Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Sequel to 'Bitten'
In this second installment of Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series, events focus once again on our heroine, Elena Michaels. Elena is a highly perceptive, intelligent and attractive Canadian journalist who also happens to be a werewolf and a member of the exclusive werewolf group known as the Pack.
Elena's responsibilities include investigating rumors...
Published on May 9 2003 by W. Brueckmann

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Elena finds her true self.
Armstrong's writing style continues to be rather mediocre. The story was as much weighed down by excessive dialogue over the first half as it was buoyed by frenetic action towards the end. I didn't mind the introduction of witches and vampires. Those characters play to Armstrong's strength which is character development. My main interest, of course, continues to be Elena,...
Published 3 months ago by S. Lerner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Sequel to 'Bitten', May 9 2003
By 
W. Brueckmann (Summerfield, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stolen (Paperback)
In this second installment of Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series, events focus once again on our heroine, Elena Michaels. Elena is a highly perceptive, intelligent and attractive Canadian journalist who also happens to be a werewolf and a member of the exclusive werewolf group known as the Pack.
Elena's responsibilities include investigating rumors and information about werewolves that seem to come close to the truth. One of these investigations turns out to be a lure set for her by a couple of witches. They are seeking to enlist the aid of the werewolves in helping them thwart a threat caused by a wealthy technogeek who has been kidnapping supernaturals. After a preternatural summit meeting, Elena herself is kidnapped and held in a seemingly inpenetrable secret prison where she becomes the subject of both scientific study and the twisted desires of the technocrat ubervillain.
Armstrong skillfully introduces us to new characters whose varying talents complement the physical skills of Elena and her highly-focused werewolf lover/partner/mate Clayton Danvers. The author wantonly reinvents witches, shamans, vampires, demons, and other supernaturals in her story; all of which work remarkably well. As in the author's debut novel 'Bitten', pack werewolves are neither repulsive or evil but change into completely natural and beautiful animals.
Elena's eventual escape and the subsequent assault on the prison by the supernaturals provide a satisfying build-up to the climax. When the werewolves begin to take care of business, they go through bad guys like a chainsaw through wood.
Humor and subtle nuance spice the novel like a beautifully prepared gourmet meal. The repartee between young witch Paige Winterbourne and the delightfully energetic half-demon Adam Vasic can't help but make the reader smile. The sprinklings of nuance throughout the novel give the reader the feeling of plausibility to the characters. We feel that Elena really is Canadian, the villain really is a computer mogul, and each of the characters really are who they are supposed to be. Most of all, the intense bond and romance between Elena and Clayton is really something special.
Although 'Stolen' is an excellent and skillfully written novel on it's own, readers will enjoy it much more if they read 'Bitten' first. The development of the main characters is so much more satisfying having first been introduced to them in Armstrong's outstanding first novel.
It is not possible for me to rate this novel highly enough. Readers will revel not only in the story but also in the artful way in which it is presented. Of course, I'm a complete sucker for a happy ending which the author serves up to us like dessert and coffee. Top ratings are well-deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 2nd installment, Jan. 25 2010
By 
J. Scully "withagoodbook" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stolen: Women of the Otherworld (Paperback)
After discover the world of Elena and the Stonehaven werewolves in Bitten, book one of in Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series, I couldn't wait to sink my teeth into Stolen, the second Elena story in the series.

In this second novel, Armstrong smartly takes the characters out of their home setting allowing a completely new type of mystery to take place. Instead of having another plot center around Stonehaven and keeping Elena's secret, the events in Stolen allow for a much broader story to develop. By creating the mystery around a new set of characters and in a new location, the universe that has been created in Bitten expands to include a greater assortment of supernatural beings, and the central mystery is much more interesting for it. We're also introduced to some of the other Women of the Underworld as Elena discovers new beings that are populating her universe. Ironically, Elena (the werewolf!) has a hard time believing in witches, vampires, shamans and demons when she first encounters them, but this actually adds to the realism of this series, as it allows you to be convinced of their existence along with Elena. Throughout Stolen, we're never quite sure who to trust and who is actually good or bad, which of course makes for a great story!

Overall I found Stolen to be a gripping and fast paced read, filled with interesting characters. I kind of missed getting know more about Clayton, Jeremy and the other werewolves, but I loved getting to know Paige, Ruth, Savanah, Adam & Leah. And even though Elena won't be the narrator of the next book in the Women of the Otherworld series, I'm looking forward to reading Dime Store Magic which is told from Paige's point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A writer to watch - and read!, April 18 2006
By 
M. Flebotte (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stolen (Mass Market Paperback)
I started with "Bitten", and traded it with a friend who started with "Stolen"; I think I got the better end of the trade <g>.
This book is an excellent sequel to a series that already had a strong start. The elements missing in the first book are fully present here, with a great plot, excitement, adventure, and some great mayhem. More than fulfilled the promise of the previous book, I am buying this so I don't have to trade something to re-read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Elena finds her true self., Aug. 25 2014
By 
S. Lerner (Toronto, On) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stolen (Kindle Edition)
Armstrong's writing style continues to be rather mediocre. The story was as much weighed down by excessive dialogue over the first half as it was buoyed by frenetic action towards the end. I didn't mind the introduction of witches and vampires. Those characters play to Armstrong's strength which is character development. My main interest, of course, continues to be Elena, who is portrayed so marvellously by Laura Vandervoort in the TV series. In "Bitten", Elena is both trying to have a conscience (a sense of morality about killing) and trying to distance herself from the werewolf pack by living exclusively among humans in the human world (her relationship with Philip). However, in "Stolen", once again the real Elena turns up when she and Clay decide to return to Winsloe's compound to rescue Savannah and the other captives. The "real" Elena is a cold-blooded killer. The more she accepts herself for who she really is, that animal part of her, the more she is able to find her inner strength and calm. Forget all those moral quibbles. She kills and kills. And that's the Elena I want to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stolen is bound to steal the hearts of many, June 20 2003
Elena Michaels is a werewolf, in fact, the only female of her kind. She is part of the Pack, and is responsible for sniffing out troublesome mortals who threaten to expose their race - like Tyrone Winsloe. He's a mad billionaire with an obsession of performing scientific experiments on the "supernatural" races: witches, vampires, werewolves, demons, etc. He's a threat, and a big one. Big enough that the Pack of werewolves team up with those witches, vampires, and demons to stop him. Yet while trying to stop him he gets his hands on Elena.
This was generally a good book. A small disappointment after reading Bitten, Kelley Armstrong's first book in this series, but a good book nonetheless. It's extremely detailed and it seems as if you are actually inside the story. Elena Michaels is strong and has no hesitation in "biting back." She's a heroine for all women in the real world. This is an action packed book and was humourous as well as exciting. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who enjoyed Bitten and even books by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Outstanding, Enthralling, Exhilarating Tale!, Jan. 19 2003
By 
This review is from: Stolen (Paperback)
"Stolen" by Kelley Armstrong is the second instalment in the "Women of the Otherworld" series that started with the utterly exceptional "Bitten". If you have not yet read "Bitten", do so! It is a novel that will appeal to fans of any genre and has become one of my favourite novels of all time. Because of this, I knew that "Stolen" would have a very tough act to follow. Well, I am thrilled to report that Kelley Armstrong has succeeded in creating yet another riveting and unputdownable tale, proving what a talented novelist she truly is and that she is here to stay. "Stolen" is an enchanting and hugely suspenseful tale that continues the captivating story of werewolf Elena Michaels. It is guaranteed to grab and hold your attention from start to finish, and leave you applauding the amazing Ms. Armstrong!
"Stolen" begins where "Bitten" left off. Elena Michaels has finally come to terms with what she is and has found a happy and fulfilling life living with her ultra sexy, intense, and often infuriating lover, soul mate, and fellow werewolf Clayton Danvers. Elena and Clayton (who by the way compose perhaps my favourite couple of all time, and trust me, you'll love them too) live in New York State at Stonehaven, the estate of their pack alpha Jeremy.
One of Elena's roles in the pack is to police all werewolf information circulating throughout the country, and to deal with anyone who comes too close to discovering the truth of their existence. So when Elena finds an article on the internet with information that is disturbingly close to the truth, and with more for sale, she immediately heads out to investigate. But she is shocked to discover that the two diminutive women who are selling this information posses powers that rival Elena's supergirl strength, powers she doesn't begin to understand. Especially when they explain that they are witches, which Elena knows don't exist. But the fact is that Ruth Winterbourne and her niece Paige really are witches, who save Elena from the nasty hunters on her tail and then introduce Elena and her pack to a clandestine world of half-demons, vampires, sorcerers, and shamans.
And Armstrong describes this remarkable supernatural world and its inhabitants with incredible originality and verve. She gleefully thumbs her nose at all the conventions associated with vampires and other paranormals, creating a fresh and intriguing new set of rules where almost everything we thought we knew about the supernatural is no longer true.
But then Elena is kidnapped by a sociopathic business magnate and a team of scientists who have amassed an entire collection of supernaturals, determined to harness their powers even if it means killing them. And now Elena is in their hands, helpless and imprisoned deep within the earth. Completely cut off from her pack, Elena must rely on her own wits to see her out of this situation alive. Unsure of who she can trust, it's essential that Elena choose her allies carefully, for one wrong move will mean the difference between life and death.
Armstrong has crafted a truly thrilling story that had me tearing through the pages all night long. The suspense builds as the book progresses until your adrenaline is pumping furiously. The plot is taut and wonderfully innovative and the story flows smoothly from beginning to end. And amidst all the danger, intrigue, and nail-biting suspense is the continuing story of Elena and Clayton's romance. The love these two share is truly beautiful, and their scenes together are always passionate, highly arousing, and really manage to touch my heart.
Kelley Armstrong has penned a winning tale in "Stolen" that I wholeheartedly recommend to anyone and everyone, along with its predecessor, "Bitten". Whether you're a man or woman, romance, mystery, or science fiction fan, it does not matter, this book is just plain great. "Stolen" is a fabulous novel that is guaranteed to entertain and satisfy. And I believe that the characters of Elena, Clayton, and Jeremy are the real magic of Armstrong's books. They are vivid, complex, flawed, and fascinating, and they have completely captured my heart. I fell in love with these three extraordinary individuals from the first, and they have become unbelievably real to me. So do yourself a huge favor and buy Kelley Armstrong's "Stolen" today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New author in the fantasy world hits all the right buttons., May 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Stolen (Paperback)
After reading Bitten, it was impossible to wait for Stolen to come out in the U.S., so I popped over to Amazon Canada and bought it. In Canadian currency it will cost around [$$$], which roughly translates to around [$$$] American coin. It arrived in a week and it was well worth it!! The two reviewers ahead of me give a great caption of the book, so I will simply say - If you like J.D. Robb, Laurell K. Hamilton, Christine Feehan, etc., you will LOVE Kelly Armstrong. Her central female character - Elena Michaels - is a strong, independent and resourceful female. The fact that she is werewolf in a fantasy world is icing on the cake. The great thing about Elena is she isn't weighed down with all those nasty little character issues like Anita Blake. Problems - both mental and plot - are worked out within the book. They don't carry over ad nauseum for six books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absoulutly fantastic, Jan. 20 2004
By 
This review is from: Stolen (Mass Market Paperback)
i have to say this is the best sequal to a book i have ever read
i bought the first book bitten when i was in a local airport and loved reading every bit of it the tension the attention to detail was amazing it had me waiting to see what happen's next it took me all of five hours to read this book thats how good i found it i just couldn't put it down after reading the first book i just had to have the second and i'm even more delighted to hear that the third book is out in the uk this year although it isn't following the main werewolf pack which i would of liked it to i still look forward to reading it and i hope kelley armstrong writes many more novels to do with elena and clay and her pack i would recamend this book to anyone who is intrested in the idea of werewolves and also anyone who enjoys a good story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as Bitten, Jan. 24 2003
By 
Moe811 (New York USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stolen (Paperback)
I have to admit, I liked Bitten so much I ordered Stolen from Amazon Canada to get it a few months earlier. I wasn't disappointed. Elena is asked to meet two witches in Pittsburgh. Apparently a billionaire is kidnapping supernatural creatures and experimenting on them. They want to hold a meeting to decide what to do about it. During the course of the meetings, Elena herself is taken and has to find a way to rescue herself and the others.
I really enjoyed this novel. Even though the characters are mythical, they seem very real. I enjoyed the addition of demons, sorcerers, vampires, and the like to the story. And of course, Elena, Clay and Jeremy are three of my favourite characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as Bitten, Jan. 24 2003
By 
Moe811 (New York USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stolen (Paperback)
I have to admit, I liked Bitten so much I ordered Stolen from Amazon Canada to get it a few months earlier. I wasn't disappointed. Elena is asked to meet two witches in Pittsburgh. Apparently a billionaire is kidnapping supernatural creatures and experimenting on them. They want to hold a meeting to decide what to do about it. During the course of the meetings, Elena herself is taken and has to find a way to rescue herself and the others.
I really enjoyed this novel. Even though the characters are mythical, they seem very real. I enjoyed the addition of demons, sorcerers, vampires, and the like to the story. And of course, Elena, Clay and Jeremy are three of my favourite characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stolen: Women of the Otherworld
Stolen: Women of the Otherworld by Kelley Armstrong (Paperback - Aug. 25 2009)
CDN$ 17.95 CDN$ 12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews