Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars18
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$19.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 21, 2015
One of Irving's best! The story is interesting and as per usual his characters are intriguing and well developed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2015
It was a bit of a slow read but did keep me interested in the outcome of the different relationships involved.
Interesting character study of the persons lives and how they evolved through time and experience and the reaction
of each to events.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2015
great book and service
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2014
This was not as good as I was anticipating - liked his earlier works much better.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2014
One of John Irving's best novels. Wonderful characters that you never want to say goodbye to. Impeccable research on time, place and in particular Irving manages to convey the minutiae of our characters daily lives. Their jobs, their relationships, all are exquisitely presented.

If you liked A Prayer for Owen Meany, (still my personal fave) or The Cider House Rules, you will love this beautiful story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
Beautifully written and populated with interesting well developed characters. The novel demonstrates so well how a large or small decision once made influences the rest of one's life and the life of those around you and how the future is tied to the past so that some things simply become inevitable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
There used to be times when writers made their autobiographical novels happier and more satisfactory than their actual fate had been. Memories of good people and happy moments were supposed to compensate for their disappointments of life. Irving, on the contrary, says that he gave to his hero-writer the worst fate imaginable, a fate, which thankfully Irving himself didn't have.
An author, certainly, has the right to give any kind of life to his characters that he wants, but where, then, is any wisdom, catharsis or joy, which, supposedly, would attract the reader to the writer?
I didn't like reading this book. One would take it better if it were cleaner and clearer. I was irritated by Irving's calling his characters by their profession or by their age. E.g.(she)" believed Ketchum had loved the cook even more than the logger once loved Rosie." Would you guess that Ketchum and the logger is the same peson?
The ending is wrong. Considering that the book is full of tragedies(Danny - the writer, and every woman in it lost a child), it would be fitting if Danny had drawned in the snow storm when he went to meet Amy.
As it had not happened, one must believe that they lived happily ever after, hopefully enjoying the political development in their ex-country to the brim.
There are interesting recipes and cooking instuctions in this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 7, 2011
The novel began like a poem, a sad, true poem about the waning days of logging. It didn't continue with the same beauty, but it was a great tale of a camp cook and his son encountering tragedy and running from the possible consequences of an accident. The often over-the-top story line in Last Night was made almost believable because of Irving's amazing ability to bring his characters to life. The four generation story of ordinary life back-dropped with melodrama was made especially interesting for me when I found out that some of it was somewhat auto-biographical. Also, the news (for me) that he writes from beginning to end (after writing the last sentence of the book first) without a rewrite explains a lot. There was some poorly integrated scenes and some ineffective repetition that an editor should have nixed. Because he spent very little time characterizing the last generation son, it seemed uneven. However, I am always eager to read the next sentence that John Irving writes. It is always an adventure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2010
John Irving is the best story teller of his generation. Last night in Twister River brings us back to his roots, to his beginning as a writer. Those who are initiated to Irving's writing will know what I mean. Even the bears are back...!

Irving is witty, funny, sensitive and intelligent. Last Night in Twisted River is delightful altough it takes a while to pick-up, but once it does you're in for an interesting and entertaining ride. You will fall in love with the characters and the depiction of their world.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2010
After reading A Prayer for Owen Meany, which was dense but enjoyable, I figured I couldn't go wrong with another John Irving book. I was disappointed in Twisted River because it was quite a slow read. It is the kind of book that you can read 50 pages, then walk away from it for a month, and return and not even care that you don't recall what happened, because the events that occur in the story are somewhat repetitious - so you won't miss a beat. I like to finish a book once I've started it, but perhaps I gave Twisted River a bit too much of my time. Perhaps I'll read a John Irving in the future, but I'm hoping it will be more of a page turner.

On the positive side, the characters were interesting and you can't help but feel sympathy for them and their losses. The character of Ketchum is especially enjoyable. Not sure if I necessarily agree with Irving's assessment of Canadians political opinions, however - but it is fiction!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Until I Find You
Until I Find You by John Irving (Paperback - May 30 2006)
CDN$ 20.70

Avenue of Mysteries
Avenue of Mysteries by John Irving (Hardcover - Nov. 3 2015)
CDN$ 21.00

Setting Free the Bears
Setting Free the Bears by John Irving (Paperback - June 23 1997)
CDN$ 15.75