Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionnel, Feb. 8 2010
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set: Volumes 1 and 2 (Hardcover)
Ce livre de Julia Child est clair facile à comprendre et nous propose des techniques qui fonctionnent très bien. Je le consulte souvent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the home chef, Nov. 1 2012
By 
bookweasel (Calgary AB) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set: Volumes 1 and 2 (Hardcover)
This pair of books will turn the average cook into a great cook. They cover the basics of French cooking in an easy to read format, the recipes work and the result is delicious. If you have read Dearie, Julia's biography, you will know that this started life as a French cookbook written by the other two authors. To get their book published they enlisted Julia to help write the book in American. They then strove for several years to write the perfect French cookbook for the American housewife. The result was an instant best seller and one of the all time great treatises on French cooking. It is not up to date and may be found lacking by cutting edge cooks but it is absolutely terrific for most cooks and of interest in the evolution of food in America. Every household should have a copy.Also I bought this elsewhere because it was $35 cheaper for the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julia's voice on every page!, June 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set: Volumes 1 and 2 (Hardcover)
A great addition to the cookbook shelf. Finally, a pie crust recipe and method that works...that alone made it worth buying the set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so great!!, April 30 2010
By 
N. Burton (Conception Bay South, NL Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set: Volumes 1 and 2 (Hardcover)
Unfortunately I haven't had the opportunity to use these books as much as I would have liked so far. I have read other reviews that state they can be read almost like a novel - which is true. But with 2 young children hard to find the time!!

I have used it to look things up quickly and it has been helpful - the parts I have actually sat down and took the time to read have been excellent - I am learning tidbits of information and the proper "how to's" that make the process much easier and satisfying as the results are better. I consider myself a pretty experienced "home cook" and I have found them to be a great resource. If you are just new to cooking you will find it that much more beneficial!!

It is updated for the use of food processors etc.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julia...., Feb. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set: Volumes 1 and 2 (Hardcover)
How can you not love Julia's cooking?!! There is nothing bad to be said about this book. Great set of book for someone who wants to cook something really, really tasty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mastering the art of French Cooking, Feb. 4 2012
By 
Gayle Storey "coorslite" (Parker CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set: Volumes 1 and 2 (Hardcover)
""These books are just amazing It isn't just about recipes but about the method of doing
it If you want to cook that cut above these books are for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French cooking made easy, June 21 2010
By 
Robert Lemire (Oakville, ON CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set: Volumes 1 and 2 (Hardcover)
Well written in an informal tone, these books make French cooking much easier. I also like the way she positions basic recipes (as for sauces for example) and then the many variations on the theme derived from them. I have already tried several recipes, with great success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For serious chefs and novice cooks alike, May 24 2010
By 
G. E. H. (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set: Volumes 1 and 2 (Hardcover)
A comprehesive and well illustrated compendium of fine French cuisine that you can make at home. Julia Child's thorough explanations of the most basic to the most complex recipes, injected with her famous sense of humour, calmly assures the most novice of cooks that he/she too can cook like a Cordon Bleu trained chef. Bon Apetit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Une référence, June 24 2014
By 
A. Paquet (Québec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set: Volumes 1 and 2 (Hardcover)
Bien qu'il existe des milliers et des milliers de livres de recettes, on ne peut pas passer à côté de cette bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mastering the art of french cooking boxed set, Nov. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set: Volumes 1 and 2 (Hardcover)
Volume 2 has Volume 1 index in the back which makes it impossible to do a search by item in that volume.
Other than that I really like it, it is very straight forward in the recipes, and look I forward to using many from both books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastering the Art of French Cooking Boxed Set: Volumes 1 and 2
CDN$ 134.95 CDN$ 84.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews