Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars what a great read!
I don't know the first thing about tennis, but what a great story. Very touching, indeed. Finding yourself out of what others make for and of you.
Published 4 months ago by Jenmalzer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Boring
I was very dissapointed in this book...very droll...and he reveals no secrets other than he hates tennis...I wouldn't reccomend it
Published 20 months ago by candy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Open, Nov. 29 2010
By 
S. Johnston (Calgary, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
A very well written book. The little I know about tennis was enough for me to understand the jist of any of Aggassi's tennis stories. All that he endured from early childhood until he meets the love of his life with his rollercoaster tennis career woven throughout makes this a good read. Tennis fan or not, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars didn't want it to end, Nov. 11 2010
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
simply loved this book! loved how honest Andre was about himself and his experiences.
couldn't put this book down..you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Honest, Oct. 26 2010
By 
Louise Cooper (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
IM not a tennis fan but I was curious about this guy. I love reading bio's so I took a chance on this one. What a surprise, this book can be inspiring for all, life is not always what it seems. This book is honest, he shares his innermost feelings with the reader and it is a ride on his emotions troughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thanks for the book Andre, Oct. 9 2010
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book, I am not a tennis fan but his honesty about himself about himself seemed refreshing and beleivable, I will
probably read this book again
Billy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Andre !!, Sept. 28 2010
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
Great read. Thoroughly enjoyable. Open is a autobiography that is both real and honest. He hates tennis.... nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Andre scraped raw, Sept. 27 2010
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
Right from the first page when Andre Agassi describes the scary dragon tennis ball machine his father constructed for him, you'll be hooked. It must of took tremendous guts for Agassi to reveal pretty much all that is in this book. On the one hand he reiterates that he "hates" tennis but on the other he has enough willpower to keep playing despite the physical and mental tools especially when he falls so far off the computer rankings and ends up on the Challenger (think minor leagues of the tennis tour) circuit to try to claw his way back up the rankings.

I enjoyed learning about his off-the-court crew and his two high-profile romances (with ex-wife Brooke Shields and current wife Steffi Graf). Be prepared to learn a lot of the inner turmoil and triumph on those scores.

Mainly, though, it's a great book to learn about how the tennis tours (both men and women's) operate. I had to laugh at his coach Brad Gilbert and Bud Ice being his beer of choice. Given he was a former pro and traveled the world, this is the beer he appreciates the most? I love Gilbert, especially now as a tennis commentator on TV, but that and Agassi's love of fast food seem to sum up the "uncultured" aspect of tennis at the ground level. It really is a sport, although international in nature, is one of the hard working classes...and, boy, did Agassi work at it.

The book will blow your socks off especially about characters like Nick Bolliteri who runs a famous Florida tennis school ("prison" according to Agassi) or the tipping habits of Pete Sampras. There's much more both good and bad on players such as Tarango, Baghdatis, Becker, Rafter, etc.

The weird thing that comes out is Agassi's love of Davis Cup and his wanting to be part of a team you have to wonder why he never gave doubles also a shot like, say, the Aussies of the past who played both singles and doubles. I would have thought, despite the modern tour schedule, he'd have enjoyed his life on tour much better if only he dabbled with doubles a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rewarding, Sept. 25 2010
By 
Barrie Chamberlain "Gar" (Kingston, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Paperback)
His words beautifully written in an engaging biography. Lets you really see the man. To know where he comes from brings admiration and respect. A keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Million Little Pieces, Dec 29 2009
By 
Benjamin Chambers (Erin, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
An amazing read...couldn't put it down for the 3 days it took me to read (hey, gimme a break...I've got 2 kids!).

The style reminded me of James Frey - like a "Million Little Pieces" for tennis fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Reasons to Read Open, Dec 25 2009
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
1. Because Andre has angst (he has always hated tennis, since the very beginning - see point 4), and angst is interesting. Agassi doesn't ever skimp on the fast food binging, drug doing, getting love wronging details;

2. Because at heart this is a love story. And Andre, for wife and the school he set up for underprivileged kids, has a hell of a big heart;

3. Because like in any great book (fiction or non) you CARE about the characters. And really, who gives a crap about a meat-head musclebound trainer named Gil? Me. You fall in love with Andre Agassi's physical trainer the way you fall in love with Mickey, Rocky Balboa's trainer. Hint: it has to do with loyalty;

4. Because Andre's father is your worst nightmare of the athlete parent bastard breed and 'father was a bastard' stories are interesting, especially when Daddy was this callous, selfish, wrong, complicated. 'Father was a bastard' stories are even better when son of said bastard becomes a world champion tennis player and not a bastard himself; and

5. Because the book is aptly titled. Andre gives every Brooke Shields-doubting-the-marriage (even while making the proposal) details. His gives of all the details, tells the stories you'd want to hear. Anecdotes like this one:

Agassi and his coach, Brad Gilbert, are having dinner at a favourite Italian restaurant after a match. By chance, Pete Sampras and his entourage are also at the restaurant, on the other side. As Pete leaves he comes by to say hi to Andre and Brad. After he goes, Brad tells Andre he'll bet him anything Pete didn't leave more than 5 bucks to the valet parking guy. Andre isn't as keen on finding out but Brad pushes and asks the teenager valet how much Pete gave him. The kid looks down, wants to do the right thing, doesn't want to tell. Brad pushes.

One dollar, the kid says. Pete Sampras gave the kid a dollar.

Commenting on this, Andre says, there is a world of difference between him and Pete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got to be the best Tennis Autobiograhy I have read to date, Dec 19 2009
By 
David Blakemore (woodbridge, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
I read most of the "tennis" autobiograpies that come out and to date this is my favourite. Well written ( by J.R. Moehringer ).

Andre realy lays open his feelings both for the game of tennis and for his friends and tennis foes.

Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Open: An Autobiography
Open: An Autobiography by Andre Agassi (Paperback - Aug. 10 2010)
CDN$ 17.95 CDN$ 12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews