Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, but not from start to finish
I would say that 2/3 of the book really appeals to me, and the other 1/3 does not, and yet I feel like the $24 I spent on this 500 page beast of a book was well worth the price. From reading some reviews and discussion surrounding this book, I've come to realize that a lot of people really seem to hate it and its author Timothy Ferriss. I've seen him being accused of...
Published on Jan. 27 2011 by Devin

versus
107 of 124 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak follow up
I'm a big fan of the Four Hour Work Week. Not only was it a great read, but it contained rather unique ideas that caused me to reevaluate how to run my business and also my life. I would go as far to say that it is one of the last decade's seminal pieces of business literature that all serious business people should read.

With that in mind, it's unfortunate...
Published on Dec 22 2010 by darkshadow77


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 4-hour body lern a lot, Feb. 27 2011
This review is from: The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman (Hardcover)
This book has a lot of valuable information that is easy to read and understand. Even if you don't follow the whole plan you can easily learn and apply the information he gives to day to day life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent body of knowledge, Jan. 15 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman (Hardcover)
This book is very well laid out, considers that you might just want to improve a few things in your life at a time, and had incredible detail.

I recommend to anyone who wants to learn about how their body works in relation to weight, injuries, and exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to read this, Jan. 14 2011
By 
This review is from: The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman (Hardcover)
I've been a personal trainer for about 7 years and this book has changed the way I look at most things. Invaluable insight is provided and some of the craziest and most effective techniques I have ever seen or used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 hour body - great resource, Jan. 12 2011
This review is from: The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman (Hardcover)
I've read and own tons of fitness/health books - I honestly think this will be my main reference on diet/health and fitness for years to come...highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, June 6 2011
By 
BrahmaBull "BrahmaBull" (Kitchener, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman (Hardcover)
Loved the first two-thirds of the Four Hour Workweek. I've also enjoyed following Tim Ferriss's blog as well. So when I saw he'd written a book about the body, mind and other physical issues, I thought great, being an avid workout fiend, and always looking to improve on my genetic lot in life.

What a huge disappointment. Don't be fooled - the depth of research and discussion is non-existent, and his use of personal anecdotes and observations should be discounted - everyone is different.

It is also hugely contradictory from chapter to chapter. For example he talks about the ills of dairy products one chapter, to espousing the virtues of it in another.

He dangerously discusses nootropics, and the discussions on sleep phasing is almost ridiculous.

I don't know... a huge huge disappointment, and there are certainly better sources of information in other books and on the web if needed on almost every subject in this book.

Don't buy. Take it out of the library (like I did).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just Trying it Out, April 4 2011
By 
S. Summers "Enjoying Reading" (Winnipeg Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman (Hardcover)
I have been following the advice of this readable book: treat it like buffet and only read the sections that interest me at the moment -- which, at this point, is about losing weight. I have been on the program for 1 week, including the one binge day and so far have gained 1.8 lbs but lost 5.25 inches overall. The lack of weight loss is discouraging but the loss of inches is encouraging.
I would have found the book more helpful if there had been recipes, more meal plans and a list of protein food items with gram and weight equivalents, i.e., how much actual protein (in grams) is in one ounce of xxx protein source. Perhaps it is there but I haven't found it yet.
There may be too many topics addressed in this book, i.e., focus on rapid fat-loss or incredible sex?
He is an enjoyable writer and the book is nicely set up (for the science geeks or not).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4-Hour Body is Real, Feb. 28 2011
This review is from: The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman (Hardcover)
We can only vouch for the Rapid Fat-Loss portion of this book...so far, and it works and it's extremely doable. Karen lost 3 lbs. in 5 days, David 5 lbs. (David has more to lose!) Now, 15 days after starting, we're 10-12 lbs. lighter. Once we get to our target weight, we'll delve into other sections, like rapid muscle gain or rapid strength gain. This is not the type of book you read from cover to cover, page by page. Read the sections that apply to your goals and read the other sections when needed. It's a BIG book, chock full of information, so knowing you won't need to read the entire thing to get started makes it less daunting. Tim Ferriss is funny, entertaining, and motivational. This purchase was well worth the investment! If I were to nit-pick, a daily/weekly plan, laid out in a calendar style, would make following the Slow-Carb diet much easier. But that's just me being lazy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont buy another book on diet or fitness until you read this., Oct. 1 2011
This review is from: The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman (Hardcover)
In this book Tim has basically taken all the latest research on body modification, nutrition and training and tested it on himself. And it is absolutely fascinating.

Dont buy another book on dieting, exercise, losing weight, running faster, living longer, jumping higher, female orgasms, or holding your breath for as long as David Blaine until you have read this book.

It is fascinating.

And probably one of the best sections is the chapter on the reality behind "scientific" studies and research. This book will split your skull and OPEN YOUR MIND like nothing else.

Oh and I took one tip from this book and immediately started losing weight. After years and years of trying.

Thank you Tim!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 Hour Body, Feb. 27 2011
Great service. I didn't realize that it was audio, and not a book, and looking back at the order, I now see that. Totally my fault. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game changer, Jan. 8 2011
This review is from: The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman (Hardcover)
Once again, Tim changes the rules of the game.

Well actually, he may be the first to not play the game and actually say what need to be said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb150f3e4)

This product

The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman
CDN$ 31.00 CDN$ 19.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews