Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Gets you thinking!
Well we have always been intrigued by UFOs and are we really alone in the universe. Many people have come forward and told their story about what they saw and for the most part people have written them off as kooks. Leslie Kean as taken a different approach. She is telling the story of high profile, very intelligent people around the world of what they saw and...
Published on Feb. 5 2011 by getyourreadon

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adds Detail To Previously Recorded Reports
With emphasis on international ufo reports involving military and other agencies. Avoids the sensational and records documentable facts on these issues.
Published 6 months ago by Ian Coull


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Gets you thinking!, Feb. 5 2011
This review is from: UFOs: Generals, Pilots and Government Officials Go On the Record (Hardcover)
Well we have always been intrigued by UFOs and are we really alone in the universe. Many people have come forward and told their story about what they saw and for the most part people have written them off as kooks. Leslie Kean as taken a different approach. She is telling the story of high profile, very intelligent people around the world of what they saw and experienced. High ranking military personnel, commercial pilots, and politicians have risked their careers to tell their stories. After reading this book its hard to say that UFOs are not real, now for me the question is "If they are real...where do they come from and how do they get here"? Since we pretty much know that besides earth we are alone in our solar system, how do they cover such great distances? Or are they already here? Que the twilight zone theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but 'safe' intro to the subject, July 22 2013
By 
Harrison Koehli (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Kean makes a convincing case as to the physical reality of UFOs, the fact that they have been and are seen treated as of the utmost importance by governments all over the world (including the US, which routinely denies it), that they pose real safety concerns (e.g., in restricted airspace), and that a serious scientific study of the phenomenon is called for (including taking seriously the ET and interdimensional hypotheses). The book is very conservative in nature, focusing solely on highly documented reports, what can be considered the 'best evidence'. This is understandable, given Kean's motives of appealing to scientists, academics, and the otherwise unconvinced (i.e., 'What? Everyone knows UFOs are kooky! Aren't they?'). So there are no mentions of alien abductions, 'greys', or any other such 'high strangeness'. Secretive government conspiracies are considered but not argued for, and the material presented pretty much sticks to the hard facts: military sightings, radar cases, high-profile sightings (e.g., the Belgian wave, the O'Hare Airport sighting, famous dogfights), official investigations, FOIA releases, etc., all of which put the lie to the standard government denials.

The book includes numerous contributions from military witnesses, researchers, politicians, and scholars. Many of these are first-hand accounts of well-documented encounters, of military and government investigations. The best, in my opinion, is Drs. Wendt and Duvall's study of the the UFO taboo, where they hypothesize that the almost universal taboo is inspired and reinforced by the threefold threat implied by acceptance of UFOs' reality: 1) the potentially extreme physical threat posed by such a technology and intelligence, 2) the perceived pressure such a disclosure would have for a global democracy, 3) the delegitimizing effect such an understanding would have on modern nation states and governments, with their reliance on an anthropocentric justification of power.

Unfortunately, presenting only the 'best evidence' has the effect of ironing out the phenomena and making them see more homogeneous than they are. Another recent book, Michael Swords's Grassroots UFOs, a collection of firsthand accounts from over a thousand 'regular people', gives an idea of just how expansive this topic really is. So overall, Kean plays it safe. It makes for a solid, well-argued book, but leaves much unsaid. Best to go elsewhere for a more comprehensive treatment (e.g., Richard Dolan's books, John Keel's, Laura Knight-Jadczyk's). With that said, UFOs (***1/2) is a solid introduction, the kind of book you might recommend to an open-minded newbie to the subject, with a few worthwhile insights and more recent cases for those more familiar with the already existing literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a fabulous book filled with documented cases which ..., Dec 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a fabulous book filled with documented cases which I had never read about elsewhere!
If you want the real stuff on UFO's, this is it. there is a section on where some pilots fired on
the ufo's, you to see what happened!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling book!, Sept. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would have to say that I am a skeptic when it comes to the subject matter of UFO and "aliens". I had little faith that this book would present the topic in a logical and well researched manner. However, Leslie Kean delivers in an impressive fashion. The evidence and testimony she cites is compelling. It is clear she did not want to muddy the waters by including material that could be easily refuted or explained away, and the book is impressive in its presentation and conclusions. It is easy to argue philosophy or opinions but when it comes to credible testimony and empirical facts (all smothered in logic), i have to say she has given me many reasons to rethink my position. I will not say to the "skeptic" that this read will suddenly result in a paradigm shift for you but it will certainly make you think a bit before discussing the topic. it has certainly made me less dismissive of the subject. To the rabid UFO/alien hunters, I believe the book will give them some feeling of redemption and I fear will be quoted to further the causes of those who see UFO everywhere. But the book itself is neutral in presentation and logical in conclusion. If you are looking for a book that is filled with accounts of grey aliens, abductions, and tales from sci-if mags you will probably find the read a tad boring. For anyone curious and skeptical about this topic i would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, May 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
very good book and lot of questions when you read something like that is it true or false. You don't know what to believe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Objectivite Examinations and Testimony, Aug. 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What I enjoyed about this book was tht its consists of Testimony and physical evidence relating to the phenomenon as opposed to the typical misinformation and wild specualtion. Very Objective and insightful book for those interested or skeptical about the subject. Great book Leslie Kean !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Latest UFO testimonies, Feb. 5 2012
This review is from: UFOs: Generals, Pilots and Government Officials Go On the Record (Hardcover)
I found this book an interesting addition to the literature of modern day UFO sitings. What is of particular interest is the first person testimonies of high profile witnesses who were contributers to the book. It is a good addition to what is already out there such as the publications of Steven Greer and Marc Jacobs and others. However, it only covers sightings and only briefly, in some of the chapters gets into the physical evidence which is found in other sources. The proposal of a US agency to take up where Project Blue Book left off seems reasonable, but only if the upper echelons in the super secret black projects are ready to open up about what they know. The polititians have already tried and failed. I suggest that any one who is interested in this topic also look into The Disclosure Project for a lot more information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting I like the book very, Nov. 16 2014
Hi, very interesting I like the book very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, Eye-Opening and Coldly Logical, Sept. 1 2011
By 
G. Poirier (Orleans, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I am not well-read in the UFO literature department. In fact, I've been more of a distant fence sitter on the subject - somewhere in between those who claim to see UFOs everywhere and those who would never acknowledge their existence even if one bumped into them. After reading this book, I find myself in agreement with the author that 1) UFOs are a real phenomenon, 2) we have no idea what they are or where they come from, and 3) they should be taken seriously by our governments and carefully studied within the limits of what is possible.

The book contains 28 chapters, 15 of which (about half the book) have been written by various high-ranking officials from different countries, most of whom have had major UFO encounters. The result is prose that is very even-tempered, logical, composed and, when describing UFO encounters, very detailed.

Something that particularly stands out in this book is the different approaches on the UFO issue taken by different governments in countries where major UFO incidents have been reported. It seems that European countries and South American ones are more accepting of the existence of the UFO phenomenon, whereas in North America, particularly the USA, UFOs are the subject of ridicule. The author provides a wealth of fascinating information on the history of how this unfortunate situation came about.

Despite the many contributors to this book, the writing styles are all very similar: very clear, often lively and always quite captivating. I found the book to be very hard to put down and believe that it can be enjoyed by everyone - from hard-nosed sceptics to true believers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Aug. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

UFOs: Generals, Pilots and Government Officials Go On the Record
Used & New from: CDN$ 24.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews