Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Densely packed with information
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:09 Mins
The book is pretty thick at 480 pages and packed with information. The type is fairly small, but not cringing small. The difference between this and the normal edition is the hardcover and there are 32 pages of extra content (art and behind the scenes stuff). Mine's numbered 97590, so I guess they printed a lot of collector's edition...
Published on Oct. 22 2010 by Parka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not as good as the FO3 GotY CE guide
This guide, like the previous Fallout Guides from Prima, are packed with info. It does have everything you could ever want to know in there...

The only problem is that Prima made an Oops, and forgot to include an index. However, if you go to their website, they give you a pdf to print out. Otherwise, you're stuck having to look at the map index, scanning a...
Published on Dec 11 2010 by MadViking


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Densely packed with information, Oct. 22 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:09 Mins

The book is pretty thick at 480 pages and packed with information. The type is fairly small, but not cringing small. The difference between this and the normal edition is the hardcover and there are 32 pages of extra content (art and behind the scenes stuff). Mine's numbered 97590, so I guess they printed a lot of collector's edition.

The book is split into a few main parts: Training, Main Quest, Side Quest, Tour of Mojave Wasteland and Appendices.

The Training section basically talks about the game mechanics and character development. There's an explanation for all the attributes, perks, skills, etc available, all of which I find very useful as I'm new to Fallout. There are also suggested character builds with recommended stats and suggestions on how to spend you Skill points. And of course, there are weapon information and enemy profiles.

The walkthrough section is detailed and complete with all the items you can find during any particular quest. To avoid spoilers, just skip the text and follow the quest flowchart which is basically a list the prerequisites required for the quest. Items you can find are marked by big icons.

Side quests come in at an overwhelming 150 pages, more than twice the pages for the story quest. Wow. They are as detailed as the main walkthrough. This where you can find cool items, gain extra experience and visit strange places. I might take a year traveling through the desert to find all these side quests without the guide. You can be sure you won't miss any even if you miss talking to any characters.

Maps come in a few form and they are very useful. The pullout poster map has 3 maps showing the roads, enemy hangouts and collectibles respectively. In the book, the maps are close-ups of areas and blueprints of buildings with details down to the room level, and the list of collectibles and quests.

If you're a collector-type of player in the game, then this book (or the paperback edition) is for you. I'm not too sure the extra 32 pages of art/stuff/hardcover is worth that extra $6 or so - but it's not too much anyway.

(There are a few pages from the art pages on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT TELLS EVERYTHING!, Oct. 23 2010
By 
Omid A. (North Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
This book, will tell you about everything in the game. It is a little complicated, and could have been a bit more organized. It also comes with a map, which tells you about every collectible, weapon dealer, and everything else. I recommend this to anyone who wants to beat the game 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not as good as the FO3 GotY CE guide, Dec 11 2010
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
This guide, like the previous Fallout Guides from Prima, are packed with info. It does have everything you could ever want to know in there...

The only problem is that Prima made an Oops, and forgot to include an index. However, if you go to their website, they give you a pdf to print out. Otherwise, you're stuck having to look at the map index, scanning a list of locations to get the zone id, then going to the book. Kind of awkward, but once you know that, you're fine.

I don't think the layout is quite as good as the previous FO3 GotY CE book. Information doesn't seem to be as logically arranged. The typeface is also smaller and harder to read.

However, it's still indispensable and I wouldn't want to give up my copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome guide for an awesome game, Nov. 9 2010
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
Despite a few misprints, all of which i've noticed are printed correctly elsewhere in the guide so you can figure them out, this is a well written and well researched guide. If the story is still new to you read carefully, as there is a section on the different endings and the quest walkthroughs contain some spoilers though are explained vaguely enough that if you are having trouble on a particular part of a quest, you can read what to do without ruining the whole quest for yourself. Also contains many helpful tips for the new Hardcore Mode. I would recommend this guide to anyone playing the game, from beginner all the way to expert, as this guide has maps, item locations, walkthroughs, etc. that can help even the most advanced players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for full enjoyment of the game, Oct. 27 2010
This review is from: Fallout New Vegas Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
I feel that this guide is essential for full enjoyment of Fallout New Vegas. I ended up buying the Collector's Edition because the regular edition wasn't immediately available and I didn't want to wait. I also played Fallout 3 and had the guide for that too. That's why I consider it an essential.

Some of the above reviews are fairly complete, so I'll give you an example of why I consider the guide indispensable:

Early on, one of the quests in Goodsprings optionally requires you to convince several of the townsfolk to join you in a gunfight against the powder gangers. You need higher level skills in Barter, Speech and Explosives to accomplish this. The only way you are going to have these levels of skill, early on at least, are by obtaining skill magazines or books. Where are you going to get them? The guide will tell you the closest locations. One of them I would have never found until much later.

Someone indicated that the guide is complex. Since the game is very non-linear there is probably not much choice. This is a huge guide and requires that you bounce around a lot. My only complaint is that the printing in the guide is a bit on the small size. Maybe they were saving paper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb678c1ec)

This product

Fallout New Vegas Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide
Fallout New Vegas Collector's Edition: Prima Official Game Guide by David Hodgson (Hardcover - Oct. 19 2010)
Used & New from: CDN$ 65.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews