Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dauntingly Dark, Deadly, and Deviously Deceptive Degenerate
"Furthermore the LORD said to him, 'Now put your hand in your bosom.' And he put his hand in his bosom, and when he took it out, behold, his hand was leprous, like snow. And He said, 'Put your hand in your bosom again.' So he put his hand in his bosom again, and drew it out of his bosom, and behold, it was restored like his other flesh." -- Exodus 4:6-7 (NKJV)...
Published on June 2 2011 by Donald Mitchell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another craze
There's obviously a Nesbo craze on, given the other reviews. I don't see it. The Snowman is an okay story, even if the gruesome violence is overdone and there's rather too much personal stuff between Harry and Rakel. But the reader isn't part of the solving of the crimes; there's not enough to work with. Obviously the reader gets it all at the end without participation...
Published on Aug. 31 2011 by CGP


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another craze, Aug. 31 2011
By 
CGP - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
There's obviously a Nesbo craze on, given the other reviews. I don't see it. The Snowman is an okay story, even if the gruesome violence is overdone and there's rather too much personal stuff between Harry and Rakel. But the reader isn't part of the solving of the crimes; there's not enough to work with. Obviously the reader gets it all at the end without participation. In this way, the work is too passive so it's not really a mystery; it's a story, period. The goings-on between Hole and his boss and colleagues end up as the most interesting aspect of the narrative. My first and last Nesbo--but then I didn't take to Stieg Larson, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dauntingly Dark, Deadly, and Deviously Deceptive Degenerate, June 2 2011
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
"Furthermore the LORD said to him, 'Now put your hand in your bosom.' And he put his hand in his bosom, and when he took it out, behold, his hand was leprous, like snow. And He said, 'Put your hand in your bosom again.' So he put his hand in his bosom again, and drew it out of his bosom, and behold, it was restored like his other flesh." -- Exodus 4:6-7 (NKJV)

The best mystery novelists can take us into the depths of human depravity in ways that make them more accessible and understandable . . . which serves to make the experience all the more chilling. Jo Nesbo is a master in this aspect of the genre and Don Bartlett is an exceptionally talented translator who makes The Snowman seem like a novel originally written in English.

The Snowman is the fifth Harry Hole novel to be translated into English, and fans of the series are in for a treat. The book opens with one perspective on how a criminal mind was shaped . . . and then fills in the consequences through a series of crimes and the police investigations.

While the book primarily takes the form of a police procedural, there is enough threat, risk, and exposure to also enjoy the book as a thriller where no one is truly safe.

Ultimately, the book's finest quality is in its careful character developments that leave you with quite a complete sense of the book's major and many of the minor characters. The result is to bring the reader into the story in ways that make the action more gripping.

Unlike a lot of longer police procedurals, this one didn't drag. Mr. Nesbo has a great talent for keeping his story line spare. Even what appear at first to be red herrings serve deeper story needs.

If you haven't read the other Harry Hole books, I don't advise you to start with this one. There's some history involving a few of the characters that's best appreciated by having read the books in the order of their publications (The Redbreast, Nemesis, The Devil's Star, The Redeemer, and The Snowman).

If you have read the four earlier Harry Hole novels, but not this one, I recommend The Snowman as a great choice for your vacation reading this summer. You may sleep better, however, if you read it during the daytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, Jan. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snowman (Kindle Edition)
Good read, kept me intrigued until the end. Typical Jo Nesbo style of writing. I would recommend this book if you like his style of writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good mystery, Oct. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Snowman (Kindle Edition)
the book was recommended and it lived up to expectations! I t was a great read; enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There Are No Easy Answers, Jan. 27 2013
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
I have always liked the way Nesbo carefully builds a story to a critical point where all the cumulative detail suddenly makes sense. He seems to feed his readers just enough information to lead them to the next point in a protracted search for a cunning, ruthless, psychopathic killer who leaves snowmen behind at each crime scene. The thrill in reading a novel like "The Snowman" comes in following the hunt through a very involved labyrinth of circumstances, personalities and settings that takes us ever closer to an unknown quarry. This murder mystery is set in Oslo in the middle of winter. Women, especially mothers, are disappearing off the streets only to be found brutally murdered by what looks like a serial killer. The fear that pervades the city is very real. In the midst of this gathering gloom comes a glimmer of unlikely hope: a dispirited Inspector Hole has suddenly become, out of a sense of duty and compassion, a heroic member of the investigative team in spite of his own lagging fortunes. We get to follow him and his sidekick, Katrine, around as they follow clues, conduct interviews, and eliminate suspects in this bloody rampage. The breaks that come their way only serve to deepen the plot as they inch ever closer to apprehending a very sick person. It is looking more like the killer is so brazen as to be working in their very midst but, before we get to discover his or her identity, be prepared for a couple of unexpected, action-packed twists and turns. This is a novel that keeps one guessing as to who's who. I found this tale to be full of all kinds of fascinating detail from the medical, forensic, and psychological worlds that needs contending with before the killer is reeled in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EVIL MULTIPLIED, April 15 2012
By 
Flora (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
I read one of Nesbo's other books and thought, "what a different angle" and when I saw The Snowman and the reference on the book stating that he is the next Larsson then I was curious. Different writers but possibly going to be the same hype. If you are interested in how the evil mind in people work, this is the reference book for you! Not only is there one evil soul but other troubled souls as well. Lots of turns and twists just when you think you figured it out. A great book to pick up for your therapist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Perfection! Nesob Does it Again!, May 2 2010
By 
Nicola Manning-Mansfield (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
Reason for Reading: Next published in the series (in English).

A woman disappears and a few months earlier Inspector Harry Hole had received a threatening note. He is convinced that their is a connection. Then a second woman disappears. Harry and his detectives soon discover a disturbing tale of women, married with children, who have gone missing without a trace over a chillingly large number of years. The clues will take him down so many false roads that his job is on the line not once, but twice.

This is a thriller that takes off on new twists with the speediness of a whip crack. What's up for one chapter is down the next with reveal after reveal sending the police on the chase of a clever, determined serial killer who is skillfully directing the police to play into the unsub's own mad theatre of his mind.

I've read three of the books in this series so far and this is the most excellent. The red herrings, the false roads which all do connect, in a way, just not the way the police want them to, are an amazing road to follow. Twist after turn will have you gasping as they go after who they think is the killer only to find they have suspicions of someone else ... more than once. I really can't convey how amazingly clever this plot was woven together, with a myriad of clues, characters and evidence Nesbo doesn't miss a step in seamlessly creating an airtight thriller.

Funny thing for me is that I guessed who the killer was as soon as the character was introduced, for no particular reason than I thought it would make perfect sense in the end. (Perhaps I read so many thrillers I'm beginning to think like a thriller writer, either that or a serial killer, AAH!). Anyway, it gave me a unique perspective reading this book as I watched my chosen killer and applied all evidence and clues to them and convinced myself I'd picked correctly not that far into the book; that I was actually rather stunned, even though I'd been right, when the narrator out-of-the-blue starts writing from the killer's point of view letting the reader know who is the killer.

An extremely intelligent, clever, roller-coaster of a thriller. Jo Nesbo is up there at the top with the best thriller writers of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writes like an angel and plots like the devil, Aug. 29 2010
By 
Derek Gregory (Vancouver BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
There is no finer Scandinavian writer of crime fiction (in translation, anyway) than the multi-talented Jo Nesbo -- even better than Mankell or Lackerg, the Harry Hole series is far, far superior to the lacklustre Stieg Larsson trilogy. Nesbo writes like an angel and plots like the devil. Harry Hole is a brilliant creation; there's no shortage of flawed detectives these days, but Hole is a rounded, fully realised character who constantly falls into trouble but never into cliche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well-crafted novel with a grip that never lets go., Feb. 1 2012
By 
Len (Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
Snowman is a well crafted mystery that has many of the usual elements of the murder mystery with a difference. It leaves you guessing right up to the end but the continued suspense has a reason. It's not just there to needlessly extend the story. Incidents that occur earlier in the novel have a connection to what happens later. And those clues don't make future events predictable. Harry Hole, is our usual obsessed detective whose marriage to his job has ruined the real marriage with his wife. Being a good father, he maintains a strong relationship with his stepson. In fact, he still has an extremely convivial relationship with his ex which makes us care about them all. Then, there's the clever yet evil serial killer who's always one step ahead of the investigation. It could all be so artificial and predictable yet it's not. Mr. Nesbo has obviously worked hard to craft a mystery novel that follows the basic elements of the genre yet his character development and attention to plot makes it soar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comparable to Agatha Christie and Sherlock Holmes, Sept. 24 2011
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
This is the first and only book by author Nesbo I have read so far. The only other Scandinavian mystery writer I have read is Stirg Larsson, whose book totally sucked. So I borrowed this book from my local library with some reservations. Boy, Was I wrong about my doubts! This book turned out to be one hell of a thriller and a finely plotted detective story. Mystery and thrills abound in equal proportions with not too much distracting romance. The beginning was gripping and the story was taut all through to the end. Each page drew me to go on to the next page and I finished the book in two sittings. Obviously there were some characters with history to them, but I was able to pick up their threads fine. Some of the descriptions tend to be wordy and wooden, but I don't know if this is the author's fault or the translator's. Overall, it was a good read and I would definitely recommend it to detective story aficionados. Please note that I am a jaded mystery novel devotee who sorely misses the works of the Great Masters and cant bear the amateurish tripe published too often these days. As the days go by, I am getting better and better at identifying the killer partway through the story. The fact that I could not do so with this novel is itself enough to make it worthy of respect and points to the finely planned and intricate plotting by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbf0955ac)

This product

The Snowman
The Snowman by Jo Nesbo (Paperback - Jan. 4 2011)
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 14.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews