Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Discusses the power of the analog mind!
This book discusses the type of consciousness that makes us experience a sense of "we" rather than "you" and "me". It is the part that some scholars call the analog mind. It connects the consciousness of people through consciousness rather than any physical medium. We have all experienced things like this before but can not logically explain...
Published on Dec 3 2003

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Dogs Who Don't Know When They're Owners Come Home
I recently saw the 20/20 episode concerning this book. While doctors agree that animals have some senses about their owners, a test they aired proved that most dogs do not know when they're owners are coming home. The episode showed one camera on a pet, and the other camera with the pet's owners. This particular dog waited by the window for hours, so , of course,...
Published on Sept. 28 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Discusses the power of the analog mind!, Dec 3 2003
By A Customer
This book discusses the type of consciousness that makes us experience a sense of "we" rather than "you" and "me". It is the part that some scholars call the analog mind. It connects the consciousness of people through consciousness rather than any physical medium. We have all experienced things like this before but can not logically explain this because logic involves a separate part of the mind that is completely the opposite of this type of functioning, the digital mind. For an understanding of the basics of these two functions of the mind, read "The Ever-Transcending Spirit" by Toru Sato. For an understanding of the this seemingly psychic phenomena, read this book! Although this book hardly gives us all of the answers, it is at least asking some very interesting questions. If you are not ready to digest this type of material, wait a few years, if takes time to let go of our defensiveness. It takes time to open up to ideas that radically change our view of the world. Hopefully there will come a time when at least we will ponder this as a possibility. If you are ready to entertain such seemingly radical ideas, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, Oct. 14 2003
By 
Alan Wilder (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
I am quite desolate when I read apriori comments about the book (although, only a few seem to be this time). Nevertheless, 'I know this cannot be,' or 'most doctors wouldn't agree,' etc. etc. apriori arguing always irks me. Read the book before speculating what it might say.
The numbers are there and this is what I was looking for. Rupert Sheldrake is the classic, dry, British author, arguing something very exciting and not at all dry. Nevertheless, he is able to explain himself well. However, quantative analysis are really where the argument either stands up or falls apart. Thankfully, the argument is well supported; while some may lament the sample size, which was not awful but not great either, it is important to note that getting funds for this kind of work is harder than theoretical mathematics, so Sheldrake cannot really be blamed.
Sheldrake's work is just another layer on the ESP debate; I am fairly convinced ESP exists--most striking experminets are probably the RNG experiments (because they are the easiest conduct properly, scientifcally, and without bias). However, Sheldrake's work is every bit as important as it begs the question where conscioussness resides. The numbers in this book certainly seem to suggest that the answer may not be as simple as previously imagined.
One should probably read the Consciouss Universe by Dean Radin beforehand, which established more general research questions and designes.
Finally, Sheldrake has a website, in which he addresses not only this research, but also research not yet published in his books. Furthermore, he has a full section dedicated to 'controversies' his work has caused. Well worth a read for the open mind. The website is: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Convinced, Aug. 11 2002
By 
F. C. Boyd "Carson" (Tempe, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First let me say, parts of the book are rather dry. Perhaps that's the scientist doing his best to provide adequate proof. I found myself wanting to say, come on already... I accept your arguent, give me some more stories.
With that said, I did enjoy the book and find Sheldrake's proof more than adequate. Many animals are sensitive in ways we don't understand.
There was a story, from the book, of someone who was going to commit suicide by overdose. When they went to open the bottle, their springer spaniel jumped in their lap, bearing it's teeth and growling fiercly. The person was so shaken that they put the pills away, at which point, the springer jumped back in the lap and happily lapped at their owners face.
I knew of a young girl who was walking home, down a deserted street, when a sedan approached with a man demanding that she get in the car. She began to walk faster... the car sped up... the demands became angrier... The car stopped, and a man got out and came towards her... She said the only preyer she could think of at the time. "God, please help me." Suddenly two dogs appeared and began barking at the man. Shaken, but not disuaded, he reached for the girl, and a beagle juped up and bit his wrist. That was enough, the man got back into the car and it sped off.
It has been over 6 years since that incident and the girl still goes to the farmhouse near where this happened to visit Molly and Dolly.
By the way, that was not their names when all of this happened... You see, no one had ever seen these two dogs before... before that fateful night when a young girls prayer was answered... by two dogs who appeared from nowhere.
This story was related by Paul Harvey on his program *The Rest of the Story* December 8, 1999
Have you ever found yourself staring at someone and they turn and look directly at you. How do they do that? How do pigeons find their way home from hundreds of miles away? How do some dogs react when their owner merely has the thought of coming home?
Good questions.
This book doesn't provide all the answers, but it establishes the reality which is a significant step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars STIMULATING AND JUST SHOCKING ENOUGH, Jan. 19 2002
By 
MOVIE MAVEN (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Alot of "Dogs That Know When Their Owners Are Coming Home" reads as if the author did not speak and write English as a first language. Alot of this book reads like a medical journal. That being said, alot of this book will astound and delight anyone who has even a slight fondness for animals...not just dogs, mind you, but all animals.
Most of the stories in the book are about dogs, but as a cat owner and lover, I was pleased to find enough anecdotes about felines who knew the exact time when their owners were going to come home, who knew the person on the other end of a telephone and who knew that their owners were in some kind of grave physical or emotional trouble. There are pets in this book who, we are told, knew that a human diabetic or epileptic fit was on the horizon and we even read of pets who could sniff out cancerous lesions. There are tales of horses, fish, termites, monkeys and more with telepathic powers.
Pet owners from all over the world were obviously eager to relate their stories to Rupert Sheldrake, even those whose stories are terribly sad in the extreme: animals who, through their own mysterious telepathy, knew of the deaths of people close to them or even of the owners, themselves, who knew, from very far distances, that their pets were in harm's way.
True, some of the stories are weird enough to have been written by the folks living on Planet Xerbo, but enough are them are stimulating and just shocking enough to make believers of us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Informative, Nov. 22 2000
Sheldrake has spent a lifetime studying animals but looks outside the box of conventional wisdom in this engaging book about family pets. He suggests that the animals we know best, the cats and dogs who live in our homes, can teach us the most. He looks closely at several categories of oft-reported -but sometimes disregarded- types of animal behavior: predicting when their owners will return home, empathy, telepathy, sense of direction, and premonitions. Using replicable and rigorous experimental methods he demonstrates that something indeed is going on here, something they can not be easily described by conventional explanations. Sheldrake posits psychic connections that he calls "morphic bonds" exist among some creatures, including bees in a hive and schools of fish, and may well exist between some animals and the humans closest to them. Sheldrake clearly explains that such bonds do not occur among all pets or even among the same pets in all situations, but they definitely do seem to exist.
This is a fun book for animal-lovers, full of engaging anecdotes about dogs, cats, horses, and birds who enjoy strong emotional bonds with their owners that allow them to accomplish seemingly-unbelievable feats. But it is also an eye-opening book, for Sheldrake has applied some scientific techniques to both debunk fraudulent claims and to confirm those that have no conventional explanation. His "morphic bonds" are persuasive, especially to those who have lived closely with animals and observed their behavior in close quarters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'm Convinced, Dec 9 1999
First let me say, parts of the book are rather dry. Perhaps that's the scientist doing his best to provide adequate proof. I found myself wanting to say, come on already... I accept your arguent, give me some more stories.
With that said, I did enjoy the book and find Sheldrake's proof more than adequate. Many animals are sensitive in ways we don't understand.
There was a story, from the book, of someone who was going to commit suicide by overdose. When they went to open the bottle, their springer spaniel jumped in their lap, bearing it's teeth and growling fiercly. The person was so shaken that they put the pills away, at which point, the springer jumped back in the lap and happily lapped at their owners face.
I knew of a young girl who was walking home, down a deserted street, when a sedan approached with a man demanding that she get in the car. She began to walk faster... the car sped up... the demands became angrier... The car stopped, and a man got out and came towards her... She said the only preyer she could think of at the time. "God, please help me." Suddenly two dogs appeared and began barking at the man. Shaken, but not disuaded, he reached for the girl, and a beagle juped up and bit his wrist. That was enough, the man got back into the car and it sped off.
It has been over 6 years since that incident and the girl still goes to the farmhouse near where this happened to visit Molly and Dolly.
By the way, that was not their names when all of this happened... You see, no one had ever seen these two dogs before... before that fateful night when a young girls prayer was answered... by two dogs who appeared from nowhere.
This story was related by Paul Harvey on his program *The Rest of the Story* December 8, 1999
Have you ever found yourself staring at someone and they turn and look directly at you. How do they do that? How do pigeons find their way home from hundreds of miles away? How do some dogs react when their owner merely has the thought of coming home?
Good questions.
This book doesn't provide all the answers, but it establishes the reality which is a significant step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alabama reader: you should read the book before reviewing it, Oct. 3 1999
By A Customer
I've found the book a very convincing and well-researched description of this phenomenon. I saw the 20/20 episode about this book and it seemed very clear that the dog was reacting to the owner's intention to return, though it wasn't obvious if that was an unusual occurrence. If you read the book, it is clear that the dog is not just sitting by the window the whole time. The percentage of time that the dog spent by the window was measured for each 10-minute interval in the entire time the owner was gone. The dog spent an insignificant amount of time at the window before the owner decided to return home, and a significantly larger amount of time afterward, far more than could be expected by random chance. The data was collected from the videotapes by someone who was unfamiliar with the details of the expirement and thus wouldn't be likely to expect a particular result. I will agree that "most" dogs do not know when they are coming home, but the fact that some do is very surprising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On the Provability of Unexplained Animal Powers, Sept. 20 1999
By A Customer
This book is a must for all of you who have "always marveled at your pet's unexplained powers, but have never dared inquired about them." Indeed, there was no one to consult. Institutional science dismisses these many instances as chancy, or explains them away in a mechanistic fashion; and the only other explanations were thus far provided by folk legends and superstitions. Unfailingly picturesque, but more often than not whimsical. DOGS THAT KNOW WHEN THEIR OWNERS ARE COMING HOME, an elaboration of the author's groundbreaking SEVEN EXPERIMENTS THAT COULD CHANGE THE WORLD, addresses just such questions, after years of painstaking research and the accumulation of convincing evidence.
This is far and away Dr. Sheldrake's most accessible book to date, which is not to say it is a vulgarization. Far from it. In his characteristically sober yet charming prose, he has miraculously dodged the danger of compiling a list, but has rather presented the world with an anthology of mind-expanding instances of powers of animals. Some ideas are particularly compelling, such as "an animal-based earthquake warning system". Once more, he deals a blow to institutional science by beating it on its own turf, and that is, by piling up impressive evidence, a database, etc., so as to substantiate his claims. In all likelihood, many more "cases" will be added to his database after the general public has read this book. Perhaps tens of thousands. If institutional science will continue to ignore these phenomena, rather than join the author in the research, it will have de facto discredited itself in the eyes of the world. The Appendices are also valuable, C in particular, in which the author provides the Cliff's Notes to his own books. The concepts he summarizes are so fascinating that they should prompt the unfamiliar reader to read all his books, where the ideas are given the space they deserve.
Dr. Sheldrake's overall aim to resacralize the world is well-served by this book. Most pet owners have always felt there was something "more" or "other" to their pets than mere companions. This book will confirm their hunch, and prompt further investigations. Indeed, as the author says, "We have a great deal to learn from our companion animals."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVED THIS BOOK, July 12 2000
By 
Theresa Welsh "The Seeker" (Ferndale, Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a delightful, readable book that combines a love for animals with real research into psychic connections between humans and animals. Pet owners have always felt this connection, but Rupert Sheldrake provides a conceptual framework along with solid evidence for an actual bond. When my daughter was younger, the cat we had then used to wait by the front window for my daughter. We all noticed this behavior and thought the cat just had good timing, but the stories in this book tell me this is a common happening and represents some kind of communication mechanism. I hope Dr. Sheldrake's research can continue to provide insight into this behavior. I have read of such behavior in people as well -- check into a book called Faces in the Smoke by Douchan Gersi. It's unfortunately out of print, but has stories about people in Haiti and in Africa who routinely sent each other psychic messages. There is so much more we need to know about this kind of communication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dogs That Know When Science is Changing..., Sept. 28 1999
By A Customer
Rarely do scientists break ranks to go out on their own. If they do, they are usually viewed as radicals ... not to be trusted. Rupert Sheldrake studied natural sciences at Cambridge and philosophy at Harvard. He took a Ph.D. in biochemistry at Cambridge University, was Director of Studies in biochemistry and cell biology and was also a Research Fellow of the Royal Society.
His latest book, Dogs That Know When Their Owners Are Coming Home, is the latest in a long list of ground-breaking books that follow in the tradition of those scientists that are brave enough to ask the really difficult questions. Sheldrake is a first-rate observer and a gifted scientist. After reading his latest book, I come away with a sense, not that science has just about figured it all out, but just the opposite: we have only just begun to understand what's going on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dogs That Know When Their Owners Are Coming Home
Dogs That Know When Their Owners Are Coming Home by Rupert Sheldrake (Paperback - April 26 2011)
CDN$ 17.00 CDN$ 12.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews