biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones vd2016beauty Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Learn more Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars126
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$26.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on February 3, 2016
The beginning was slow and to technical for my liking however the back half of the book was a lot better!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2016
Fun read for any children of the 80's. Made me want to watch every show mentioned in the book. Great action with great humour.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2015
Pretty much the most delicious nostalgic experience I've had in a while. Very well crafted story with relatable characters a many strokes of brilliance it is a great time and a page turner from start to finish. Lots of fun and some of the concepts like the Oasis world that is the basis for most of the action in the book are literary devices that give way to really innovative writing. my only drawback to the book is its young blood quality but at the same time that's what makes it so much fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2015
Good sci fi
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2015
Really fun book. Tons of awesome 80's references, great pacing. Right after reading this, I read his follow up book (Armada) which was equally entertaining.

If you're a gamer, this is required reading.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
i liked it. not a "thinking book". but fun. lots of 80s refs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
Highly entertaining. The book is very well written, in the sense that it does exactly what it sets out to do without making the writing or the language a distraction for the reader. This in YA fiction, a typical coming of age story. But Ready Player One isn't as angst'y as many of the other popular YA novels.
I have two major criticisms of this book. The first is that there is too much description of 80's junk. I didn't mind it for the first 100 pages. I found that it helped me understand the extent to which the narrator was immersed in the culture and told me how extensively he had done his research (which is important to the overall story). But after we are 200-300 pages in to the book, and the characters and setting are well established, there is no need to continue to go in to the level of detail which the author does. I found myself regularly skipping ahead, jumping over large swaths of descriptive text, without having missed anything actually relevant to the story.
The second issue I have with this book is that it lacks depth. There is a very weak message, (which Cline tries to pull out of a hat in the last pages), but other than that the book is pretty much just plain entertainment. The author is using science fiction to tell a story, rather than using a story to explore the implications and moral quandaries that arise from science fiction ideas. I tend to prefer the latter type of novel, but if you are just looking to be entertained, and enjoy 80's and 90's nostalgia, then this is a great book for you.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2015
A well done and thoroughly obsessive look at our geek culture obsessions. Throw in a mysterious figure, corporate malfeasance, friendship and love and you get a story of the moment that feels timeless.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 14, 2014
This book is an interesting read. It takes place primarily in OASIS, which is a virtual reality world where people do EVERYTHING. The books main plot revolves around a quest for the game creator's legacy prize. A great book of pop-culture references and 80's nerd fandom and love. Great and very quick read for video game and pop culture fans!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
The book is page turner, easy to read and suspenseful. I feel those who were serious gamers in the 80's would really appreciate it more as there are tons of references to old computer games.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$14.69
$25.16