Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Keeper
Daily I read the events that happened nearby in my local newspaper.

Not only does this book put together all the events that lead up to Colonel Russell Williams downfall, it adds several items not published. It also makes an attempt at explaining how unique this case is and why it happened. This book is a keeper that people will read fifty years from now.
Published on May 22 2011 by John G. Parks

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new kind of............. wait there is nothing new in this book!
I would recommend this book only to someone who isn't already familiar with the story. There are absolutely no new facts in this book. The entire story has already been told through the recent 5th Estate program (CBC) and through various news outlets in Ontario (newspapers, daily news). Don't get me wrong the book is very well-written with a most excellent flow and would...
Published on April 19 2011 by Wayne Kelley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new kind of............. wait there is nothing new in this book!, April 19 2011
By 
Wayne Kelley (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A New Kind of Monster: The Secret Life and Chilling Crimes of Colonel Russell Williams (Hardcover)
I would recommend this book only to someone who isn't already familiar with the story. There are absolutely no new facts in this book. The entire story has already been told through the recent 5th Estate program (CBC) and through various news outlets in Ontario (newspapers, daily news). Don't get me wrong the book is very well-written with a most excellent flow and would be a fantastic read for someone who hasn't been hiding under a rock for the last few years.

After reading the book I have serious doubts whether the author, Timothy Appleby has any of his own confidential human sources as all of the information that is said to have been relayed from said sources or leaked has already been available to the general public for quite some time. However, being a resident of Ontario involved with the law enforcement community I found the book to be an engaging quick read and I recommend it to anyone with an interest in true crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, May 2 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A New Kind of Monster: The Secret Life and Chilling Crimes of Colonel Russell Williams (Hardcover)
Nothing new-that wasnt in the papers as it occurred. No insight into this killers psychological makeup. Disappointing neither informative or salacious. Wouldnt recommmend this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled by the page count!, April 13 2011
By 
R. Dufour "RMD Works" (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A New Kind of Monster: The Secret Life and Chilling Crimes of Colonel Russell Williams (Hardcover)
A well-written book by an experienced reporter who keeps the story moving very effectively and with some compassion. However, I can only slightly recommend the book for two reasons. First, there was almost nothing that has not long been public and for someone who only occasionally followed the case, there was nothing new. More importantly, and far worse IMO, is that fully ONE-THIRD of the book is just a transcript of the interview where Williams admits his guilt. That is widely available without having coughed up a cent. This section only padded the book and added nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Keeper, May 22 2011
By 
John G. Parks (Kingston, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A New Kind of Monster: The Secret Life and Chilling Crimes of Colonel Russell Williams (Hardcover)
Daily I read the events that happened nearby in my local newspaper.

Not only does this book put together all the events that lead up to Colonel Russell Williams downfall, it adds several items not published. It also makes an attempt at explaining how unique this case is and why it happened. This book is a keeper that people will read fifty years from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars depths of depravity, May 4 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A New Kind of Monster: The Secret Life and Chilling Crimes of Colonel Russell Williams (Hardcover)
Excellent book, well written and riveting - chilling to read but like seeing a car crash, it is difficult to look away. The title is so accurate, in that Williams defies all that has been previously known about serial killers. Such a stellar career and respectable public persona but an intensely cold, calculating and cruel hidden one. It is incredible that he could carry out these escalating and heinous crimes while serving at 8 Wing as he did - the planning and execution of them leaves one wondering how he juggled both lives without suspicion. I don't believe the military can be faulted in any way or held accountable for any of Williams actions - as this title says, this is a NEW kind of monstor - one never before seen. Pray never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upon reflection and second reading !, July 2 2011
As some one who was reluctantly a part of this story and lives near Tweed! I was originally taken aback by the use of my family name and circumstances being used in this book without my permission or input of any kind. As it turns out there was an attempt to get our input that we had refused due to the freshness and timeline of the book. For that we are now regretful as there was a need for more than one persons reflections from this area of the story!So to be fair I have removed my first review and have re-read with out bias ! To be honest Appelby picked up on some things pertaining to Tweed investigation that were missed in the other williams book completely.

Cove Dweller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the read, Nov. 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The title of this book says it all. As you enter Russell Williams sick world of perversion, you get a glimpse of the monster.

The detail of the murders and the attacks on the women are chilling.

Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Kind of Monster: The Secret Life and Chilling Crimes of Colonel Russell Williams, May 5 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A New Kind of Monster: The Secret Life and Chilling Crimes of Colonel Russell Williams (Hardcover)
From beginning to end, I found this true crime account to be thought-provoking, stimulating and an easy-read. Not for everyone, since the subject matter is disturbing; however, Appleby is adeptly able to maintain the reader's interest, without dwelling too long on the graphic detail. The narrative is straightforward, easy to follow, and written at a level of abstraction most readers will be able to grasp.

One of the best books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, May 12 2011
By 
Kirby Browning "Kirb" (Indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A New Kind of Monster: The Secret Life and Chilling Crimes of Colonel Russell Williams (Hardcover)
One of the best books I've read in a long time. Great subject and very well written. I read the whole thing in one day. I couldn't put it down. I recommend this book to anyone who was in the service or who likes true crime type books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarey person, June 5 2011
By 
Joan E. Mattila "Western Lover" (Eckville, Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A New Kind of Monster: The Secret Life and Chilling Crimes of Colonel Russell Williams (Hardcover)
This is a good book about a person who had it all and did some terrible things that caused him to lose all he had. Such as his status, his reputation, his family and his followers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A New Kind of Monster: The Secret Life and Chilling Crimes of Colonel Russell Williams
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews