biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night s Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars39
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$16.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 4, 2016
A compelling and wonderfully crafted read and utterly fascinating insight into the consciousness and "umwelt" of this remarkable czar of the taiga.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2016
A story that needs to be told. Logging in Siberia is taking away the tiger's habitat. They are now endangered. The raw wood is being shipped to China to be milled and sold to the west (US and Canada) by a company called Lumber Liquidators. We need to help protect this beautiful animal predator by boycotting wood and wlld products from China. China is a country whose business people have no scruples about poaching and killing and logging anything and every thing for profit without regard for the pain inflicted nor the environmental balance thrown out of sync for all living things

After reading this sad story, I cried.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2015
The hardcover version is superb! I really enjoyed this book! Perfect for a gift!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2015
Vaillant does an excellent job of weaving history, the social situation, and the environment into his story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2015
It is beautifully written and tells a fascinating story about the people of this remote part of the world; and a lot about the
tigers who live there. It is one of the best books I read recently and I recommend it highly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
One of the best books I have read. I read this book previously, borrowed from a family member. The synergy of dynamic style coupled with dramatic incidence and anthropology of species was so interesting and meaningful that I decided to have my own copy to keep and so reread, as well as a second copy so I can share this amazing work with others.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2015
Vaillant distinguishes himself an not only a wonderful storyteller but also provides poignant insights into various cultures and mythologies. A thoroughly enjoyable read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2015
A bit too dramatic and prosey. Nevertheless a fascinating story and look at the Amur Tiger, the region and the Russian psyche.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2015
Try to put this book down.... I dare ya!

Totally captivating as the Tiger plots it's revenge. You can feel the fire burning bright and white hot inside this tigers chest. A true story told without a speck of anthropomorphing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2015
This story is amazing and the way it is told just superb!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse