biss boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars21
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$16.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 30, 2015
This a true, current story of a Palestinian doctor and his family. His descriptions of life in the Gaza Strip and the suffering of the Palestinian people are heart-rending. His personal story is backed up by quote from Red Cross documents as well as the UN office for refugees. For an accurate account of life in Gaza today by a person who refuses to spend his energy in hatred but rather in dialogue and reconciliation, look no farther. Dr. Izzeldin Abuelaish offers us much needed life lessons.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2014
Amazing story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2014
great book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2014
This was a heart renting book, didn't want it to end, what a strong man losing his wife and 3 daughters. Highly recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
This book is touching and real and helps to understand the Palestinian-Isreali conflict in a way no news reports can - through the eyes of one man's experience. A man who chooses to see all people as equal and who's generosity in spirit towards what could easily be called "the enemy" is an inspiration to all of us.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
I was impressed how forgiving and loving the doctor is. We could all learn from him to " love our neighbour as one self"
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
This book has taken me on an emotional rollercoaster! Dr Abuelaish is a completely unique human being,who despite all the hardships in his life continues to fight for rights and peace..If you want to know the cold hard facts about what's happening in Israel/Palestine,this is the book to read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2012
Amazingly inspiring story of a remarkable man in a nightmare situation. If after reading this your view on the Israel-Palestine issue isn't affected then there may be no hope for your humanity. This book has affected the way I now view the whole conflict without ever vilifying one side or the other. This man's approach to dealing with tragedy beyond imagination is incredible, a real role model for us all in this world of ever increasing tensions. Read this book and strive for better. This is a story that can't be missed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2012
My sister sent this from my wish list. I had heard Dr. Abuelaish interviewed on CBC radio & knew I had to read his book. That anyone could have led so gruelling a life, suffered so much at the hands of others and still stand firm in his plea for peace, co-operation and mutual respect is amazing in a world so riddled with hatred. Dr. Abuelaish, Palestinian and friend to his people and Israeli alike, tells a story that must be read. In a world incited to hatred, in spite of profound personal loss, he continues to preach love and peace. Amazing man, amazing book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2011
This is a well written book that presents the facts of Mr. Abuelaish's life with a straight forward message. It is not a political finger pointing story just an awareness of the life that he and his family have lived in Gaza.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse