Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars This book was recommended to me
This book was recommended to me, and I am so pleased I took this advice. I know basically nothing about tennis, but that wasn't a problem. The book deals more with personality. The story is interesting, and I really liked that it wasn't filled with things like sexual conquests. Well done!
Published 1 month ago by prairierose1012

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars could not put it aside -- What an interesting human
could not put it aside -- What an interesting human being
Published 1 month ago by Adele Desjardins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Read the book and you'll want to know even more about André, July 7 2011
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
A really great read which gives you a window into professional tennis and what some champions endure and pay to reach the number one position. Open and honest, you'll want to search the internet to see how André is doing as he continues his search for excellence outside the world of tennis. After reading his story, you'll be cheering for him even more than when he was playing tennis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to the title., April 17 2011
Ce commentaire est de: Open: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
I ordered this book through amazon, simply because they have the best pricing on books compared to the local book store. The item arrived within 2 days (just like every other order).
About the book: The very first chapter brings you straight into Agassi's life which we all are aware of ... a tennis match. It is a very well written book which talks about a person who we all think is die-hard, dedicated tennis player, who lives to play tennis, but what this autobiography does is that it OPENS up the life of a man who is so disturbed and confused on the inside. It talks about all the aspects of life, a journey which involves friendship, romance, dedication, determination and rebellion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a big surprise....loved it, April 8 2011
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
I am not even a big tennis fan and I loved it. Open and honest account of his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, April 1 2011
Ce commentaire est de: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
I couldn't put this book down. I recommend it even if you are not a tennis fan. It's unexpected at every turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Open, Nov. 29 2010
By 
S. Johnston (Calgary, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
A very well written book. The little I know about tennis was enough for me to understand the jist of any of Aggassi's tennis stories. All that he endured from early childhood until he meets the love of his life with his rollercoaster tennis career woven throughout makes this a good read. Tennis fan or not, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars didn't want it to end, Nov. 11 2010
Ce commentaire est de: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
simply loved this book! loved how honest Andre was about himself and his experiences.
couldn't put this book down..you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Honest, Oct. 26 2010
By 
Louise Cooper (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
IM not a tennis fan but I was curious about this guy. I love reading bio's so I took a chance on this one. What a surprise, this book can be inspiring for all, life is not always what it seems. This book is honest, he shares his innermost feelings with the reader and it is a ride on his emotions troughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thanks for the book Andre, Oct. 9 2010
Ce commentaire est de: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book, I am not a tennis fan but his honesty about himself about himself seemed refreshing and beleivable, I will
probably read this book again
Billy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Andre !!, Sept. 28 2010
Ce commentaire est de: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
Great read. Thoroughly enjoyable. Open is a autobiography that is both real and honest. He hates tennis.... nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Andre scraped raw, Sept. 27 2010
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Open: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
Right from the first page when Andre Agassi describes the scary dragon tennis ball machine his father constructed for him, you'll be hooked. It must of took tremendous guts for Agassi to reveal pretty much all that is in this book. On the one hand he reiterates that he "hates" tennis but on the other he has enough willpower to keep playing despite the physical and mental tools especially when he falls so far off the computer rankings and ends up on the Challenger (think minor leagues of the tennis tour) circuit to try to claw his way back up the rankings.

I enjoyed learning about his off-the-court crew and his two high-profile romances (with ex-wife Brooke Shields and current wife Steffi Graf). Be prepared to learn a lot of the inner turmoil and triumph on those scores.

Mainly, though, it's a great book to learn about how the tennis tours (both men and women's) operate. I had to laugh at his coach Brad Gilbert and Bud Ice being his beer of choice. Given he was a former pro and traveled the world, this is the beer he appreciates the most? I love Gilbert, especially now as a tennis commentator on TV, but that and Agassi's love of fast food seem to sum up the "uncultured" aspect of tennis at the ground level. It really is a sport, although international in nature, is one of the hard working classes...and, boy, did Agassi work at it.

The book will blow your socks off especially about characters like Nick Bolliteri who runs a famous Florida tennis school ("prison" according to Agassi) or the tipping habits of Pete Sampras. There's much more both good and bad on players such as Tarango, Baghdatis, Becker, Rafter, etc.

The weird thing that comes out is Agassi's love of Davis Cup and his wanting to be part of a team you have to wonder why he never gave doubles also a shot like, say, the Aussies of the past who played both singles and doubles. I would have thought, despite the modern tour schedule, he'd have enjoyed his life on tour much better if only he dabbled with doubles a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Open: An Autobiography
Open: An Autobiography by Andre Agassi (Paperback - Aug. 10 2010)
CDN$ 17.95 CDN$ 12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews