Customer Reviews


269 Reviews
5 star:
 (171)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "For the dead travel fast"
Surprisingly "Denn die Toten reiten schnell" or "For the dead travel fast" is more than an opening line to this tale of love in the dangerous moon light. After watching several Drac movies and a few Nosferatu's, I pretty much though I had a handle on the genera. Little did I know what a wonderful world of mystery and suspense that Bram Stoker opened up for me...
Published on July 25 2010 by bernie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars To read for education, not for pleasure
Dracula wasn't either the first or the best vampire story, but it was the first that was wildly popular. There are many reasons for its popularity, among other things because it was pretty racy for the time. Also, the vampire theme was and still is a very compelling and manifold subject. However, I suspect there is another reason for its popularity. Stories like...
Published on April 26 2000 by samarand


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "For the dead travel fast", July 25 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Surprisingly "Denn die Toten reiten schnell" or "For the dead travel fast" is more than an opening line to this tale of love in the dangerous moon light. After watching several Drac movies and a few Nosferatu's, I pretty much though I had a handle on the genera. Little did I know what a wonderful world of mystery and suspense that Bram Stoker opened up for me.

The story is told mostly third party though the papers, diaries, and phonograph recordings (on wax cylinders) of those people involve in a tale so bizarre that it almost defies belief. The general story line is that of a Count that plans to move to a more urban setting (from Borgo Pass to London) where there is a richer diet. There he finds succulent women; something he can sing his teeth in. Unfortunately for him a gang of ruffians (including a real-estate agent, asylum director, Texas cowboy and an Old Dutch abnormal psychologist) is out to detour his nocturnal munching. They think they have Drac on the run but with a wing and a prayer he is always one step ahead.

Of more value to the reader is the rich prose chosen by Stoker as he describes the morals and technology of the time. We have to come to grips with or decide if we can perform the rituals that are required to eliminate vampires verses the impropriety of opening graves and staking loved ones. The powers in the book differ from the movie versions in that they are more of persuasion and capabilities to manipulate the local weather. At one point the Dutch Dr. Van Helsing, is so overwhelmed by a beautiful vampire laying in the grave that he almost for gets why he is there and may become vamp chow.

All in all the story is more in the cunning chase. And the question as to will they succeed or will Dracula triumph. Remember "For the dead travel fast."

Dracula
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the dead travel fast, May 16 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
"Dracula" was not the first vampire novel, nor was it Bram Stoker's first book.

But after years of research, Stoker managed to craft the ultimate vampire novel, which has spawned countless movies, spinoffs, and books that follow the blueprint of the Transylvanian count. Eerie, horrifying and genuinely mysterious, "Dracula" is undoubtedly the most striking and unique vampire novel yet penned.

Real estate agent Jonathan Harker arrives in Transylvania, to arrange a London house sale to Count Dracula. But as the days go by, Harker witnesses increasingly horrific events, leading him to believe that Dracula is not actually human. His fiancee Mina arrives in Transylvania, and finds that he has been feverish. Meanwhile the count has vanished -- along with countless boxes filled with dirt.

And soon afterwards, strange things happen: a ship piloted by a dead man crashes on the shore, after a mysterious thing killed the crew. A lunatic talks about "Him" coming. And Mina's pal Lucy dies of mysterious blood loss, only to come back as an undead seductress. Dracula has arrived in England -- then the center of the Western world -- and intends to make it his own...

"Dracula" is the grandaddy of Lestat and other elegantly alluring bloodsuckers, but that isn't the sole reason why this novel is a classic. It's also incredibly atmospheric, and very well-written. Not only is it very freaky, in an ornate Victorian style, but it is also full of restrained, quiet horror and creepy eroticism. What's more, it's shaped the portrayal of vampires in movies and books, even to this day.

Despite already knowing what's going on for the first half of the book, it's actually kind of creepy to see these people whose lives are being disrupted by Dracula, but don't know about vampires. It's a bit tempting to yell "It's a vampire, you idiots!" every now and then, but you can't really blame them. Then the second half kicks in, with accented professor Van Helsing taking our heroes on a quest to save Mina from Dracula.

And along the way, while our heroes try to figure stuff out, Stoker spins up all these creepy hints of Dracula's arrival. Though he wrote in the late 19th-century manner, very verbose and a bit stuffy, his skill shines through. The book is crammed with intense, evocative language, with moments like Dracula creeping down a wall, or the dead captain found tied to the wheel. Once read, they stick in your mind throughout the book.

It's also a credit to Stoker that he keeps his characters from seeming like idiots or freaks, which they could have easily seemed like. Instead, he puts little moments of humanity in them, like Van Helsing admitting that his wife is in an asylum. Even the letters and diaries are written in different styles; for example, Seward's is restrained and analytical, while Mina's is exuberant and bright.

Even Dracula himself is an overpowering presence despite his small amount of actual screen time, and not just as a vampire -- Stoker presents him as passionate, intense, malignant, and probably the smartest person in the entire book. If Van Helsing hadn't thwarted him, he probably would have taken over the world -- not the Victorian audience's ideal ending.

Intelligent, frightening and very well-written, "Dracula" is the well-deserved godfather of all modern vampire books and movies -- and its unique villain still dwarfs the more recent undead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars To read for education, not for pleasure, April 26 2000
Dracula wasn't either the first or the best vampire story, but it was the first that was wildly popular. There are many reasons for its popularity, among other things because it was pretty racy for the time. Also, the vampire theme was and still is a very compelling and manifold subject. However, I suspect there is another reason for its popularity. Stories like "La morte amoureuse," by Théophile Gautier, and "Carmilla," by Joseph Sheridan LeFanu, preceded Dracula by many years, and, from the point of view of literary quality, they both leave Dracula eating dust, but few people have read them. The fact is, these are pretty ambiguous stories: good and evil are not separated by neat and precise borders. They are not merely scary, they are disturbing. On the other hand, Dracula is very straightforward and simplistic. On the one hand, you have Dracula, a totally evil force, on the other, the "brave men" and Mina, who represent the forces of civilization and "therefore," they are perfectly good. In this picture, Lucy and Renfield are the most interesting characters, because they are the only ones that stand in a grey area. The "message" of the story is that you can always defeat the forces of darkness, as long as you have the right technology and the right money, and as long as the powers of civilized life are on your side. This is simply not the way it works, however.
Most movie Draculas are more interesting than Stoker's Dracula. In the movies, correctly I think, they have generally tried to make Dracula more seductive, and sometimes even charming. In the book, Dracula is more like a rapist, and utterly disagreeable. You might end up rooting for him, though, disagreeable as he is, because the good guys are so nerve-grating. They are more like caricatures than real people. Harker, Seward and Lord Godalming are Ye Olde Stolid Englishmen. Mina, the "New Woman," is too much like the "Old Woman," only typing instead of sewing. But we know that they all are wonderful, because they themselves tell you so, all the time. Let's say there are some books that are important because they are good books, and others are important because of their influence: Dracula enters in the second category. I think it is still necessary to read it, for educational purposes, but not really for pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars for once I say watch the movie!, Aug. 23 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "jfritch53" (Pilot Point, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dracula (Mass Market Paperback)
The idea of the vampire is fascinating, but Bram Stoker's book is not. I began reading this novel in the hopes that I might find more depth of character and plot than in the movie. But any hopes for this were demolished by the clumsy form, lack of a real narrator, and lack of character development.
At first I found the form interesting. The whole story is related through diary/journal entries by the characters, newspaper clips, telegrams, etc. Yet by the time I had read roughly 100 pages, I was growing tired of listening to the characters bubble on about their emotions, and how beautiful everyone except Dracula is.
Towards the climactic scene, the journal form begins to conflict more and more with the plot. As the actions become more time-compressed, the characters have to spend more time writing down conversations and updates to the plot. One imagines them scurrying off after anything happens to go and write it down in their diary. (I don't know anyone in real life who does this.)
Also, since he is seen through the distance of the characters' point of view, Dracula has hardly any recognizable presence in the story, except as the invisible menace. Being a boring villain, he is defeated by boring, superstitious means. What reason is there for the vampire to appear in the characters' lives anyway, unless to punish them for a wild imagination and gushing diaries?
The only character of interest is Dr. Van Helsing, especially when he speaks of an odd impulse to laughter that comes up at the most inopportune times, and when he speaks of the vampire's "child" brain.
Otherwise, the book suffers heavily from lack of a good narrator (who would perhaps scale down some of the gratuitous sentimentalism), and so I suggest watching the Francis Ford Coppolla film instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dracula rules!, Sept. 17 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (vancouver ,canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dracula (Paperback)
Beautiful copy!! I am beyond happy ,these editions are fantastic and functional ! Dracula is also one of my favorite 19th century novels of all time, reading this will be stylin'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Difficult Read. But Worth The Effort, Aug. 27 2012
By 
Koopa90 (Cape Breton, NS.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dracula (Hardcover)
I was very surprised with how good this book really was. Especially for its time.
In the age we live now, with technology and knowledge of history and a possible future, we have so much we can write about.
But to return to Bram Stoker's time and write this book, I thought it would be a difficult task to write something as good as Dracula.

For too long Ive been Anti-Vampire with all this Twilight crap going on.
I decided to ignore it all and go back to where it all began, the King of the Vampires.
Bram Stoker's original story of DRACULA.

Though, it has its flaws, it mainly comes down to the way it is written.
Its almost impossible (or was for me) when there were pages about a conversation with something with an accent, and Bram Stoker made sure he spelt every word as who ever was speaking would say it. Plenty of letters missing an apostrophes in their place.

The first 50 pages really reeled me into the story, but unfortunately, after that, it took a good 200 pages before I became interested in the story once more.

Ive never seen a DRACULA movie, apart from the spoof 'Dead and Loving It' Which really didnt follow the story that much, so there were not many spoilers from that. This was a good read, though difficult at times. I highly recommend it to anyone willing to give this classic a chance. Glad ive read it and can add it to my collection.

Additional: This Leather Binding arrived in bad condition for me although it was said to be NEW. Though I didnt mind the little nicks here and there, Im just giving anyone who purchases it in future a heads up on the possibly condition of this fragile book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For the dead travel fast, Feb. 20 2012
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Dracula (Hardcover)
"Dracula" was not the first vampire novel, nor was it Bram Stoker's first book. But he managed to craft the ultimate vampire novel, which has spawned countless movies, spinoffs, and books that follow the blueprint of the Transylvanian count. Eerie, horrifying and genuinely mysterious, "Dracula" is undoubtedly the most striking and unique vampire novel yet penned.

Real estate agent Jonathan Harker arrives in Transylvania, to arrange a London house sale to Count Dracula. But as the days go by, Harker witnesses increasingly horrific events, leading him to believe that Dracula is not actually human. His fiancee Mina arrives in Transylvania, and finds that he has been feverish. Meanwhile the count has vanished -- along with countless boxes filled with dirt.

And soon afterwards, strange things happen: a ship piloted by a dead man crashes on the shore, after a mysterious thing killed the crew. A lunatic talks about "Him" coming. And Mina's pal Lucy dies of mysterious blood loss, only to come back as an undead seductress. Dracula has arrived in England -- then the center of the Western world -- and intends to make it his own...

"Dracula" is the grandaddy of Lestat and other elegantly alluring bloodsuckers, but that isn't the sole reason why this novel is a classic. It's also incredibly atmospheric, and very well-written. Not only is it very freaky, in an ornate Victorian style, but it is also full of restrained, quiet horror and creepy eroticism. What's more, it's shaped the portrayal of vampires in movies and books, even to this day.

Despite already knowing what's going on for the first half of the book, it's actually kind of creepy to see these people whose lives are being disrupted by Dracula, but don't know about vampires. It's a bit tempting to yell "It's a vampire, you idiots!" every now and then, but you can't really blame them. Then the second half kicks in, with accented professor Van Helsing taking our heroes on a quest to save Mina from Dracula.

And along the way, while our heroes try to figure stuff out, Stoker spins up all these creepy hints of Dracula's arrival. Though he wrote in the late 19th-century manner, very verbose and a bit stuffy, his skill shines through. The book is crammed with intense, evocative language, with moments like Dracula creeping down a wall, or the dead captain found tied to the wheel. Once read, they stick in your mind throughout the book.

It's also a credit to Stoker that he keeps his characters from seeming like idiots or freaks, which they could have easily seemed like. Instead, he puts little moments of humanity in them, like Van Helsing admitting that his wife is in an asylum. Even the letters and diaries are written in different styles; for example, Seward's is restrained and analytical, while Mina's is exuberant and bright.

Even Dracula himself is an overpowering presence despite his small amount of actual screen time, and not just as a vampire -- Stoker presents him as passionate, intense, malignant, and probably the smartest person in the entire book. If Van Helsing hadn't thwarted him, he probably would have taken over the world -- not the Victorian audience's ideal ending.

As for this particular edition, it really is quite nice. The red edges and black cover really give it a gothic, vampiric feeling, while the binding, cover and bookmark add to the Victorian feel of it.

Intelligent, frightening and very well-written, "Dracula" is the well-deserved godfather of all modern vampire books and movies -- and its unique villain still dwarfs the more recent undead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic., Feb. 12 2012
This review is from: Dracula (Paperback)
A good read, and I find the cover of this version to be very elegant. This book is the start of vampires, and so it is a must-read for anyone who enjoys vampire novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eerie, Jan. 20 2012
By 
Dana - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dracula (Hardcover)
Obviously, this is a classic that will never die (sorry, couldn't resist) and who am I to criticise? So instead I think I will break this review into three categories: difficulties I had with the book; reactions I had to the book; and interesting tidbits.

Difficulties: The biggest difficulty I had was with the language. It was lyrical and descriptive until either Van Helsing or a lower class Englishman was talking. At those times the content became difficult to follow. Van Helsing's musings were written to impart to the reader a Dutch accent. With the language already being a little tricky, I really had to ponder and re-read to get some of what Van Helsing was trying to say. It was infinitely worse when trying to decipher the meaning of the lower class. Their input was written phonetically and in the slang of the time. Occasionally I just skipped over trying to figure it out. Luckily Van Helsing got easier to figure out as the story progressed and there wasn't a lot of the other.

My Reactions: As I hit about the middle of the book and started to assess my feelings about it, two things hit me. First - I love the language! Maybe it's because there was no TV and few pictures readily available at the time but the classical writers have such a way with descriptive language. As they write, you can see the picture unfolding before you. It really is like they paint a picture with words. Sadly this seems to be a lost talent. Or maybe because we have so much visual stimulation and experiences to draw from now, readers just don't have the patience for truly 'visual' writing. The second thing I realized was how very little gore was actually included in the book. Perhaps it was considered a gory book at the time but, compared to some books of modern times, Dracula seems almost sanitized. I was feeling rather disappointed in my lack of fear reaction until I had to go out to my car in the dark to retrieve something. I walked out the front door and was immediately struck with a tightening of my chest and a paranoid fear. I guess the descriptive language worked after all. Then there was the night of nightmares after falling asleep with the book in my hands. I totally underestimated Bram Stoker's ability to manipulate my subconscious.

Interesting Tid Bits: Until I began reading the book, I didn't realize it was written as a series of journal entries and letters. There is no direct storytelling per se, just recollections the characters wrote in journals or to each other. Dracula himself is actually almost a supporting roll with the primary focus being on the reactions of those that interact with him in some way. Also interesting was the use of the terms 'UnDead' and 'if looks could kill'. Both of these were used, in the modern sense, for the first time in this novel.The 'modern rules' of vampire were also introduced in Dracula. Vampires do need to be invited in, in some way, before they can torment you at home.

I'm glad I finally got around to this book. It makes all these modern, feel good, vampire books feel like cheap imitations. There is so much depth and darkness in the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "For the dead travel fast", Sept. 5 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dracula (Mass Market Paperback)
Surprisingly "Denn die Toten reiten schnell" or "For the dead travel fast" is more than an opening line to this tale of love in the dangerous moon light. After watching several Drac movies and a few Nosferatu's, I pretty much though I had a handle on the genera. Little did I know what a wonderful world of mystery and suspense that Bram Stoker opened up for me.

The story is told mostly third party though the papers, diaries, and phonograph recordings (on wax calendars) of those people involve in a tale so bizarre that it almost defies belief. The general story line is that of a Count that plans to move to a more urban setting (from Borgo Pass to London) where there is a richer diet. There he finds succulent women; something he can sing his teeth in. Unfortunately for him a gang of ruffians (including a real-estate agent, asylum director, Texas cowboy and an Old Dutch abnormal psychologist) is out to detour his nocturnal munching. They think they have Drac on the run but with a wing and a prayer he is always one step ahead.

Of more value to the reader is the rich prose chosen by Stoker as he describes the morals and technology of the time. We have to come to grips with or decide if we can perform the rituals that are required to eliminate vampires verses the impropriety of opening graves and staking loved ones. The powers in the book differ from the movie versions in that they are more of persuasion and capabilities to manipulate the local weather. At one point the Dutch Dr. Van Helsing, is so overwhelmed by a beautiful vampire laying in the grave that he almost for gets why he is there and may become vamp chow.

All in all the story is more in the cunning chase. And the question as to will they succeed or will Dracula triumph. Remember "For the dead travel fast."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dracula
Dracula by Bram Stoker (Hardcover - May 4 2010)
CDN$ 26.95 CDN$ 16.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews