biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars104
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(3 star). Show all reviews
on March 16, 2011
This book has some great information, but is very poorly written. It's almost as if the author is spitting information at you. In a way it was an annoying read.

However there is bits and bites that any health enthusiast can take with them. It had some great information on a few new Ab workouts, and kettle bells, the meal plans are simple and reasonable and his three scale approach to sliding the percentage of exercise, diet and supplements is smart.

I find Tim Ferriss an interesting guy and someone to learn from, however this book is not a plan that the majority of us can live by. I see most people taking some good information from it and applying working it into there existing routine.

All in all good information, but again, very poorly written.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2011
I have been following the advice of this readable book: treat it like buffet and only read the sections that interest me at the moment -- which, at this point, is about losing weight. I have been on the program for 1 week, including the one binge day and so far have gained 1.8 lbs but lost 5.25 inches overall. The lack of weight loss is discouraging but the loss of inches is encouraging.
I would have found the book more helpful if there had been recipes, more meal plans and a list of protein food items with gram and weight equivalents, i.e., how much actual protein (in grams) is in one ounce of xxx protein source. Perhaps it is there but I haven't found it yet.
There may be too many topics addressed in this book, i.e., focus on rapid fat-loss or incredible sex?
He is an enjoyable writer and the book is nicely set up (for the science geeks or not).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
I bought this book on a recommendation from a buddy who used the diet. The book is massive! So many topics covered. The fat loss section was short is available free online with authors approval, but the book itself is so much more that it is worth the buy.

I do not agree with everything discussed in the book, as some things seem too far out and crazy that no normal person would try them. And the author makes sure to mention that not everything is for everyone, read the book and learn. Do what you feel is right for you.

Some sections of the book are very technical which makes for a dull read. But much of it is written in an easy to read manner that gives you a feeling lie the author is talking very personally as he writes it.

Overall, pretty good even if you do not read it all.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2015
I loved the 4 Hour work week and most of the work by Tim Ferriss. This unfortunately is full of advice that is just not healthy or wise to follow. It is really a collection of theories that Tim has either tested or gathered from colleagues. It is a good read though I would truly take caution when using this book to return to proper health.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2015
I don't know about this. I bought this book because of all the great reviews but honestly...it's all seems to be easier said than done. Take it with a grain of salt. There are other books on the market that are better in my opinion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2015
Very interesting however there was no way that after a cheat day it takes 48 hours to go back. It took me 4 days and I would average 2000 calories. So the net weight loss was minimal
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2013
I liked the read, he's a very casual writer, I just find to do this whole regimen is difficult when you're life is really busy. Hopefully I'll be able to give it a go one day!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2013
A lot of good information in it that could be summed up in 2 chapters. Not easy to put all the info together because it's doled out in dribs and drabs in a hap-hazard way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
Big book, new concepts, still plugging away at this. It is a refreshingly new way of looking at taking care of one's body
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2011
If you are looking for the information about eating healthy, it is all on the internet site for free on Tim Ferriss' website. It is a very basic concept. This book is interesting but not an essential read.
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse