Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A though-provoking and generally enjoyable read.
I cannot make up my mind if Mr Buchanan is a genius or a crank. After completing my third read of this book I am inclined to think he is just a little of both. Buchanan's thesis, in a nutshell, is that it was the conduct of Britain in 1914 that turned what might have been a localized continental conflict into a world war, and that, in 1939, Britain was responsible for...
Published on Feb. 17 2011 by C. J. Thompson

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The unnecessary book
This book is ridiculous, it should be titled "How Churchill is Responsible for Everything for Simpletons". Patrick Buchanan in his pathological hatred of Churchill attempts to lay blame at the latter's feet for all the mistakes that happened in the last one hundred and ten years. Actually he does not reserve his vitriol for Churchill alone, but roundly condemns the...
Published on Feb. 25 2010 by David Bransby-williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A though-provoking and generally enjoyable read., Feb. 17 2011
By 
C. J. Thompson "Arctic John" (Pond Inlet, Nunavut Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I cannot make up my mind if Mr Buchanan is a genius or a crank. After completing my third read of this book I am inclined to think he is just a little of both. Buchanan's thesis, in a nutshell, is that it was the conduct of Britain in 1914 that turned what might have been a localized continental conflict into a world war, and that, in 1939, Britain was responsible for causing Germany to wage war in the West instead of looking just eastward. In developing this thesis, he puts much of the blame for these results in Churchill and argues that the ultimate effect of his influence was the demise of the British Empire. Having read the book more than once, I believe that some of what Buchanan has to say is quite compelling but I am still not yet entirely convinced.

Buchanan is a very lucid writer for the most part (although he does have a tendency to repeat points too often) but I also found some shortcomings in the book which gave me pause. First, he emphasizes, many times throughout the book, that the result of certain geopolitical actions was the subjugation or oppression of Christians (eg. the domination of the Polish first by the Germans and then the Russians). Is he suggesting that the brutal subjugation of a people is more tragic if they happen to be Christian as opposed to, say, Hindu? I am not sure what point he is trying to make with these constant references, but they certainly suggest that the author has issues which are affecting his objectivity.

I also found that when Buchanan discusses how Britain lost its Empire that he does so with wistful a sense of loss as though saying that, if Britain had acted less stupidly, the good old Empire would still be alive and kicking and wouldn't that be great? I think most people would agree that the Colonialism of the Empire is something best left to history and that Britain's present place on the world's stage is pretty much as it should be and was largely inevitable however it came about. I think Buchanan may well be right about how the demise was triggered but his opinions as to the 'rightness' of this are, I think, a bit off base. Ultimately, I am still pondering what the author has to say and will re-read the book a fourth and maybe a fifth time. I think that that, in itself, is accolade enough for a book and I recommend that others with a general interest in the issues take a look at what Buchanan has to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful well written masterpiece !, July 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill, Hitler, and "The Unnecessary War": How Britain Lost Its Empire and the West Lost the World (Paperback)
Coming from a small mono-ethnic town in Western-Europe I used to have no doubts about the truth as it was presented to me by all kinds of media at that time. It is still the truth for most western people: multiculturalism, interracial marriage, homo- and bisexuality, liberalism towards drugs are all cases that are fought for by honest intellectuals who want to create a better world. The so-called idealists.
Moving to a city to study at university I gradually began to see the other side of all these so-called achievements in practice: criminality, violende, divorce, explicit promotion of perversity, prostitution, large-scale heroin addiction etcetera. The strange thing is: West-Europeans have learned to find all this completely normal.

After being confronted with the other side of so-called liberal society, the thinking process starts. At first I tried to find the answer to the "why question" mostly in traditional rightwing politics. In Europe, unfortunately, the so-called rightwing does not differ fundamentally from the leftwing in fighting the excesses sketched above. In fact, it is all nearly the same! Except some so-called far-right parties, nearly every party in Western-Europe is pro gay-marriage for example! Living in the US nowadays I know that Republican and Democratic politics can differ to a much greater extent.

But to the point: by experience, reading and reconstructing I went on answering the "why question", but with Kevin MacDonald's book a lot of pieces from the big puzzle fell into place. I know that I'm not the only one who has experienced great feelings of guilt on the way to finding the truth about certain sociological phenomena.

From their youngest years most western people are subject to an ongoing stream of indoctrination that aims at forbidding to even think about certain facts or opinions. After reading this book nobody can deny that a lot of things presented as liberalism are just ways to divide and confuse Western man.

This divide and conquer liberalism has nothing to do with freedom. From my experience in Europe I can say that jews there have many high positions in government, entertainment and other large companies. A lot of these functions have to do with promoting multiculturalism and shaping a nationwide and international thought police that is mostly called anti-racism.

Although MacDonald's book is mostly focused on America, the presented theory holds for Europe as well.

The most striking aspect of the whole book is the organized thought control by institutions who see in certain opinions a conflict with Jewish interests.

This book is one of the biggest eye-openers available to everyone who is anxious to understand what exactly is going on in the Western world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Great Civil War of the West, Oct. 15 2009
By 
James Gallen (St. Louis, Missouri, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This work combines meticulous historical research with Pat Buchanan's political agenda. The point of the book is that Winston Churchill, rather than being the indispensable Man of the Century and defender of the West was the man most responsible for the British involvement in World War I, World War II and the loss of the British Empire?

Buchanan highlights three monumental errors which lead to the Twentieth Century's Civil War of the West: The Treaty of Versailles which left Germany vengeful and receptive to Hitler's message, American pressure on Britain to abandon its alliance with Japan and Britain's war guarantee to Poland in 1939. Without those errors World War II may have been avoided or its destruction mitigated.

Buchanan challenges the conventional wisdom that German aggression against the West was inevitable and that Churchill alone focused the attention of the West on this mortal threat. He posits the idea that Hitler's ambitions were focused to the East and Southeast and that he tried to preserve the peace with Britain and France. Buchanan claims that Hitler reluctantly turned on the West only after it had declared war on Germany.

In contrast to many of our histories which present the story of the World Wars from the Anglo-Franco perspective, this one also includes the German one also. Buchanan makes the case that, as Europe tumbled toward war in 1914, it was the Kaiser who worked tirelessly to avoid war. Time after time during the inter-war years the West let opportunities to limit rising power of German or to channel its destructive path away from the West drift by. He proposes that Hitler did not have ambitions to conquer the world, but that he would have been satisfied to expand into Russia and leave the west alone. It was Churchill and likeminded Britons who forced conflict between the German and British people who shared so much. This book compares the Nazi atrocities with those of Stalin's Russia and asks the question of whether the defeat of Germany justified the Stalinization of Eastern Europe?

Churchill's motives are exposed as being hypocritical. After excoriating Chamberlain for not defending Czech freedom and insisting that Britain go to war to preserve Polish independence, Churchill meekly turned his allies over to Soviet tyranny. Buchanan contrasts the strong claim for alliance made by a democratic, industrial, militarily modern Czechoslovakia with that of a dictatorial Poland defended by an antiquated military. He presents 1939 as a reckless period in during which Britain gave war guarantees to countries, including Poland, in whom Britain had neither national interest nor the ability to defend. He contrasts the case of Belgium, whose shoreline was of vital interest to Britain, with that of Poland, in which Britain had never had much interest.

The depth of historical research which went into this book is staggering. That alone makes it a worthwhile read. Buchanan's conclusion advances his crusade against the use of American power in areas in which America has no vital interest. Although his political agenda drives this book, it is not totally outside the current of historical thinking. Although I have not read his work, I understand that British historian, Niall Ferguson, has advanced the theory that Britain made a horrendous mistake by becoming involved in World War I, a position which Buchanan seems to share. This book presents the reader with a viewpoint which forces one to rethink his or her own thoughts about the Great Civil War of the West.

Ultimately, this book, like so much of the history of the Twentieth Century, is tragedy. When we think about it we realize what terrible damage and suffering the West inflicted upon itself during this recent century. Books such as this make us stop to think that, maybe this half century of war and tragedy was not necessary. Maybe our leaders brought it upon us and maybe, just maybe, these self-inflicted wounds could have been avoided. Maybe the Decline of the West and Christendom was not necessary and, if so, that is the tragedy of the age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We might have had a better world., Aug. 27 2014
By 
John Duddy (Calgary, Alberta.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Too bad the "Back-Room Boys" prevented a Pat Buchanan selection as US President and leader of the "free world" since he shows a sense of history superior to that of the last four US Presidents. This book gives readers a different look at the causes of war in the last century. Well written, easy to follow, Pat shows us that we humans stumbled into two unwanted World Wars, lead by stubborn elite leaders on all sides. I expect as President he would have prevented the debacle we live through today by reining in the warmongers who took over recent US administrations as well as other administrations under US control.
Today are we moving towards WW111? This book should be required reading in schools and universities as well as required reading for politicians Left and Right, all over the world. Interesting that Dr. Paul Craig Roberts and Patrick J Buchanan both served in the Reagan cabinet; three Canadian leaders, Harper, Mulcair and Trudeau need a lecture from Pat and Paul to prevent us from going blindly into WW111.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate revisionism, Feb. 1 2009
By 
Michael A. Allen (Welland, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
WW2 is my favorite subject so I have read tons of stuff on the subject and this book is right on the money. Buchanan makes a very good case that Churchill dragged England and hence the US in to 2 wars that were unnecessary. It is well researched and draws logical conclusions from the data. If it is revisionist then so is "The Real Lincoln".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHURCHILL,HITLER & THE UNNECESSARY WAR, July 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill, Hitler, and "The Unnecessary War": How Britain Lost Its Empire and the West Lost the World (Paperback)
What an eye opener . Mr. Buchanan really has the situations with those two wars really figured out. How sad that tens of millions people had to lose their lives . For history buffs and people who want to know what really happened back then, this book is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The unnecessary book, Feb. 25 2010
This book is ridiculous, it should be titled "How Churchill is Responsible for Everything for Simpletons". Patrick Buchanan in his pathological hatred of Churchill attempts to lay blame at the latter's feet for all the mistakes that happened in the last one hundred and ten years. Actually he does not reserve his vitriol for Churchill alone, but roundly condemns the British establishment as a whole. So why for simpletons? Buchanan feels that every salient point is worth reiterating at least once, just in case we were not paying attention the first time. Actually his writing style is quite easy to read, that is not dense, so reiteration is really unnecessary.

In his attempts to paint Churchill and the British establishment in as negative light as possible he virtually becomes an apologist for Hitler. Poor Adolf, actually all he wanted to do was crush Russia, but those stupid British seemed unable to fathom this and had the bad taste to declare war on Germany. He even goes as far to suggest that without British intervention the holocaust may never have occurred. He seems quite happy to ignore the fact that Hitler was a psychopathic madman bent on destruction. How far does he take this line of thought? In the final chapter he suggests that somehow Churchill was responsible for the Iraq invasion because George Bush had a bust of him in his office. This really does give Churchill too much credit, Bush was quite capable of making bad decisions without Churchill's divine guidance.

The reason behind this polemic may well be found in Buchanan's name. The Irish have never had much love for the British and have generally found Churchill to be anathema. Rightly or wrongly they tend to blame him for the scourge of the Black and Tans. In many ways it is a pity that Patrick Buchanan took such an extreme view with this book because there is considerable good information mixed in with the diatribe, but in the end it simply becomes an annoying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Politics, rather than history, June 12 2009
I enjoyed reading this well-written book. Mr. Buchanan bases his coverage of the world wars on the works of many revisionists (the historians prepared to revisit previous interpretations when new documentation becomes available) who aim to correct mistaken beliefs that were created through propaganda and willful manipulation. The villains of the events were, of course, politicians of the warfaring countries who allowed local conflicts to grow into world-wide ones for reasons that went beyond national interests.
However, I can give Mr. Buchanan only a B- because of his partisanship. His rose-coloured comments about the American villains of the piece---FDR, Truman, Eisenhower, and Reagan to name a few---are hard to swallow. FDR certainly got involved in the European conflict by Machiavellian means and threatened to sink the British pound if Great Britain didn't do his bidding (as China might sink the American dollar now). Churchill wasn't the only warmonger of the lot; FDR is right up there with him, being behind all the intrigues to get into the war to further his own agenda.
WW II, as the Swedish explorer Sven Hedin saw it, will go into history as America's war. For better or worse, historical facts cannot be bypassed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Churchill, Hitler, and "The Unnecessary War": How Britain Lost Its Empire and the West Lost the World
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 15.64
In stock on October 31, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews