Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Rock tell all
She has been with both George Harrison and Eric Clapton. She has a very fascinating story to tell. This is a very good bio in the rock category.
Published 11 months ago by Bootsy Bass

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Wonderful Tonight
Boy, where to start! Ms Boyd really doesn't have much to add to the George Harrison or Eric Clapton stories. Way too much info on her family background and growing up in Africa. Generally, the book is a stream of consciousness narrative that in places flits back and forth between time periods leaving the reader a bit confused. Her difficulty is that she has not done much...
Published on Dec 7 2007 by J. Harvey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Wonderful Tonight, Dec 7 2007
By 
J. Harvey (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wonderful Tonight: George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and Me (Hardcover)
Boy, where to start! Ms Boyd really doesn't have much to add to the George Harrison or Eric Clapton stories. Way too much info on her family background and growing up in Africa. Generally, the book is a stream of consciousness narrative that in places flits back and forth between time periods leaving the reader a bit confused. Her difficulty is that she has not done much with her life, aside from doing lunches, dinners, weekends away, homes and gardens, and 'find yourself' retreats. Unfortunately, she seems not to have found herself until the 21st century - a bit late. The main value of the book is its peek (without insight) into the drug and booze-adled life style of of the British '60s music, arts and fashion set(s) which seems to have continued on for decades. The book cannot compare in any way with Cynthia Lennon's 'John'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Much promise, does not deliver much, July 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having been the lady behind "Something" and "Layla", whatever Ms Boyd has to show for it is doomed to score below the almost-boundless expectation one might have.

This book delivers its best content relating the time where both George and Eric were after Patti. The details of George's domestic conduct do not make for a comforting read.

Her childhood story, and everything after the Rainbow concert, seem less important in comparison, and fail to capture interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strangely Absent, April 26 2008
By 
J. Maydan (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wonderful Tonight: George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and Me (Hardcover)
I expected and hoped that Ms. Boyd's book would be full of self-insights, musings and reflections on an unusual life that included growing up in Kenya, boarding schools, parental abandonment, a teenaged high-fashion career, eastern spiritual revivalism, passion and marriages to a couple of 60's music gurus. There is none of that; there is just a mechanical recital of colourless recollections written under the rather embarrassing delusion that the musicians to whom she once played muse were still pining away for her vacuous presence in their lives.

Every word on the page is grim evidence to the contrary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Vapid, Shallow..., Nov. 20 2007
By 
Deborah M. Clague (Winnipeg, MB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wonderful Tonight: George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and Me (Hardcover)
I was greatly looking forward to reading this book, as I have always been fascinated with 60s/70s rock and pop culture. Pattie Boyd, married to two of the era's most iconic musicians, seemed to have an interesting tale to tell. Unfortunately, it's not found here. This is one of the worst autobiographies I have ever read. There's no chronological order and whatever insight she provides is terribly shallow with LOTS of name-dropping and insignificant details. It's also insulting to women...Pattie talks about how George Harrison closed her Harrod's account and she had to beg him to give her $5000 to buy Christmas presents and she also talks about she got bored with her Thames apartment and asked Eric Clapton to buy her a country cottage to use on the weekends. After he gives her a budget (of £300,000) she then has the gull to ask him to foot the repair/remodelling bill as well!!! Ugh...imo, Pattie came across as nothing more than brainless arm candy. She's not a sympathetic character, nor is she an interesting character apparently. Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Rock tell all, Sept. 29 2013
By 
Bootsy Bass (Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wonderful Tonight: George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and Me (Hardcover)
She has been with both George Harrison and Eric Clapton. She has a very fascinating story to tell. This is a very good bio in the rock category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Tonight:, Dec 14 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wonderful Tonight: George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and Me (Hardcover)
The book arrived on time as estimated, and in excellent condition. Product is as described, we're quite pleased with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Novel, Nov. 11 2007
By 
This review is from: Wonderful Tonight: George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and Me (Hardcover)
I read this book and it is quite intriguing, simple yet sophisticated at the same time. The characters are far from predictable but not too far-fetched to the realm of impracticalty or impossibility. A well written book.

See also "Fluctuating Life" by Joshua Spencer and "Quest for a Dream - A Life Committed to Progress" by Joyce Buchanan.

[...]

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wonderful Tonight: George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and Me
Wonderful Tonight: George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and Me by Penny Junor (Hardcover - Aug. 28 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews