Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tools to improve productivity at a regular company
What a great read... in a nutshell: "Do what you love to do; outsource the rest."

Ferriss is an inspiring persona and provides us real-life tools of how he was able to attain utopia--a four-hour work week (4HWW). However, my passion does not resemble a product that I developed or redesigned, that could be converted into a mailorder business... unless I start...
Published on July 1 2011 by Brad Mattson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Highly powered Ego
Timothy has some very empowering points and ideas to lesson your work load for a four hour work week. He teaches you ways to manipulate others to strengthen your ego. How to make others serve you better and delegate responsibly to them. So if your looking to be rich on others backs an take all you can while throwing away anything that doesn't conform to you, than get...
Published 12 months ago by Jason


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tools to improve productivity at a regular company, July 1 2011
This review is from: The 4-Hour Workweek, Expanded and Updated: Expanded and Updated, With Over 100 New Pages of Cutting-Edge Content. (Hardcover)
What a great read... in a nutshell: "Do what you love to do; outsource the rest."

Ferriss is an inspiring persona and provides us real-life tools of how he was able to attain utopia--a four-hour work week (4HWW). However, my passion does not resemble a product that I developed or redesigned, that could be converted into a mailorder business... unless I start re-packaging my favorite whole bean coffee from the Okanagan Valley, brand it organic, fair-trade and bird-friendly.

Alas, for those of us in middle to upper management in a traditional organizations, a 4HWW is not readily attainable. For many of us in these roles, we have at least 6 persons reporting to us and you, in turn, report to another person (or maybe more in a matrix responsibility organization)... and they have at least 4 or 5 peers. The normal command and control organization, where work is done in teams, meetings and in person does not lend itself to a 4HWW.

We are then left with three options:

1) Muster all of your formal, informal, political influence and combine with a bunch of emotional fortitude (all guts; no fear)... and start a mini-revolution to redesign the way you work with your team and your boss(es).
2) Quit your job and engineer that new iPad app that doubles up on "Angry Birds"
3) Take pieces of Ferriss' techniques and apply them to your current job (take the "act first, prove it, ask forgiveness later" approach)

EXECUTING SOME OF THE TECHNIQUES
IN A NORMAL WORK WEEK
I elected to pusue #3 (with some forwarning) and have undertaken to implement or have already implemented several of the below. So far, my productivity has risen dramatically, OT hours dropped and more time devoted to family and personal hobbies.

- Virtual Executive Assistant (DONE! Best $13/hr I've spent with BrickworkIndia)
- Speed reading/learning (DONE! I thought I was fast before... 20% better now)
- EverNote (DONE! Way better than MS-OneNote... cloud computing taken to the next level, with interfaces to everyone of my devices: PC work; PC home; Blackberry; iPad)
- Batching email reading and writing (DONE... well almost; I have a poor habit that needs breaking)
- "Puppy Dog Salesmanship" = "Take them home for a day or week. Bring them back if you're not comfortable or satisfied." --> ditto for trying new things at work. Test, experiment, pilot... if it doesn't work for you or your manager, it can always revert back to the old paradigm
- Voicemail to Email via PhoneTag (TESTING right now)
- Google Calendar/AutoSync/TimeDriver - send an email with "Schedule Now" button to allow users to book into your open time slots (STARTED, but IT network won't allow me to install AutoSync on PC work; but I figured out a workaround using my iPad. TESTING right now)
- Xobni (inbox spelled backwards) - batching and hotspot email periods (haven't tried yet, but would force me to break the bad email habit of processing all the time)
- Virtual conceirge (haven't tried yet, but as the errands pile up, it may be worth a try at $10/hr)
- Virtual freelance services - define the scope of work; post it; answer Q&A to redefine scope; the service "bids" out the work; get quotes back; select the freelancer; get the work done (Haven't tried yet, but the first SQL or Oracle programming issue I uncover, I am all over it)

MEMORABLE QUOTES:
"Here are two trusims to keep in mind: (1) doing something unimportant well does not make it important; (2) requiring a lot of time does not make a task important"

"How to read 200% faster in 10 minutes" (really, a must read section)

"The vision is really about empowering workers, giving them all the information about what's going on so they can do a lot more than they've done in the past." - Bill Gates

"Income Autopilot" - for those who don't want to run a business, but rather for those who want to OWN a business

"Fewer than 5% of the 200,000 books published each year sell more than 5,000 copies" {So much for getting rich being an author}

AND AT THE END
Ferriss does get a bit scrambled at the end of his book... you can tell he wanted to add so much more of what he has learned. Check out [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Highly powered Ego, April 13 2013
This review is from: The 4-Hour Workweek, Expanded and Updated: Expanded and Updated, With Over 100 New Pages of Cutting-Edge Content. (Hardcover)
Timothy has some very empowering points and ideas to lesson your work load for a four hour work week. He teaches you ways to manipulate others to strengthen your ego. How to make others serve you better and delegate responsibly to them. So if your looking to be rich on others backs an take all you can while throwing away anything that doesn't conform to you, than get it.

But if you realize that we need to help others in life, to enrich our own than i would recommend The 7 habits of highly effective people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pure snake oil, Dec 2 2012
By 
Nothing really matters "Rob Thomas" (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 4-Hour Workweek, Expanded and Updated: Expanded and Updated, With Over 100 New Pages of Cutting-Edge Content. (Hardcover)
This book is so ridiculous, I often did not know whether to laugh, roll my eyes, or curse. I often did all three.

The author does not have a single drop of integrity and is out to get rich by conning people (something he has a long history of and is apparently quite proud of) with nonsense about how anyone can work four hours a week and live like a millionaire. Horse hockey.

This is probably the worst book I've ever come across and I doubt I've ever read anything by a more morally bankrupt author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reading it again, April 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a guide to freedom. If nothing else it will get you excited about the big picture, how to be more effecient and get more of what you want out of life, both professionally and personally. There is so much information that I need to read it again! Tim you are an inspiration, thank you for sharing your secrets to living life your way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Has it's moments, April 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Workweek, Expanded and Updated: Expanded and Updated, With Over 100 New Pages of Cutting-Edge Content. (Hardcover)
I hate self help books. This one wasn't the worst.
But it also had its fair share of fluff.
It didn't inspire me to outsource some work though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars problem solver, March 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4-hour Work Week (Paperback)
So many simple solutions for the self employed....his guidelines around email usage are indispensable, just add discipline.
I will refer back to this book over and over. Another great one is call The Art of Time, can't recall the author but it's an older version of time management concepts that still apply today, highly recommended as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The best part is the beginning!, Feb. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first 100-pages are very interesting. Very good advices, fun to read and I already applied some of his tips and it works great. But the rest of the book is boring, too many details, too many personal example. So only the 1/3 of this book worth it, I don't regret to have bough it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly good information, Feb. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Workweek, Expanded and Updated: Expanded and Updated, With Over 100 New Pages of Cutting-Edge Content. (Hardcover)
But actioning some/most of it seems a bit far fetched.

Would recommend only if you had $10,000 or more for initial startup with the overseas companies - and could afford to loose same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most influential thinkers on my life., Jan. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Workweek, Expanded and Updated: Expanded and Updated, With Over 100 New Pages of Cutting-Edge Content. (Hardcover)
If you like this book, check out more in depth to the great authors he quotes in the book as well. Peter Drucker, Warren Buffet, Vagabonding book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun ready, some interesting ideas., Dec 18 2013
By 
Quan Le - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Workweek, Expanded and Updated: Expanded and Updated, With Over 100 New Pages of Cutting-Edge Content. (Hardcover)
Being a business owner, i wanted to find ways to be more efficient and productive. Was curious about the title. Yes, there are some interesting ideas to help you to become more efficient, but 4 hours work week is not realistic! Something like 15-20 hours work week, is the most i can go down to. Overall, an easy read and I would recommend it for all business owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbabf54b0)

This product

The 4-Hour Workweek, Expanded and Updated: Expanded and Updated, With Over 100 New Pages of Cutting-Edge Content.
CDN$ 26.95 CDN$ 16.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews