold from her birth to the birth of werewolf twins and more.

We learn more about a group of people seeking immortality and using the supernatural’s to get what they want. But immortality comes at a price and Savannah and the others will be the ultimate prize in the quest for –forever.

And finally, there is a hint of a romance between Savannah and Adam-a love story that has been building since STOLEN (the second storyline in the series where Adam helped rescue a twelve year old Savannah from Ty Winsloe’s compound of collected supernatural species). Fans of Kelley Armstrong have known this love story has been ten years in the making-ten long years (in story time) for some-but finally will be coming to its natural conclusion in Thirteen-the final book in Kelley’s WOTO series.

See all of my reviews at : thereadingcafe.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kept Me Up All Night, Aug. 6 2012
By 
Sara Walker (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spell Bound (Paperback)
Spell Bound is the middle of the last three books in the Women of the Otherworld series. Savannah is a pretty stubborn character, but this time she pushes too far. Without her powers, you'd think she would act more rationally and less rashly, but not until she pushes her luck too far. Then she regrets it and starts acting cautiously. I liked this. I loved that there was consequences to her behaviour. That's something that felt to be missing from Waking the Witch. But Savannah takes her caution too far. She stops being reliable back-up for the rest of her team. Again, more consequences. Savannah's growth felt much more natural in Spell Bound.

We get to see lots more of the other characters from the Otherworld series in Spell Bound, as they're all required in this fight against a new problem. An organization wants to expose the supernaturals, and it's up to the Council members to stop them.

Lots of great action, killer suspense and dead-on humour. Spell Bound kept me up all night. Can't wait for Thirteen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars learning about savannah, June 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spell Bound (Hardcover)
love this whole series, flew through this one in no time!! really enjoy how kelley gives each character their own personal book, but savannah is a bit more complex. so having a few books back to back on her coming of age and maturing is great. only problem i had was that the next one is not available until end on july!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Fantastic, Aug. 8 2011
By 
Jamieson Wolf (Ottawa Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spell Bound (Hardcover)
I will keep this review spoiler free, so if you want to read the plot, check out the product description.

Spell Bound picks up right where Waking the Witch ended. Normally you can pretty much read the books in the Women of the Otherworld Series in any order, but with Book 11 Waking the Witchand 12 Spell Boundyou'll have to read them together. They are the first two books in a story arc that will take us to the end of the Women of the Otheworld Series with Book 13.

That being said, Spell Bound is the best yet in an already amazing series. Witch Hunters, zombies, spell casters, necromancers, witches, werewolves, sorcerers, close calls, near death experiences, demons and more. In short, it has everything you could want and then some.

The book moves quickly so if you start reading, be prepared to read for a while as you won't want to put it down. It's a spell binding (haha) penultimate entry in the Women of the Otherworld that will leave you salivating for the final book to come next year.

Don't listen to all the naysayers out there calling this a young adult book. If you DO want to read it and haven't read Waking the Witch yet, start there and THEN read Spell Bound. It'll shock you, thrill you and make you laugh quite a bit, which is always a good thing.

In short: AWESOME in every way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising., Sept. 22 2011
This review is from: Spell Bound (Hardcover)
This was another good addition to the Otherworld series. It just wasn't my favourite.

Spellbound has a lot of action, suspense, mystery, and oh, my God moments, but it lacked the romance that I've come to love in the Otherworld books. Kelley Armstrong's writing is always impeccable and keeps me glued to the pages regardless of the missing romance. There was a little, a hint here and there of a blossoming love, but it just wasn't on the same level as the rest of the series. Maybe, since Kelley's readers have been following Savannah for so long, she wants to ease us into her romantic life!? I don't know.

I'm desperately hoping the next book, the last book, will give me what I've been soooooo frantically waiting for!

If you've read the rest of the series, you will not want to miss out on this one! This author always delivers!

A side note. It was great to see the whole gang show up. Hope, Cassandra, Karl, Clay, Elena, Jeremy, Jaime, Paige, Lucas, Eve, Kristoff, and of course Adam. Some of them had bigger parts than others, but it was great that they all made an appearence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Builds up the suspense, Aug. 11 2011
This review is from: Spell Bound (Hardcover)
Definitely better than waking the witch! Really sets the seen for the series finale. After 12 books Savannah finally grows on you. The chemistry between her and Adam is almost as good as Clay and Elena's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spell Bound
Spell Bound by Kelley Armstrong (Hardcover - Aug. 2 2011)
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 23.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews