Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, Oct. 30 2010
This review is from: The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work (Hardcover)
As self help books go, this one was pretty good. The premise of the book that the author presents is if we follow seven simple steps, and incorporate them in to our daily lives, we will lead richer and fuller lives by being - yup you guessed it - happy.

Author Shawn Achor bases his thesis on plenty of research. Some of the research he participated in first hand, some research done as part of his time in university, and some which Achor references through studies.

What I liked most about this book is that for each of the seven happiness principles, Achor states that the principle is, states the evidence on why the principle is helpful, gives concrete examples of where the principle has worked, and then ends the chapter with simple exercises the reader can do to incorporate the principle in to their daily lives.

I would recommend not adopting all seven principles at once though. Not because all seven aren't good principles, but because undertaking all seven at once wold surely be too much change for anyone, and would lead to failure. A better approach would be to try one or two of the principles. Then when they have become part of your daily life, incorporate another, and so on. In this manner you can be assured of success and of being happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The power of positive psychology in all dimensions of human experience, April 11 2011
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work (Hardcover)
Having already read Tal Ben-Shahar's The Pursuit of Perfect: How to Stop Chasing Perfection and Start Living a Richer, Happier Life as well as Jessica Pryce-Jones' Happiness at Work: Maximizing Your Psychological Capital for Success, and having absorbed and digested what their authors share, I was curious to know what (if anything) new Shawn Achor could contribute to the on-going multi-logue and how well the material is organized and presented. My rating correctly indicates what I think he has accomplished. Others have their own reasons for admiring this book. Here are two of mine.

First, Achor introduces seven principles that serve as the foundation of what he characterizes as "the happiness advantage": positive brains have a significant biological advantage over brains that are neutral and an even more substantial biological advantage over brains that are negative. In fact, The Happiness Advantage" also serves as the first principle, followed by

2. The Fulcrum and the Lever: How a positive mindset (fulcrum) can leverage power to achieve success (however defined)

3. The Tetris Effect: How that same positive mindset can recognize can recognize patterns of possibility that leads to possibilities that would otherwise be missed

4. Falling Up: When experiencing a major crisis or encountering a major threat, how selecting the right mental "path" will reveal the best course of action to take

5. The Zorro Circle: When coping with crisis or threat, how to control emotions "by focusing first on small, manageable goals, and then gradually expanding our circle to achieve progressively bigger ones"

6. The 20-Second Rule: When willpower weakens or fails, how to make small adjustments of energy to reroute the path of least resistance with better habits and renewed willpower.

7. The Social Investment: When challenged or threatened, "how to invest more in one of the greatest predictors of success and excellence - our social network support."

These principles guide and inform Achor`s narrative as it proceeds to Part Three when he shares his suggestions about how to spread "the happiness advantage" at work, at home, and beyond.

I also commend Achor on his brilliant analysis of situations with which almost all of his readers can readily identify and then on his equally brilliant explanation of how to take full advantage of such situations by viewing them as opportunities rather than as threats. Almost immediately (in the Introduction, he establishes and then sustain a direct, personal, indeed conversational rapport with his reader. The tone of the narrative is enriched by a spirit I characterize as "There will definitely be some question s to answer and problems to solve but don't worry. Hey, we're in it together." Presumably the rapport that Achor establishes with his reader very closely resembles the rapport he established with Harvard students years ago. That is great news for readers, especially for those who in greatest need of what this book offers.

Almost 20 years ago in an commencement speech at Stanford and then in an article published by Harvard Business Review, Teresa Amabile offered the best career advice I ever heard: Love what you do and do what you love. Perhaps the greatest challenge for any company is to make certain that those who supervise its workers get what they do best and enjoy most in alignment with achieving the company's goals. Recent research studies by highly reputable firms such as Gallup and TowersWatson reveal that happy workers (i.e. who love what they do and do what they love) work harder and smarter, completing their work "faster, better, cheaper."

For business leaders in organizations of which that cannot be said now, Shawn Achor's book is a "must read."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, April 27 2013
This review is from: The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent read. It's both informative and hilarious.
The 7 principles discussed in this book have the potential of being very beneficial to anyone who decides to actively use them in their daily life.
The book was a pleasure to read and actively increased my perceptions of positivity in my daily events. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING, Aug. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work (Hardcover)
I love Shawn Achor's science-backed exploration of Happiness! The fact he combines the what with the how to do it, is excellent for readers to translate Happiness into an action plan. I will be implementing the 7 Principles into my classroom (grades 8-12) this school year. It's a must for ALL to read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Simple, yet Life-Altering Message, May 12 2013
This review is from: The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work (Hardcover)
I had the good fortune of meeting Shawn. His message is simple, yet compelling.

By making a habit of gratitude, by telling the people in our lives what we like about them, by focusing on the positive, we can actually raise our level of happiness.

Though some of us are less genetically disposed to be happy than others, everyone has the potential to be happier. Which is a very good thing. Happy people generate success!

What a wonderful message from an awe-inspiring young man, whose message is already changing the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, March 3 2013
By 
Maureen Moore (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a fascinating read. Lots of interesting data to back it up
and resonates deeply with those who feel that happiness is the
lot of man if we truly seek it and are willing to do the work.
Inspiring as well as informative. Pleasant, readable writing style.
Good contribution to your life's journey library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory reading, May 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book should be on high school or college required reading lists. Whether you are entering the professional workplace or you have been in it for 30 years, read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Positively good, March 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work (Hardcover)
The book is based on the philosophy of positive psychology and outlines ways to make life a happier experience for everyone. Real life anecdotes combined with clear descriptions of research in the field make for easy and inspiring reading . I had initially borrowed the book from the library but decided I needed my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice, Feb. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work (Hardcover)
New ideas that change our way of thinking forever. The text is clear and this is really a must to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, Jan. 31 2014
By 
L. J. Malloy "fire dancer" (toronto, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work (Hardcover)
Shawn Achor's suggestion to write at least three things a day that I'm grateful for has made a really positive influence in my life. My lows don't seem to be nearly as low as they used to be. I liked this book so much, I bought his next book "Before Happiness", which was also really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work
CDN$ 28.95 CDN$ 18.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews