Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly "Open"
To quote George Vecsey of the New York Times "the lesson is that sometimes people are vastly more complex than we think, and capable of great growth and change". Agassi made me a tennis fan. I was drawn in by the intensity of his emotions, how clearly you could see exactly what he was feeling--the opposite of "poker face". The extreme ups and downs. I enjoyed learning...
Published on Nov. 18 2009 by Acy

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars could not put it aside -- What an interesting human
could not put it aside -- What an interesting human being
Published 4 months ago by Adele Desjardins


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly "Open", Nov. 18 2009
By 
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
To quote George Vecsey of the New York Times "the lesson is that sometimes people are vastly more complex than we think, and capable of great growth and change". Agassi made me a tennis fan. I was drawn in by the intensity of his emotions, how clearly you could see exactly what he was feeling--the opposite of "poker face". The extreme ups and downs. I enjoyed learning more about his dramatic struggles with his demons. And the people who helped him overcome them, to become "a Zen master". A well-written very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and insightful, Jan. 12 2010
By 
Catchlight (Vancouver Island, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
I had two novels on the go and a pile of Christmas gift books waiting, but after reading the first few pages of Agassi's memoir I put the others aside to finish "Open".

The first strength that I noticed is the precision, economy, quality of the writing. There's no mention of a ghost writer, and Agassi admits that he left school in grade nine, so he has drawn upon his intelligence, keen powers of observation, and natural fluency as a storyteller to make "Open" a finely-detailed, literate, and compelling read.

The book also delivers honest insights into the fascinating and, at times, bizarre world of tennis at the top level. Particularly interesting were the glimpses he provides into the personalities of the many tennis greats he battled on the court, and a few others he encountered who were either too young or too old to play him during his career.

Along with his success in eventually overcoming a harrowing childhood as a tennis prodigy dominated by an overbearing father, what will stay with me longest from this book is Agassi's revealing descriptions of how a fit, ideally-prepared athlete can inexplicably lose to a lesser opponent on a given day, and how an injured or hung-over competitor can beat a higher-ranked adversary on another day.

These accounts reminded me that regardless of the sport in question, elite and amateur athletes are human, and subject to all the inconsistentcies, negative self-talk, and self-defeating behaviours that the rest of us must face and try to overcome in whatever we do. The difficulty for tennis players is that the court offers absolutely no place to hide when a match is going badly, and no teammates with whom to share the blame for an ugly loss.

I recommend "Open" as an unusually well-written and revealing sports autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Andre scraped raw, Sept. 27 2010
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
Right from the first page when Andre Agassi describes the scary dragon tennis ball machine his father constructed for him, you'll be hooked. It must of took tremendous guts for Agassi to reveal pretty much all that is in this book. On the one hand he reiterates that he "hates" tennis but on the other he has enough willpower to keep playing despite the physical and mental tools especially when he falls so far off the computer rankings and ends up on the Challenger (think minor leagues of the tennis tour) circuit to try to claw his way back up the rankings.

I enjoyed learning about his off-the-court crew and his two high-profile romances (with ex-wife Brooke Shields and current wife Steffi Graf). Be prepared to learn a lot of the inner turmoil and triumph on those scores.

Mainly, though, it's a great book to learn about how the tennis tours (both men and women's) operate. I had to laugh at his coach Brad Gilbert and Bud Ice being his beer of choice. Given he was a former pro and traveled the world, this is the beer he appreciates the most? I love Gilbert, especially now as a tennis commentator on TV, but that and Agassi's love of fast food seem to sum up the "uncultured" aspect of tennis at the ground level. It really is a sport, although international in nature, is one of the hard working classes...and, boy, did Agassi work at it.

The book will blow your socks off especially about characters like Nick Bolliteri who runs a famous Florida tennis school ("prison" according to Agassi) or the tipping habits of Pete Sampras. There's much more both good and bad on players such as Tarango, Baghdatis, Becker, Rafter, etc.

The weird thing that comes out is Agassi's love of Davis Cup and his wanting to be part of a team you have to wonder why he never gave doubles also a shot like, say, the Aussies of the past who played both singles and doubles. I would have thought, despite the modern tour schedule, he'd have enjoyed his life on tour much better if only he dabbled with doubles a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Reasons to Read Open, Dec 25 2009
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
1. Because Andre has angst (he has always hated tennis, since the very beginning - see point 4), and angst is interesting. Agassi doesn't ever skimp on the fast food binging, drug doing, getting love wronging details;

2. Because at heart this is a love story. And Andre, for wife and the school he set up for underprivileged kids, has a hell of a big heart;

3. Because like in any great book (fiction or non) you CARE about the characters. And really, who gives a crap about a meat-head musclebound trainer named Gil? Me. You fall in love with Andre Agassi's physical trainer the way you fall in love with Mickey, Rocky Balboa's trainer. Hint: it has to do with loyalty;

4. Because Andre's father is your worst nightmare of the athlete parent bastard breed and 'father was a bastard' stories are interesting, especially when Daddy was this callous, selfish, wrong, complicated. 'Father was a bastard' stories are even better when son of said bastard becomes a world champion tennis player and not a bastard himself; and

5. Because the book is aptly titled. Andre gives every Brooke Shields-doubting-the-marriage (even while making the proposal) details. His gives of all the details, tells the stories you'd want to hear. Anecdotes like this one:

Agassi and his coach, Brad Gilbert, are having dinner at a favourite Italian restaurant after a match. By chance, Pete Sampras and his entourage are also at the restaurant, on the other side. As Pete leaves he comes by to say hi to Andre and Brad. After he goes, Brad tells Andre he'll bet him anything Pete didn't leave more than 5 bucks to the valet parking guy. Andre isn't as keen on finding out but Brad pushes and asks the teenager valet how much Pete gave him. The kid looks down, wants to do the right thing, doesn't want to tell. Brad pushes.

One dollar, the kid says. Pete Sampras gave the kid a dollar.

Commenting on this, Andre says, there is a world of difference between him and Pete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Open, Nov. 29 2010
By 
S. Johnston (Calgary, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
A very well written book. The little I know about tennis was enough for me to understand the jist of any of Aggassi's tennis stories. All that he endured from early childhood until he meets the love of his life with his rollercoaster tennis career woven throughout makes this a good read. Tennis fan or not, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Honest, Oct. 26 2010
By 
Louise Cooper (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
IM not a tennis fan but I was curious about this guy. I love reading bio's so I took a chance on this one. What a surprise, this book can be inspiring for all, life is not always what it seems. This book is honest, he shares his innermost feelings with the reader and it is a ride on his emotions troughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book was recommended to me, Aug. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Open (Kindle Edition)
This book was recommended to me, and I am so pleased I took this advice. I know basically nothing about tennis, but that wasn't a problem. The book deals more with personality. The story is interesting, and I really liked that it wasn't filled with things like sexual conquests. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got to be the best Tennis Autobiograhy I have read to date, Dec 19 2009
By 
David Blakemore (woodbridge, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
I read most of the "tennis" autobiograpies that come out and to date this is my favourite. Well written ( by J.R. Moehringer ).

Andre realy lays open his feelings both for the game of tennis and for his friends and tennis foes.

Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it andre - yes, you're fragile - but enough about brooke, Feb. 6 2010
By 
Maryann Cameron "alberablair" (SPRUCE GROVE, ALBERTA Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
NOTE TO CATCHLIGHT (Most recent reviewer) If you'd given some time to the acknowledgements, you'd read that J. R. Moehringer (The Tender Bar) Pulitzer Prize Winner assisted Andre. And, as any professional success enables others, Mr. Agassi "has people": Kim Wells, Eric Mercado,Ben Cohen. MY CO-WORKERS THROUGHOUT THE PAST TWO DECADES THOUGHT I SHOULD'VE BEEN THE PRESIDENT OF AN AGASSI FAN CLUB. MY HUSBAND HAS BEEN SUBJECTED TO EVERY TELEVISED MATCH, IRREGARDLESS OF TIME ZONES, THROUGHOUT THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE UGLY. SO I REALLY THOUGHT THIS STORY WOULD BE A POST SCRIPT. INSTEAD, WE'VE RELIVED ALL THOSE CHANGES WITH AN ENDEARMENT FOR A CONSCIENTIOUS OBJECTOR THRUST TO PUBLICITY BY FORCES BEYOND HIS CONTROL. I WAS SURPRISED AT THE RELENTLESS DIGS AT HIS FIRST WIFE. COME ON, I OBSERVED AT THE TIME YOU APPEARED SATISFIED TO BE ACCEPTED BY HOLLYWOOD. I CAN'T THINK OF ANYONE RESILIENT TO THAT SPARKLE AND SHINE. AND THE ANECDOTE SLIGHTING PETE SEEMED UNNECESSARY, PROBABLY BECAUSE IT'S SO MEMORABLE. THIS BOOK IS A TEARFULL MEMOIR, MEANINGFUL FOR EVERY COMPETITIVE PERSON. THANK YOU ANDRE AND PEACE BE WITH YOU AND YOURS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thanks for the book Andre, Oct. 9 2010
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book, I am not a tennis fan but his honesty about himself about himself seemed refreshing and beleivable, I will
probably read this book again
Billy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Open: An Autobiography
Open: An Autobiography by Andre Agassi (Paperback - Aug. 10 2010)
CDN$ 17.95 CDN$ 12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews