Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dishonesty, dishonesty...
Notice all the five stars this book is getting? And there are a few one-star ratings, which all talk about how dishonest he is for getting all his data from the same side of the question.
Even though it's true that he strictly interviews people who believe in intelligent design, he has done a lot of research, and he throws a lot of question at them, playing...
Published on June 6 2005 by Richard Poulin

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How about both sides?
Why is it that Strobel never interviews people who could articulate a well reasoned position which is contrary to the one he is trying to arrive at?
Published on April 24 2004


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dishonesty, dishonesty..., June 6 2005
By 
Richard Poulin (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Paperback)
Notice all the five stars this book is getting? And there are a few one-star ratings, which all talk about how dishonest he is for getting all his data from the same side of the question.
Even though it's true that he strictly interviews people who believe in intelligent design, he has done a lot of research, and he throws a lot of question at them, playing "devil's advocate", if you will. And we already know most of the stuff from the naturalist side, since it's been the prevailing voice of science for so long!
But my main problem with those who gave him a one-star rating is that they never take the arguments head-on, to counter-argue. They attack the integrity of the author. But if his integrity was so lousy, his arguments would be easy to dismiss, with evidence from the other side.
My guess is that it's hard to oppose such a solid case. A very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read and summary for scientific evidence for Creator, April 25 2004
By 
Ryan Huxley (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
Is the case for evolution clearly a shut case? Are all the basic aspects of evolutionary theory known to be correct? Can the entire universe be explained simply in terms of matter and energy? Do science and religion conflict? Do people who believe in a Creator suffer from an inability to rationally comprehend the brute facts of the world around them? If you've ever pondered these questions, then this book is for you. If you are looking for a summary book with highlights of intelligent design, along with several key evidential problems with evolutionary theory, this is it. In a wonderfully engaging style, Lee Strobel takes you through his investigation for the scientific evidence for a Creator. But do not feel like you need to be scientifically sophisticated to follow the extremely informative interviews with leading academics - the down-to-earth and always practical approach exemplified in Strobel's first two books (The Case for Christ and The Case for Faith) is refined further in this work. Tough, contemporary questions, the hallmark of Strobel's investigative approach, are ever present and address conundrums from eminent skeptics.
The framework for this book follows a logical and well-thought-out progression. Strobel poses the questions hard skeptics ask on such broad topics as: evolution, faith and science, the Big Bang, fine-tuning of the universe, Earth's privileged place in the cosmos, biochemical complexity, the origin of life, DNA and, finally, the mind. He interviews many of the top minds in each of these topics, including many prominent ID personalities, such as Michael Behe, Jonathan Wells, Stephen Meyer, Jay Richards, Guillermo Gonzalez, and J. P. Moreland. The material in his interviews often covers very recent work, such as Richards' and Gonzalez's Privileged Planet, which came out approximately the same time as The Case for a Creator.
Strobel gets at the heart of the scientific issues for the various topics, even such esoteric concepts as superstring theory and Stephen Hawking's supposedly "non-singularity" universe. Though reading those words may cause your eyes to cross, the book provides easy to follow examples, analogies, and explanations to drive home the basic ideas. For example, when considering Hawking's "non-singularity" universe (that is, a universe without a beginning) interviewee William Lane Craig, Ph.D., shows how Hawking attempts to deny a beginning point for the universe. However, to do so, Hawking has to employ an imaginary number (i.e. the square root of negative one), which appears to mathematically address the issue, but cannot be valid for the real world - in reality, the beginning has just been masked behind a mathematical model. Craig exposes Hawking's mathematical slight of hand for what it is.
Reflections, anecdotes and big picture summaries are interspersed throughout the book along with the engaging interviews. One noteworthy story is from Strobel's own life, where he recalls his early days as a reporter at the Chicago Tribune. He was a self-proclaimed atheist at the time and was assigned to cover a local dispute over the teaching of evolution in West Virginia. Various Christians opposed the teaching of evolution, and at the time, Strobel wondered, "Why couldn't these people get their heads out of the sand and admit the obvious: science had put their God out of a job!" 30 years later, Strobel gives a compelling account of how the scientific evidence does not support the naturalist worldview, and points out that ironically, "My road to atheism was paved by science ... but, ironically, so was my later journey to God."
Similar to Strobel's past works, this book is very well referenced and provides great information for further reading after each chapter. In fact, there's even a website specifically aimed at helping people to learn more about and promote intelligent design: [...] The website includes highlights from the book and an entertaining audio program online, complete with sound effects to help visualize Strobel's personal recollections of events past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., Feb. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Paperback)
A great book for those who still have questions. I highly recommend it. It will be a book I will pick up often to go over certain subjects again. I love it! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind boggling!, Nov. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Paperback)
Written so that even a non scientific person like me can understand. Gave me an even greater appreciation of our Creator and and His awesome creation than I already had! Reading through it for a second time...so much to absorb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes the Case as claimed - Destroys Macro Evolution, Nov. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Makes the Case for a Creator in a readable fashion and Destroy's the baloney we have been fed for years. The Emporer (Macro Evolution) really HAS no clothe. How an intelligent person can still believe in the Fairy Tale (or Farce) of Evolution is beyond me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid and convincing throughout., Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Paperback)
This is another convincing book by Lee Strobel which answers so many questions which may confront those with any doubts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Summaries of Arguments in Favor of a Creator by Believing Scientists, Aug. 2 2012
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Paperback)
"I am the LORD, your Holy One, The Creator of Israel, your King." -- Isaiah 43:15 (NKJV)

I was attracted to this book after feeling called to begin putting together a bibliography of books that would help someone who wanted to consider whether God exists from considering secular evidence. That calling was reinforced when a cousin shared with me that she had lost her faith while in college because she felt overwhelmed by the anti-God arguments her professors advanced.

Had I known about this book at the time, I would have recommended that she read it.

I have read some of the authors and books cited here, and I felt that Mr. Strobel did a credible job of using his interviews to encapsulate what they expressed. I suspect that the other authors and their materials are also reasonably well summarized, as well.

When you read the book, take careful note of the sources. In many cases, you'll want to dig into those on your own to gain a fuller understanding of the scientific evidence for a creator of the universe.

If you have read The Case for Christ or The Case for Faith, the format of this book will come as no surprise. Mr. Strobel relates his skeptical past as a journalist and how he came to seek answers to his faith questions in the same way that he performed his day job, finding knowledgeable people and interviewing them.

In this book, the arguments he asks the scientists and scientifically trained people about relate to factors that affected his faith while studying science when he was much younger. That perspective is both the book's strength and its weakness. The touchstone makes the book less abstract. It also makes it more elementary. As with his other books, there's no supervised debate here between pros and cons. So this book is really an advocate's case, drawn from believers who know something about science. As such, the book's value is higher for believers who want to know a little more about science rather than for those who have no faith.

Much of the content deals with Darwinism, neo-Darwinism, biology, biochemistry, astronomy, cosmology, and physics. If you already know a lot about these fields, you'll probably find the material here quite simple. But that's okay. Most people don't follow science very much.

Those who believe in a young Earth will probably be annoyed that Mr. Strobel agrees with the view of a very old Earth.

In terms of science raising fundamental questions about whether the world is created ... or just happened, the most persuasive evidence for me comes from considering the immense complexity of biological systems and the genetic coding that underlies much of that functioning. The probability that such complexity could have developed one random mutation at a time is too slight to be considered possible. That's not Darwin's fault. We didn't know how complex our bodies are until quite recently. I suspect we have many more complexities to learn.

Praise God for this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How about both sides?, April 24 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
Why is it that Strobel never interviews people who could articulate a well reasoned position which is contrary to the one he is trying to arrive at?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Deluge of Information, July 5 2004
By 
Jeffrey A. Thompson (Iowa City, IA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
The author presents a lot of evidence for the creator. He interviews many specialists and I enjoy the format of the presentation. I have a degree in physics earned many years ago so the astronomical and astrophysical evidence interested me the most. He also presents evidence in biology, genetics, and geology. The book's main focus is intelligent design, but the book presents other evidence as well. The evidence presented is hit and miss, but so much evidence is presented, I think there are some solid hits.
The material is not always easy, I am still mulling over the William Craig Lane chapter. He disagrees with the Hawkins's model for the start of the Big Bang. Lane's mix of Aristotelean philosophy and modern physics to me has always been uneasy mix.
His other books to me are more personal and perhaps a more useful apologetic, but this book is more fun to me. The amount of information he doles out in sundry branches of science gives me at least some tools to talk to my scientific minded friends.
I am knocking off a couple stars because some of the writing and some of the interviews seem clumsy. I would give it another 1/2 star if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars solid, and convincing evidence for The Creator, July 7 2005
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
This book is a really engaging, and informative work, which gives people multiple avenues of evidence to point them to the Creator.
Lee Strobel takes each line of evidence from cosmology, biochemistry, etc. and interviews different experts who give reasoned responses to some of the tough questions.
Some reviewers have objected that Strobel only interviews Christian apologists to make his case. To this I respond that Strobel's point is not to see whether naturalism/atheism has merit, he already passed that point in his life, and saw the convincing eveidence against that empty worldview. He is in fact making what his book says "THE CASE FOR A CREATOR", so obviously he is calling for witnesses to the evidence for that Creator God. Where is he going to get that evidence- from an Atheist? Of course not. And he DOES test his interviewees with hard questions, and skepticism. They manage to give good answers to the tough questions. In so doing, one is given ample good reason to consider the truth that God exists and is the Creator.
I particularly liked William Lane Craig's response to the idea that Quantum particles come into and out of nothing. He explains why this is a false view, and that these particles, if real, are actually caused by fluctuations in a a vast field of energy.
This is just one of many fine examples of atheist/agnostic type reasoning that Lee Strobel attempts to knock down.
I really reccomend this book if you want a something that is easy to read, but has some depth.
Happy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac61e438)

This product

Case For A Creator
Case For A Creator by Lee Strobel (Paperback - Feb. 24 2005)
CDN$ 19.49 CDN$ 15.59
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews