Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars40
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
"Better is a little with righteousness,
Than vast revenues without justice." -- Proverbs 16:8 (NKJV)

The book's title is probably what attracted you. That was true for me, as well. While it's possible to start a business for $100 (I started my first one for $12), the bulk of those studied by Chris Guillebeau spent between $100 and $600. The point is to start small, experiment, and stick to low-cost methods. You will probably be surprised by how little the book actually has to say about how to keep investment costs down in other ways. That's because the book is mostly focused on personal services, professional services, and selling information products. These kinds of businesses are more marketing than investment intensive.

Because of his love for travel, the book is also filled with the notion of using the freedom that a business can bring to move around and enjoy a better lifestyle. That, too, is true of entrepreneurship kept in perspective.

The book's great strength is in lots of information about low-cost ways to acquire and make more profits from customers. It's one of the best small business marketing books I've read. I intend to recommend it to my adult education classes.

The book is also helpful in providing a lot of success stories. If you are looking for ways to copy those success stories, you won't find the details here. You'll have to track down the entrepreneurs and ask them your questions directly.

Although the book displays a strong counter-culture flavor, the advice is pretty much traditional business 101, except scaled for a start-up person with limited business experience.

If your weakness in starting a business is marketing, you will find this book valuable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on August 14, 2013
I really expected more from this book. Even though it does have good ideas, it does not have any real guides, how to's and such. It should have been called "a collection of success stories", because thats what it is. A collection of stories where people woke up and had their paypal account filling with orders, where without any marketing and networks apps launch and get thousands of downloads out of nowhere, where someone publishes an ebook and customers are pouring in. Are you kidding me? Try launching an ebook without networks and marketing by just uploading it on Internet. This book keeps on saying people just woke up rich, without saying how actually he went about it and what were exact steps taken to comeup with idea, research, market and so on. Not satisfied with this book at all.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 4, 2013
Perhaps I have read one too many motivational books cause this one fell flat. Very little substance to motivate and carry me on to further areas, leads, web links. He seems just to scratch the surface on topics. Much of it is common knowledge. (sense) I couldn't even finish it. I was looking for feel good success stories with insight but found little of it that could motivate me. Maybe adequate for someone just starting to consider running their own biz.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on December 8, 2012
When reviews are tightly clustered in time, make minimal mention of a book's content, with at least one full of absolute drivel (according to its author), one has to ask if they are genuine.

Read the sample chapters and ignore all the reviews.

I was thinking of buying this: then I became suspicious of the reviews.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 14, 2012
For people longing for change that also have something meaningful to offer customers (and improve the world), this book will motivate you to do something about it finally. Lots of testimonials from real people who've done it and are living happier (although not necessarily easier) lives. More importantly, great 'how to' and 'what not to' info, generously shared by the author in what struck me as a really authentic effort to help others be succesful and happy. And who doesn't want that? If you have an idea, and the prospect of many many years spents spent trudging into a cubicle until you retire and then die leaves you wishing for something more, read this book. Then do something.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 18, 2012
If you're looking for tips on how to start your own business in today's Internet economy, this book is for you. Chris gives advice you can use; my copy of The $100 Start Up is riddled with post-it notes, and I've already re-read several chapters. Rather than just talk about the great parts about a life outside of the 9-5, Chris also tells you how to get that life for yourself, and gives examples. I can't recommend this book highly enough!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 15, 2012
In challenging economic times, this book should be a game changer.

Chris has provided specific examples and steps to help ANYONE start a small business that can generate recurring revenue at any scale...depending on how much work you want to put into it.

So stop whining - get the book - READ IT - IMPLEMENT IT - and set about designing your own employment reality!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2014
So this is actually the first review I have provided on amazon.

This book is not a how to guide but gives you advice and to think differently. There is no how to, why? Well no two business are the same, even if they are in the same market. It gets your mind thinking, and away from seemingly hard lined business steps. If your looking for motivation then I have some hard news for you self employment is not for you. I have been self employed for years now and this book helped me to rethink how I am doing business and implementing the ideas to my own situations have been a big help. I have known people who are exactly like those in this book. Started a amazing and booming business even before they had any tools or materials, Their cost input was $0 and just a little time. While reading this book I kept thinking this is how They did it. Its not a guarantee to a successful business, but gives you a new and different view point, that is sure to help new and old business find their way in the modern highly connected world.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2012
IT'S A REALLY REALLY REALLY GOOD BOOK! The premise is solid, the conversational tone is refreshing, and most importantly there are REAL stories of REAL entrepreneurs starting REAL businesses which are making REAL money! So many people want to stick it to the man but so few people know where to look for help. Chris is inspiring, and most importantly, helpful (as in the nuts-n-bolts kinda stuff). Don't believe me? Check out his free resource lineup on The $100 Startup site ' he's got some downloadable PDFs that are just the thing busy, stressed or stalled entrepreneurs need in order to take action.

Whether you are starting something on the side, hitting the reset button on your current venture, or striking out into the great abyss of self-employment you'll love reading The $100 Startup. It's about regular people doing remarkable things with their energy, passion, and a few bucks to boot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2012
Whether or not you wish to be self-employed, this book is a great read for broadening your horizons and considering all of your options for making a living and doing meaningful work. Often we're in boring jobs and on a meaningless career path only because we don't realize that there are other possibilities and we can't imagine how things could be different. This book will give you exposure to stories about people who've found unconventional ways to make a living and enjoy their work incredible valuable. Every high school student should read it! And every parent of every high school student should read it too so that they can understand all of the possibilities that are available to their young adult children.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Rework by Jason Fried (Hardcover - March 9 2010)
CDN$ 20.21