Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cautionary tale of apathy and denial
I dragged this heavy tome on a recent business trip and found myself utterly engrossed. I could not put it down. This is Larson's best so far. Written in an engaging narrative style, this non-fiction work traces Hitler's rise from Chancellor of Germany to dictator through the eyes of an American history professor and his daughter.

Appointed ambassador to...
Published on June 24 2011 by Nicole Findlay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining and informative history yarn
This is novelistic non-fiction with the tone fairly heavily set towards the novel side. If you take that as a bad thing, don't - this is one book that is deserves it's popularity in terms of historical value and the quality of writing. What we have here is a tale of an unlikely ambassador to Hitler's Germany and his family (well, to be frank - his daughter). Charles Dodd...
Published 7 months ago by Rodge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cautionary tale of apathy and denial, June 24 2011
By 
This review is from: In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin (Hardcover)
I dragged this heavy tome on a recent business trip and found myself utterly engrossed. I could not put it down. This is Larson's best so far. Written in an engaging narrative style, this non-fiction work traces Hitler's rise from Chancellor of Germany to dictator through the eyes of an American history professor and his daughter.

Appointed ambassador to Germany in 1933, Dodd, his wife and two adult children are initially enamoured with the changes and energy they find in Germany (Dodd had studied there in his youth). His daughter Martha, willful, self-absorbed, bright and naive is especially enthralled and counts Nazi officials among her beaus. Over time their enthusiasm for the regime wanes as it implements increasingly draconian measures against its own people.

Ambassador Dodd finds himself a Cassandra-like figure, warning the American administration of Germany's rearmament to no avail.

While readers may be familiar with this period of history, Larson brings a fresh perspective. Reading in the Garden of Beasts is liking watching history unfold before your eyes. It's a cautionary tale of apathy and denial that bears remembering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witness to Evil, Aug. 4 2011
By 
Len (Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin (Hardcover)
What made the Nazi regime happen? How could the mass extermination of specific groups of people be possible? We can vilify the Hitler and the Nazi Party and the German people who supported them however this doesn't help us understand how it happened. William Dodd, a history professor at the University of Chicago was an unlikely candidate to be the U.S. ambassador to Berlin in 1933. Franklin D. Roosevelt had already asked a number of potential candidates and they'd all turned him down. Dodd knew the city of Berlin well and spoke German fluently and had a friend close to the president who recommended him. Tired of teaching classes and wanting to spend more time on his book, "The Rise and Fall of the Old South," Dodd took the job with the idea that it would give him just that. On July 5, 1933, he and his family boarded a ship for Hamburg.
Unlike other career diplomats, Dodd was not born into privilege nor did he respect it. He thought that during the trying times of the 1930s, diplomats should live modestly and not in the extravagant fashion their wealth afforded. As an historian, he could place the events that were occurring in Berlin at the time in an historical context. In a speech given to the American Chamber of Commerce in Berlin in October of 1933, he compared the behaviour of Hitler and the Nazi party to that of the despotic rulers of Rome under Caesar and France under Louis XIV. As his ambassadorship proceeds, Dodd becomes more and more despondent Germany and the fact that he can't awaken the world to the dangers and atrocities perpetrated by Hitler. His actions become less and less acceptable to the U.S. State Department. They believe he should be neutral to the events and atrocities happening at the time. After being relieved of his position, he tours the United States proclaiming the dangers of the Nazi regime, it's ruthless illegitimacy proven by the Night of the Long Knives the took place in early July of 1934.
Some understanding of the sympathy given to the Nazi Party is provided by his daughter Martha who was beautiful and so attracted the attention of men of high rank both in the diplomatic service and in the Nazi Party. She is sympathetic to the party and its cause when the family first arrives in Berlin. Gradually, she becomes more and more disillusioned with the death of her friends and falls in love with a Soviet diplomat. Her love for Boris and her innate idealism, draws her to the communist doctrine and so tours the Soviet Union in 1934. Her perspective is unique and personal and helps balance William Dodd's official one. The book provides an insight into an organization both evil and pernicious and yet able to take hold of the imagination of a country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lest we forget, March 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin (Hardcover)
This book was recommended to me by a friend who was born, as I was , during WW II, but she was born in Germany and I was born in England. We both felt we learned a great deal that we hadn't previously known about the years leading up to the war: startling revelations about attitudes in the US at that time. I have since bought the book for my husband, my son, one of my sons-in-law and one of my daughters: they have all been fascinated and have passed the book on or recommended it to others. I think a book like this, so thoroughly researched and yet so easy to read, can teach us a great deal about a conflict we should not forget. I grew up in the aftermath of WW II and it was constantly spoken of , but for my children and grandchildren it is just another piece of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chilling history of Hitler's Berlin, June 27 2012
By 
PT Cruiser - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin (Hardcover)
Whenever I read the history of the rise of Adolf Hitler and the Nazi party during World War II, I come back to the same questions, "How could the people living in Germany allow this to happen? Didn't they realize how evil Hitler was?" Erik Larson, in his book, "In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin" does a good job of describing the politics and the mood beginning in 1933, when William E. Dodd brought his wife, and two grown children, Martha and Bill, Jr. to Germany with him to begin his ambassadorship in Germany. The book centers mostly around Dodd and his daughter Martha who was 22 at the time and was married, but separated from her husband.

Dodd was a history professor prior to receiving the post and was actually not one of Roosevelt's first choices. Many in the State Department weren't supportive of him and he had to defend himself at every turn. The fact that he wasn't rich and refused to live beyond his salary was a source of annoyance for other statesmen. For example, he brought his old Chevrolet and drove that around Berlin, a sign of just how frugal he was. He also had his own opinions and wasn't always in agreement with other members of the government.

At first Dodd and his family was very enthusiastic about the post and about Germany, especially his daughter, Martha who loved the party scene and dating all sorts of different men. In fact, she was one of the last members of the family to change her opinion about the Nazi party and all that it entailed. Dodd saw what was going on, but believed that once in solid control of the country that Hitler would settle to a more moderate way of governing. Of course, that didn't happen.

The thing that makes this book so unique is that it reads like a novel even though almost everything in it is taken from actual quotes in documents such as diaries, correspondence, reports and other historical documents. I felt like I was right there, viewing some of the same things that they were, but with the knowledge of where it was going and the final outcome. It's a chilling history and I couldn't help the feelings of foreboding as I was reading. Larson does and excellent job of answering some of the questions I've had about how this could happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Garden of Beasts, Aug. 14 2011
This review is from: In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin (Hardcover)
I found In the Garden of the Beasts one of the most intriguing books I have read in recent times. I am a great history and bio fan and this fit both bills and it brought me back to the post war years in particular because I was too young to remember to know of 1933 events. During the post war so much info was then put out that had been hidden from children's eyes. The ensuing years brought out the horror that really happened in all those murderous terrifying times. As an elderly reader the question I frequently ask myself is how much of this recent history is being taught and studied in the high schools today. If we do not know our history we are doomed to fail when we ignore the lessons of life.
Do know this book is also a true story of one family and the humour and love within their lives. Very interesting and an easy wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Garden of Beests, sheer delight, Jan. 15 2012
By 
Paul Bard (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin (Hardcover)
The book is a wonderful presentation of the real attitude of the American societytoward the Hitler regime. The American public in the best case was totally indifferent for the fate of the Jews in the Hitler regime.
The description in the book is excellent. You have to know a great deel of WWII history to understand the description of the heros of the story.
It is an excellent book.

Paul Bard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb read!, Jan. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was part of our Book Club reading this year. It was recommended by a member after it 'got her through' a hugely difficult week in her life as her son underwent surgery for a cancerous brain tumor. I dreaded reading it - not 'my kind' of story. It was an incredibly wonderful read! Every page pulled me onward! I often regretted that I had to put it down. The story is true, the events are real, the perspective is historical - giving the reader room to view the events through time, limiting 'horror', while not erasing the facts of the events. The story is beautifully crafted and balanced, moving from family issues of American Ambassador Dodd (Berlin), to group gatherings including the Berlin Politico, Dodd's very busy, young daughter who is infatuated with the Nazis, and Nazi 'power movers' - all in the same room in social events. Treachery abounds - even from the State Department at home and in Berlin! Be sure to read the author's sources and acknowledgements at the end - rich indeed! This book re-awakened my interest in history! It is a superb read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding!, Nov. 16 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin (Hardcover)
In the Garden of Beasts.....is a book that will remain with me forever; I have already re-read it and am just as mesmerized as the first time. The opportunity to live the early days of Nazi Germany through the eyes of American Ambassador Dodd and his daughter Martha as if we were there with them is chilling, hypnotic and terrifying. Through their real-life diaries as brilliantly interpreted by Erik Larson, we see the eerie progression of the increasingly barbaric behaviour of senior German officials and their subordinates as all opposition is tortured and murdered. And the indifference of the American population and administration to what is happening there is an eye-opener. A must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The subtleness of emerging tirany., Feb. 20 2012
This review is from: In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin (Hardcover)
The years prior to WWII must be a lesson to the modern world. It can happen again. This book does an excellent job of depicting the subtle developments in prewar Germany. Even though people protested the treatment of Jews, there was a silent hope that the injustices would go away without protest and disruption to the daily routines. This book brings clarity to the present day events which must be resisted lest history repeat itself. A cliche but nevertheless true. Anyone who has an interest in history will surely enjoy this sobering story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining and informative history yarn, June 20 2014
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin (Hardcover)
This is novelistic non-fiction with the tone fairly heavily set towards the novel side. If you take that as a bad thing, don't - this is one book that is deserves it's popularity in terms of historical value and the quality of writing. What we have here is a tale of an unlikely ambassador to Hitler's Germany and his family (well, to be frank - his daughter). Charles Dodd and Martha Dodd provide most of the narrative drive here, experiencing different parts of 30s Germany & Europe. Dodd slowly comes to the realization of just what a monster Hitler is and tries to warn his country of what's coming, to little avail. Martha parties and sleeps around, including with Nazis and Communists, and generally exercises bad judgement. Even she, though, loses any enthusiasm for the Nazis as the true character of the regime is exposed.

Perhaps the most useful aspect of this book is that it provides us the atmosphere of 1930s Germany - often we wonder why the world didn't understand what was going on in Hitler's Germany until it was too late. This book helps us to understand why outsiders were so oblivious - the truth was masked in many ways and it usually took time to uncover and understand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin
CDN$ 32.00 CDN$ 20.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews