Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but 'safe' intro to the subject
Kean makes a convincing case as to the physical reality of UFOs, the fact that they have been and are seen treated as of the utmost importance by governments all over the world (including the US, which routinely denies it), that they pose real safety concerns (e.g., in restricted airspace), and that a serious scientific study of the phenomenon is called for (including...
Published 12 months ago by Harrison Koehli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Adds Detail To Previously Recorded Reports
With emphasis on international ufo reports involving military and other agencies. Avoids the sensational and records documentable facts on these issues.
Published 1 month ago by Ian Coull


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but 'safe' intro to the subject, July 22 2013
By 
Harrison Koehli (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Kean makes a convincing case as to the physical reality of UFOs, the fact that they have been and are seen treated as of the utmost importance by governments all over the world (including the US, which routinely denies it), that they pose real safety concerns (e.g., in restricted airspace), and that a serious scientific study of the phenomenon is called for (including taking seriously the ET and interdimensional hypotheses). The book is very conservative in nature, focusing solely on highly documented reports, what can be considered the 'best evidence'. This is understandable, given Kean's motives of appealing to scientists, academics, and the otherwise unconvinced (i.e., 'What? Everyone knows UFOs are kooky! Aren't they?'). So there are no mentions of alien abductions, 'greys', or any other such 'high strangeness'. Secretive government conspiracies are considered but not argued for, and the material presented pretty much sticks to the hard facts: military sightings, radar cases, high-profile sightings (e.g., the Belgian wave, the O'Hare Airport sighting, famous dogfights), official investigations, FOIA releases, etc., all of which put the lie to the standard government denials.

The book includes numerous contributions from military witnesses, researchers, politicians, and scholars. Many of these are first-hand accounts of well-documented encounters, of military and government investigations. The best, in my opinion, is Drs. Wendt and Duvall's study of the the UFO taboo, where they hypothesize that the almost universal taboo is inspired and reinforced by the threefold threat implied by acceptance of UFOs' reality: 1) the potentially extreme physical threat posed by such a technology and intelligence, 2) the perceived pressure such a disclosure would have for a global democracy, 3) the delegitimizing effect such an understanding would have on modern nation states and governments, with their reliance on an anthropocentric justification of power.

Unfortunately, presenting only the 'best evidence' has the effect of ironing out the phenomena and making them see more homogeneous than they are. Another recent book, Michael Swords's Grassroots UFOs, a collection of firsthand accounts from over a thousand 'regular people', gives an idea of just how expansive this topic really is. So overall, Kean plays it safe. It makes for a solid, well-argued book, but leaves much unsaid. Best to go elsewhere for a more comprehensive treatment (e.g., Richard Dolan's books, John Keel's, Laura Knight-Jadczyk's). With that said, UFOs (***1/2) is a solid introduction, the kind of book you might recommend to an open-minded newbie to the subject, with a few worthwhile insights and more recent cases for those more familiar with the already existing literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Adds Detail To Previously Recorded Reports, June 25 2014
With emphasis on international ufo reports involving military and other agencies. Avoids the sensational and records documentable facts on these issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon Service, Dec 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: UFOs: Generals, Pilots and Government Officials Go On the Record (Hardcover)
Amazon continues to provide excellent product and service within a user friendly framework. First as a pioneer and now a leader. Keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling book!, Sept. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would have to say that I am a skeptic when it comes to the subject matter of UFO and "aliens". I had little faith that this book would present the topic in a logical and well researched manner. However, Leslie Kean delivers in an impressive fashion. The evidence and testimony she cites is compelling. It is clear she did not want to muddy the waters by including material that could be easily refuted or explained away, and the book is impressive in its presentation and conclusions. It is easy to argue philosophy or opinions but when it comes to credible testimony and empirical facts (all smothered in logic), i have to say she has given me many reasons to rethink my position. I will not say to the "skeptic" that this read will suddenly result in a paradigm shift for you but it will certainly make you think a bit before discussing the topic. it has certainly made me less dismissive of the subject. To the rabid UFO/alien hunters, I believe the book will give them some feeling of redemption and I fear will be quoted to further the causes of those who see UFO everywhere. But the book itself is neutral in presentation and logical in conclusion. If you are looking for a book that is filled with accounts of grey aliens, abductions, and tales from sci-if mags you will probably find the read a tad boring. For anyone curious and skeptical about this topic i would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, May 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
very good book and lot of questions when you read something like that is it true or false. You don't know what to believe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Objectivite Examinations and Testimony, Aug. 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What I enjoyed about this book was tht its consists of Testimony and physical evidence relating to the phenomenon as opposed to the typical misinformation and wild specualtion. Very Objective and insightful book for those interested or skeptical about the subject. Great book Leslie Kean !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Latest UFO testimonies, Feb. 5 2012
This review is from: UFOs: Generals, Pilots and Government Officials Go On the Record (Hardcover)
I found this book an interesting addition to the literature of modern day UFO sitings. What is of particular interest is the first person testimonies of high profile witnesses who were contributers to the book. It is a good addition to what is already out there such as the publications of Steven Greer and Marc Jacobs and others. However, it only covers sightings and only briefly, in some of the chapters gets into the physical evidence which is found in other sources. The proposal of a US agency to take up where Project Blue Book left off seems reasonable, but only if the upper echelons in the super secret black projects are ready to open up about what they know. The polititians have already tried and failed. I suggest that any one who is interested in this topic also look into The Disclosure Project for a lot more information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, Eye-Opening and Coldly Logical, Sept. 1 2011
By 
G. Poirier (Orleans, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I am not well-read in the UFO literature department. In fact, I've been more of a distant fence sitter on the subject - somewhere in between those who claim to see UFOs everywhere and those who would never acknowledge their existence even if one bumped into them. After reading this book, I find myself in agreement with the author that 1) UFOs are a real phenomenon, 2) we have no idea what they are or where they come from, and 3) they should be taken seriously by our governments and carefully studied within the limits of what is possible.

The book contains 28 chapters, 15 of which (about half the book) have been written by various high-ranking officials from different countries, most of whom have had major UFO encounters. The result is prose that is very even-tempered, logical, composed and, when describing UFO encounters, very detailed.

Something that particularly stands out in this book is the different approaches on the UFO issue taken by different governments in countries where major UFO incidents have been reported. It seems that European countries and South American ones are more accepting of the existence of the UFO phenomenon, whereas in North America, particularly the USA, UFOs are the subject of ridicule. The author provides a wealth of fascinating information on the history of how this unfortunate situation came about.

Despite the many contributors to this book, the writing styles are all very similar: very clear, often lively and always quite captivating. I found the book to be very hard to put down and believe that it can be enjoyed by everyone - from hard-nosed sceptics to true believers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best book to convince the close-minded., Aug. 26 2011
By 
Don (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: UFOs: Generals, Pilots and Government Officials Go On the Record (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book, with some parts being written by highly credible military witnesses. Reports include radar-confirmed sightings by multiple witnesses including ground personnel and pilots. The author was involved in the earlier DVD, "I Know What I Saw", and the book goes further into depth on some of those cases. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is that the last part of the book goes on and on about how the government should set up an organization where people can report UFOs, and it goes into great detail about how this might be done. That is a different topic from the issue of convincing the reader that UFOs are not all hoaxes and hallucinations, and should maybe be in an appendix. Also, I don't agree with replacing the acronym UFO with UAP (Unidentified Aerial Phenomenon). Overall, though, it's the best book. Most other books have at least one weak case that detracts from the credibility. This book has no weak cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic book..., July 5 2011
This review is from: UFOs: Generals, Pilots and Government Officials Go On the Record (Hardcover)
A fine book... A compelling and sound argument... People who enjoy good arguments will enjoy this, not just people interested in UFOs... She chooses her words carefully... Totally airtight... This is an real expert on UFOs, and an expert writer, doing her thing... A joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

UFOs: Generals, Pilots and Government Officials Go On the Record
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 19.43
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews