Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Guide
This guide is perfect for anyone who plays this type of game and likes to have something to reference when they get stuck. As other reviews here say this guide has everything that happens in the game: Main quest lines, side quests, weapons, armour, etc... My wife and I use this every time we play Skyrim. Excellent guide for an amazing game.
Published on March 5 2012 by FrozenBloFish

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad...
With 700 pages you wouldn't think anything was left out but there was. Nice to have as a collectable but only somewhat useful as there are online Wikki's that have info on absolutely everything.

Copy I received was already starting to split apart inside.
Published on Dec 13 2011 by KReid


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Nov. 17 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Prima Official Game Guide (Paperback)
I absolutely love this guide.It has everything that you want to know about the game and more.
The pictures are out of this world.

Good guide for all who need help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Nov. 18 2011
Guide is beautiful and well written. Looks amazing with my collector's edition of the game. The online map is also very useful. Luckily I preordered mine at Chapters and got it on the 15th. Pay no attention to the low ratings on this site. They're due to amazon's incompetence, not the actual guide (which is awesome).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Très bon, Jan. 28 2012
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Prima Official Game Guide (Paperback)
Ce livre m'aide beaucoup à jouer à Elder's Scroll V sur Play Station III. C'est un très bon jeu mais sans le livre je ne me serais pas rendu très loin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elder Scrolls V guide., Dec 20 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Prima Official Game Guide (Paperback)
The Elder Scrolls V guide is one of if not the best guide I have seen. A great help when needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, Dec 6 2011
this book is awesome, great cover on it, it included some nice bookmark tassets built into the spine which come in very handy, and it is an overall well written guide I would definately give it 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, Dec 5 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Prima Official Game Guide (Paperback)
This is a must have for Skyrim enthusiasts, even if you don't want help with walkthroughs, this book has so much detail about every in game item and skills etc....beautiful 650 page color book, and the pages are of excellent quality. The map included is just another bonus with over 900 locations etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the cash, Dec 4 2011
This guide is well worth the money for anyone who is very into Skyrim and wants to master it. It details everything, from starting character builds to the locations of every quest, item and dragon. The online map is intuitive and a great help, and the book itself is very concise and well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Remarkably Unhelpful, Jan. 24 2012
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Prima Official Game Guide (Paperback)
I found the guidebooks to Morrowind and Oblivion almost essentially good guides, and so I pre-ordered this one expecting the same. The Skyrim game is terrific - but you'd never guess so from this book. The text not only lacks the wit of the previous guides, it lacks the information & organization that defined them. This "guide" chooses to define the (enormous) world by it's own imposed "codes" - which may be some idiot-savant notion of logic - but are only a hindrance to rational people.

This is a 650-pp book, and it begins arguably well starting the game - but beyond the first charcter-setting pages, the rest is a mess of seeming to hide anything useful. The online wiki[s] for this game are far more useful, so you should NOT spend money on this. It does have a big map at the back, which labels many points - but unless you want to pay $20 for a map, the book is of little value.

Even the map is confusing, because it depends upon the authors'-own co-ordinates - which are needlessly near as hard to decipher as speaking dragon. The index is both imperfect and incomplete; and while you CAN sort out solutions to problems by following the book, that will demand referring to other pages, before or later - and leave you spending as much time flipping through the book as if you just tried stuff, saving in-game.

This book - and sadly, the map - read like having your home-town mapped in the cyrillic alphabet - which makes them as hard or more than the game itself to decipher. If you want an extra challenge, by all means buy this book - but if you want something useful in playing the game, save yourself the 20 bucks.

I give it one star, because if you're totally stuck, and it's all you have, enough cross-referencing and flipping through the 650 pages will sort you out... but it's work to get there. I don't know WHY these authors chose to copy the previous plan at first - then abandon it so completely at the point of actual game-play - but it's a poorly indexed mess of a tome in all.

Given the game HAS to be played via Steam (on PC), you're online already - and the wikis are vastly more informative, more specific, and more helpful. This "guidebook" seems created solely to make the game seem more complex - which begs the question of it existing.

I recommend you do not buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide, Nov. 18 2011
This review is from: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Prima Official Game Guide (Paperback)
People, you are here to review the PRODUCT, not Amazon's service!

Anyway, This is a great buy! Not only a super comprehensive guide, it's also an awesome looking book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, Nov. 15 2011
AMAZING! I will treasure this guide forever! I understand the people who are disappointed because they didn't get theirs. I would be pissed too. But please do not rate this guide with such low star rating because of such reason.

This guide is an absolute help! It has almost everything you need to effectively play skyrim! It can answer many of your questions.

It's hard bound! The cover is beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Prima Official Game Guide
Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Prima Official Game Guide by David Hodgson (Paperback - Nov. 11 2011)
Used & New from: CDN$ 13.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews