Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A delight for any geek - even if you know nothing about the 1980s!
This book is a new favourite. I was born after the 80s so I don't know all that much about the decade's culture or technology. Despite that, this story is an absolute delight. I love video games and this is basically any gamer's fantasy put to paper. There's action, adventure, tension, comedy, romance, friendship, and so much more. It deals with current themes, like...
Published 1 month ago by suziegon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gushing fountain of 80s nerd trivia
This book is essentially an homage to 1980s nerdism. As someone quite familiar with that, and who enjoyed some of that, I can relate to virtually all the insider jokes and nods that this book makes. And it makes a LOT of them. The premise is a future virtual reality online contest set up by a deceased Bill Gates-type character who leaves his entire fortune to the first...
Published 21 days ago by A. Volk


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Gushing fountain of 80s nerd trivia, Nov. 6 2014
By 
A. Volk (Canada) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (#1 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Ready Player One (Kindle Edition)
This book is essentially an homage to 1980s nerdism. As someone quite familiar with that, and who enjoyed some of that, I can relate to virtually all the insider jokes and nods that this book makes. And it makes a LOT of them. The premise is a future virtual reality online contest set up by a deceased Bill Gates-type character who leaves his entire fortune to the first person who can solve his online series of puzzles. The puzzles are all based on his childhood/teenage passions from the 1980s. Music, movies, software, and games all feature prominently in the puzzles and in this story. The contestants in the game are of course too young to have grown up with those elements, but they have studied them in great depth to become gunters- seekers of the hidden puzzles (i.e., Easter Eggs).

The hero, Wade Watts, is your typical Cinderella character. Poor, no parents, mean caregiver. Not much to see here. His band of friends are a motley crue, but generally likeable. Their opponents are (wait for it...) members of a big, bad, evil corporation. All in all, they are pretty cliche. Which could make for a weak novel, but this book is all about throwbacks and cliches. So it's perhaps not as bad as it could otherwise be.

The plot and the puzzles are largely entertaining, but after a while, the sheer geekness of it becomes wearisome. I appreciate almost all of the elements that are presented in the story, but it starts to seem more of a book about what the author thinks was cool from the 80s than an actual story using the 80s to present itself.

Overall then, this is what The Matrix would be like if the key to "winning" it was being a super-nerd (vs. messiah ninja). The visuals are entertaining and I have to admit that the plot is actually reasonably interesting at times. Still, the superficial characters, predictable villains, and the never-ending flood of nerd trivia conspired to detract from the impact of the book. If you're looking for a superficial, fun throwback to the Nerd 80s, then this is probably a four to five star book. I was hoping for a little more depth and substance, and my ultimate test, would I buy a sequel, has me answering "m'eh". Which means that, for me, this was a 3-star book. If I really want to get nostalgic about 80s material, I'd rather go directly to the source than read about all of it crammed into one book. As I said in the title, this book really is a gushing fountain of 80s nerd trivia. How much you like it depends on how much of that trivia you can stand to take at one time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delight for any geek - even if you know nothing about the 1980s!, Oct. 18 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Ready Player One: A Novel (Paperback)
This book is a new favourite. I was born after the 80s so I don't know all that much about the decade's culture or technology. Despite that, this story is an absolute delight. I love video games and this is basically any gamer's fantasy put to paper. There's action, adventure, tension, comedy, romance, friendship, and so much more. It deals with current themes, like meeting and getting to know people on the internet; corporate greed for power; the choice between an ideal life in a virtual world or an imperfect one in the real world; sexual identity, gender perception, and how people respond to it... The list goes on. "Ready Player One" deals with all of these things in a way that's very real and mature, simultaneously taking you on an unforgettable adventure that tickles the kid in you. If you like a wholesome adventure, this is for you. If you like adventures AND you like video games, this is even more for you. And if you're just a big geek, then knock yourself out. Really, I'd say this is a book for anyone to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Read, missing something, Aug. 11 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Ready Player One (Kindle Edition)
A great premise, 80s nostalgia, and intriguing twists carry the story well. I did not enjoy the story telling, which fell short in being able to be captive or enthralling. Many sequences lacked enough build and details to be immersive, so the potential of an epic tale was never reached.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geekgasm, Nov. 23 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Ready Player One (Kindle Edition)
This book is pure, unadulterated fun, from first word to final credits. Enough 80's kitch to make any fanboy (or girl) randy. Mr. Cline has you in his sights, from the very first page. He's meticulous and stealthy, every twist delights and every turn elicits an emotion. Part action adventure, part love connection, this is a tale with all of the fixings. A classic among post-apocalyptical classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nerd Pop Culture Galore!, Nov. 14 2014
By 
Wade A - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Ready Player One: A Novel (Paperback)
This book is an interesting read. It takes place primarily in OASIS, which is a virtual reality world where people do EVERYTHING. The books main plot revolves around a quest for the game creator's legacy prize. A great book of pop-culture references and 80's nerd fandom and love. Great and very quick read for video game and pop culture fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down!, Aug. 22 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Ready Player One (Kindle Edition)
A beautiful mosaic of geek culture. Even without the nostalgia of 80s references, this book consumed me with its solid plot and very "real" characters.

The social commentary is very real as well, reminding us all not to forget to put down technology once in a while and enjoy the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 80's nostalgia with a fun and intriguing story, Oct. 27 2011
Ce commentaire est de: Ready Player One (Audio CD)
Where do I start? I should first mention that I spent a lot of time in the 80's playing many of the video games mentioned in the book, as well as watching the movies and music of that era. So perhaps for me the story was more interesting as it was more relevant. I can't say for sure. I loved it though. The idea of a future where we spend most of our time hooked into a virtual world seemed plausible, and the fact that the protagonist was an atheist was also nice as I could relate to that as well. I literally couldn't put the book down. I actually listened to it while at work, which I have never done with an audio book before. I just couldn't stop listening to it. Will Whedon did an awesome job of reading it. He added just enough flair where needed and his acting skills really seemed to add something to the characters in the story. It killed my productivity for a day, but man was it worth it. So many kewl details and interesting trivia. Even if you don't like the 80's, it may still appeal to you. There are large evil corporations, and amazing battles with manga characters. Really amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick and fun read, June 23 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Ready Player One (Kindle Edition)
The book is page turner, easy to read and suspenseful. I feel those who were serious gamers in the 80's would really appreciate it more as there are tons of references to old computer games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, June 16 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Ready Player One (Kindle Edition)
Ready Player One kept my attention from beginning to end. It is smart, witty, thought-provoking, with lots of nostalgia for those who lived through the 80s, while still being an interesting dystopia for a new generation of readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, June 6 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Ready Player One: A Novel (Paperback)
The perfect combination of classic videogame and pop culture nostalgia. References will make you laugh and bring you back to your youth. Highly reccommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ready Player One
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (Hardcover - Aug. 16 2011)
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 18.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews