Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dishonesty, dishonesty...
Notice all the five stars this book is getting? And there are a few one-star ratings, which all talk about how dishonest he is for getting all his data from the same side of the question.
Even though it's true that he strictly interviews people who believe in intelligent design, he has done a lot of research, and he throws a lot of question at them, playing...
Published on June 6 2005 by Richard Poulin

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Deluge of Information
The author presents a lot of evidence for the creator. He interviews many specialists and I enjoy the format of the presentation. I have a degree in physics earned many years ago so the astronomical and astrophysical evidence interested me the most. He also presents evidence in biology, genetics, and geology. The book's main focus is intelligent design, but the book...
Published on July 5 2004 by Jeffrey A. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Deluge of Information, July 5 2004
By 
Jeffrey A. Thompson (Iowa City, IA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
The author presents a lot of evidence for the creator. He interviews many specialists and I enjoy the format of the presentation. I have a degree in physics earned many years ago so the astronomical and astrophysical evidence interested me the most. He also presents evidence in biology, genetics, and geology. The book's main focus is intelligent design, but the book presents other evidence as well. The evidence presented is hit and miss, but so much evidence is presented, I think there are some solid hits.
The material is not always easy, I am still mulling over the William Craig Lane chapter. He disagrees with the Hawkins's model for the start of the Big Bang. Lane's mix of Aristotelean philosophy and modern physics to me has always been uneasy mix.
His other books to me are more personal and perhaps a more useful apologetic, but this book is more fun to me. The amount of information he doles out in sundry branches of science gives me at least some tools to talk to my scientific minded friends.
I am knocking off a couple stars because some of the writing and some of the interviews seem clumsy. I would give it another 1/2 star if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dishonesty, dishonesty..., June 6 2005
By 
Richard Poulin (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Paperback)
Notice all the five stars this book is getting? And there are a few one-star ratings, which all talk about how dishonest he is for getting all his data from the same side of the question.
Even though it's true that he strictly interviews people who believe in intelligent design, he has done a lot of research, and he throws a lot of question at them, playing "devil's advocate", if you will. And we already know most of the stuff from the naturalist side, since it's been the prevailing voice of science for so long!
But my main problem with those who gave him a one-star rating is that they never take the arguments head-on, to counter-argue. They attack the integrity of the author. But if his integrity was so lousy, his arguments would be easy to dismiss, with evidence from the other side.
My guess is that it's hard to oppose such a solid case. A very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars solid, and convincing evidence for The Creator, July 7 2005
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
This book is a really engaging, and informative work, which gives people multiple avenues of evidence to point them to the Creator.
Lee Strobel takes each line of evidence from cosmology, biochemistry, etc. and interviews different experts who give reasoned responses to some of the tough questions.
Some reviewers have objected that Strobel only interviews Christian apologists to make his case. To this I respond that Strobel's point is not to see whether naturalism/atheism has merit, he already passed that point in his life, and saw the convincing eveidence against that empty worldview. He is in fact making what his book says "THE CASE FOR A CREATOR", so obviously he is calling for witnesses to the evidence for that Creator God. Where is he going to get that evidence- from an Atheist? Of course not. And he DOES test his interviewees with hard questions, and skepticism. They manage to give good answers to the tough questions. In so doing, one is given ample good reason to consider the truth that God exists and is the Creator.
I particularly liked William Lane Craig's response to the idea that Quantum particles come into and out of nothing. He explains why this is a false view, and that these particles, if real, are actually caused by fluctuations in a a vast field of energy.
This is just one of many fine examples of atheist/agnostic type reasoning that Lee Strobel attempts to knock down.
I really reccomend this book if you want a something that is easy to read, but has some depth.
Happy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fair and thorough, July 16 2004
By 
Damien Spillane (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
Lee has told a captivating and compelling case for the existence of a supernatural Creator. He interviews a topnotch list of experts on the issue of science and faith and poses the tough questions that we all ask from time to time.
Having said that i wonder why William Lane Craig was interviewed on the cosmological argument (big bang theory) and not astrophysicist Hugh Ross? Ross has been one of the pioneers for using the big bang to prove the existence of God and has written some ground breaking books on the topic such as The Creator and the Cosmos and The Fingerprint of God.
The book is superbly written, covering all the objections fairly and writing in a way that keeps the reader interested. He is sure to stay clear of the young/old earth controversy which i don't think is wise since it is a major stumbling block to non-believers. The 6-10,000 yr old universe/Earth proposed by groups like Institute for Creation Research and Answers in Genesis is so scientifically implausable that it is making a laughing stock of the Christian faith. This is the reason that many atheists/skeptics won't accept Christ since they think that Christianity must be false since it is pushing an absurd doctrine. The Christian should work hard to counter the misconception that to believe in the Biblical world view is to swallow the nonsense of a 10,000 yr old Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read and summary for scientific evidence for Creator, April 25 2004
By 
Ryan Huxley (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
Is the case for evolution clearly a shut case? Are all the basic aspects of evolutionary theory known to be correct? Can the entire universe be explained simply in terms of matter and energy? Do science and religion conflict? Do people who believe in a Creator suffer from an inability to rationally comprehend the brute facts of the world around them? If you've ever pondered these questions, then this book is for you. If you are looking for a summary book with highlights of intelligent design, along with several key evidential problems with evolutionary theory, this is it. In a wonderfully engaging style, Lee Strobel takes you through his investigation for the scientific evidence for a Creator. But do not feel like you need to be scientifically sophisticated to follow the extremely informative interviews with leading academics - the down-to-earth and always practical approach exemplified in Strobel's first two books (The Case for Christ and The Case for Faith) is refined further in this work. Tough, contemporary questions, the hallmark of Strobel's investigative approach, are ever present and address conundrums from eminent skeptics.
The framework for this book follows a logical and well-thought-out progression. Strobel poses the questions hard skeptics ask on such broad topics as: evolution, faith and science, the Big Bang, fine-tuning of the universe, Earth's privileged place in the cosmos, biochemical complexity, the origin of life, DNA and, finally, the mind. He interviews many of the top minds in each of these topics, including many prominent ID personalities, such as Michael Behe, Jonathan Wells, Stephen Meyer, Jay Richards, Guillermo Gonzalez, and J. P. Moreland. The material in his interviews often covers very recent work, such as Richards' and Gonzalez's Privileged Planet, which came out approximately the same time as The Case for a Creator.
Strobel gets at the heart of the scientific issues for the various topics, even such esoteric concepts as superstring theory and Stephen Hawking's supposedly "non-singularity" universe. Though reading those words may cause your eyes to cross, the book provides easy to follow examples, analogies, and explanations to drive home the basic ideas. For example, when considering Hawking's "non-singularity" universe (that is, a universe without a beginning) interviewee William Lane Craig, Ph.D., shows how Hawking attempts to deny a beginning point for the universe. However, to do so, Hawking has to employ an imaginary number (i.e. the square root of negative one), which appears to mathematically address the issue, but cannot be valid for the real world - in reality, the beginning has just been masked behind a mathematical model. Craig exposes Hawking's mathematical slight of hand for what it is.
Reflections, anecdotes and big picture summaries are interspersed throughout the book along with the engaging interviews. One noteworthy story is from Strobel's own life, where he recalls his early days as a reporter at the Chicago Tribune. He was a self-proclaimed atheist at the time and was assigned to cover a local dispute over the teaching of evolution in West Virginia. Various Christians opposed the teaching of evolution, and at the time, Strobel wondered, "Why couldn't these people get their heads out of the sand and admit the obvious: science had put their God out of a job!" 30 years later, Strobel gives a compelling account of how the scientific evidence does not support the naturalist worldview, and points out that ironically, "My road to atheism was paved by science ... but, ironically, so was my later journey to God."
Similar to Strobel's past works, this book is very well referenced and provides great information for further reading after each chapter. In fact, there's even a website specifically aimed at helping people to learn more about and promote intelligent design: [...] The website includes highlights from the book and an entertaining audio program online, complete with sound effects to help visualize Strobel's personal recollections of events past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a Novel, April 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
This book is one of the growing number of books on Intelligent Design. It is different from the rest in that it consists of a series of interviews with scientists. Lee Strobel, a graduate of Yale Law school and legal editor of the Chicago Tribune, applies his considerable writing skills to tackle one of the most explosive movements of the last decade. I especially liked the personal information about the scientists interviewed, including their motivations for accepting ID. The book reads like a novel, not a book about science, but is very informative even for those who teach science as I do. Strobel interviews those on both sides, and covers astronomy, biochemistry, and even theology. The book also covers some of the controversies surrounding ID. This is the first book on this topic one should read, but even veteran scientists can learn much from the book. This book is a must, especially for critics of ID. Teachers will find it an important resource when the topic comes up in class (which it most certainly will)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding overview of the scientific evidence for God, June 20 2004
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
This book is an introduction into the various areas of scientific study where a true search for truth includes not arbitrarily self limiting to a naturalistic or materialistic philosophy to explain the universe and life as we know it.
The book starts with Lee Strobel describing his own journey to atheism through his love for Darwinism and science, coupled with a journalistic obsession with always digging deeper. Despite the fact that this book had the potential to be dry and overly academic, it never is. From the opening personal background, to the depiction of his journalistic assignment to cover a debate on school textbooks in rural West Virginia, to the "conversational" tone to his presentation of scientific evidence from the experts, the book is always readable and engaging.
This is a well written overview to the fact that science and faith are not as mutually exclusive as we have been led to believe. In fact, much scientific evidence clearly points to a Creator. Whether it is big-bang cosmology, or the complexity of the bio-chemical process, design is everywhere. However, this is only part of the story. The book starts with first punching holes in most of the famous Darwin and Evolution "icons" which prompted Lee to abandon a belief in God to begin with.
That the famous "Haeckel" embryo drawings are faked and have been known as such for decades, has not kept them from being included in modern textbooks to show evidence for Darwin's theories. The amount of liberty that has been taken with weak arguments for macro-evolution points to a naturalistic philosophy, not scientific evidence, which is driving much of what passes for scientific study in the area of origins of life. See the book "Icons of Evolution" for a deeper look.
The chapter on "the Evidence of Consciousness" is in itself worth buying the book. J.P. Moreland and others discuss whether a computer will someday have "spiritual" experiences, and look into the scientific origins of philosophy made famous by Rene Decartes. The debate as to whether our consciousness is a result of mere physical brain activity which reaches a certain level, or is evidence of something beyond the physical, is a fascinating discussion.
I highly recommend this book. It is a wonderful introduction to scientific evidence from renowned scientists with impeccable credentials that align science with faith in a way that is both logically and rationally sound. While I agree that he could have interviewed a wider range of people, the theories and works from non-theists like Robert Gould, Richard Dawkins, and others are well presented. It is also a great place to start research on the subject, as there are dozens of works sited and noted from William Demski, Michael Behe, William Lane Craig, Stephen Hawking, and others. Start here, and then read deeper. The result will be the same as there truly is a scientific "case for a Creator".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cogent case for intelligent design, June 10 2004
By 
Seth Aaron Lowry (Olean, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
In this particular work, Christian apologist Lee Strobel attempts to point the reader towards the evidence that implies a Creator was responsible for creating the universe and life as we know it. First, let me quickly mention the one problem I had with this book. In the opening chapter Strobel states that he is on a mission to investigate the evidence for and against a cosmic creator, yet the entire book is filled with interviews from scientists and philosophers who are stalwart theists. To be fair, Strobel should have interviewed some naturalist proponents and maybe a few creation scientists as well. The only reason I can think of to explain Strobel's one sided approach is that he was attempting to argue as the skeptic he once was. As an adolescent and young adult Strobel was convinced of evolution and atheism on account of his science education and I believe he was attempting to play the role of the skeptic arguing as he was once taught. Although this may be unfair since he is now a theist, it still allows for both sides to express their views.
Of all the chapters I enjoyed the most, Jonathan Wells' chapter on the icons of evolution was the best. Wells' evidence is simply too strong to be ignored and illustrates how dishonest and shrewd the academic community is in dissemenating false evidence. From the Miller-Urey experiement to Haeckel's drawing of various embryos, Wells' marshals too much evidence to show that the scientific community is being dishonest when in the evidence it produces in favor of evolution. Another chapter of particular interest is William Lane Craig's arguments that cosmology and astronomy point to a Creator. Relying on the Kalam cosmological argument Craig convincingly argues that everything that began to exist has a cause and since the universe is not eternal but began at the big bang, then the universe must have a creator. Then, Craig proceeds to show why every rival to the big bang is inadequate or doesn't fit the observed evidence. Particularly interesting is his critique of Hawking's model in which Hawking substitutes imaginary numbers into his equation to end up with an eternal universe. The problem with this model is that it assumes there is such a thing as imaginary time which is somewhat contradictory. Furthermore, a majority of the scientific community rejects Hawking's imaginary time approach. Regardless of Hawking's stature within the scientific community, a model that relies on imaginary time and unobservable phenomena is not scientific. If it comes down to choosing between an eternal universe and an eternal God, I will choose an eternal God.
Other chapters include two interviews with Stephen Meyer who argues that the fine tuning of the universe implies a Creator and also that the information inherent in DNA also speaks of intelligent design. Once again, if I must choose between infinite universes that can't be proved or studied to account for life's existence or an infinite Creator, then I will choose to believe in an infinite Creator. Behe's chapter contains arguments against evolution based on irreducible complexity. Much of what is stated here can be found in Behe's book, Darwin's Black Box. Finally, J.P. Moreland argues in favor of dualism and offers several scientific and philosophical reasons for believing in the correctness of the dualist position. All in all, this book contains some of the most powerful and convincing arguments in favor of a Creator and against materialism and darwinism. Hopefully this will serve as a springboard to further validate Intelligent Design as an authentic scientific rival to the materialism of our times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid arguments against 'evolution of the gaps', May 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
I just finished this book. I would have to say on the whole that it is a strong case that the evolution/materialist school of thought is starting to crumble (or at least show cracks). This book serves as equal time for scientists from a multitude of disciplines to have a voice. Just this afternoon picked up a skeptic magazine with an article on intelligent design (ID). It implies that almost all ID proponents are theologians/philosophers and not scientists (not true) Michael Behee is the only real credible scientist to believe in intelligent design and publish (not true). Further it paints ID as simply say that 'things are too complex to happen randomly, so therefore there's a God' (not true). It's no wonder that ID gets so trashed since people are beginning from such a misinformed starting place.
What we learn from this book is that the quantity and quality of scientists that have concluded intelligent design is much larger and more fortified that this. There are stories of scientists who completely changed directions on evolution based upon recent scientific findings (including one who wrote a book on evolutionary beginning of life). Plus, ID goes much beyond complexity issues. It talks about what evidence shows us, or doesn't show us to support differing points of view.
So here are common criticisms of this book and books like it:
First, people complain that he 'doesn't interview people with opposing viewpoints'. This is quite a curious requirement from a community that doesn't do the same (read: hypocritical). How many texts for evolution provide opposing viewpoints from ID scientists? Lee brings up numerous objections to points being made from the interviewees (the very points coming from skeptics) and presses them to a point. He is not qualified to have an exhautive scientific debate with either side, but that isn't the purpose of this book. He is building a case for intelligent design and has given a collective voice to a growing moving of scientists that support this case. Someone else is fully free to write a book opposing this.
Second, 'Science cannot prove or disprove God'. How useful is it to say that a method that assumes God doesn't exist cannot prove/disprove God? This book challenges people to lay out all the evidence and draw the best conclusions (get it? The CASE for a Creator). It describes attributes of things we know are designed, attributes we things we know are random. Then, compared these attributes to things like DNA, the structure of the universe, etc. Further it references history, fossil records, etc. to support the position. It draws into serious question whether the 19th century theory of evolution has really been substantiated or refuted by what we've discovered over the last century.
I think this is perhaps Lee's best book. Although many scientists have put out books refuting evolution and supporting intelligent design, this book was a nice cross section of different disciplines and makes a cogent set of arguments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling Work from an Award-Winning Journalist, May 16 2004
By 
FaithfulReader.com (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Case For A Creator (Hardcover)
Anyone familiar with Lee Strobel's previous "Case for" books --- THE CASE FOR CHRIST, THE CASE FOR FAITH and the shorter, mass-market title THE CASE FOR EASTER --- knows pretty much what to expect with each additional title: verbatim interviews with highly respected authorities whose findings offer evidence in the specific "case" the author and law school graduate is trying. In his latest book, Strobel presents evidence pertaining to the theory of intelligent design, the hypothesis that a designer was behind the creation of the universe.
In building his case, Strobel looks at the evidence in six fields of scientific study: cosmology (basically, the study of the universe), physics, astronomy, biochemistry, biology and human consciousness. In each field, he interviews well known and highly respected scientists --- not all Christians, but all who have come to the conclusion that the evidence for a Creator is significant, if not overwhelming. As might be expected, Darwin pretty much gets raked over the coals, for good reason, and even the brilliant Stephen Hawking is proven to be on somewhat shaky ground when it comes to his theory of the beginning of the universe.
What sets Strobel's book apart from so many others on intelligent design is its sheer readability. I suspect that more than a few people avoid reading books on the origins of the universe simply because the prose is so abominably dry. By using his trademark interview format, the author --- a journalist at heart --- injects life and liveliness into what becomes a series of extended conversations on scientific theories. An added benefit is that we get to "hear" exactly what the scientists have said, not Strobel's interpretation of what they said. What's more, Strobel stands in our place, probing and prodding and questioning until he's satisfied that the scientific theories and academic jargon have been translated into intelligible English. And more than once, he plays devil's advocate, bringing up a multitude of objections that Darwinians and all those other non-creationists would be likely to point out.
There are moments in the book when the filler --- the background on each of the interviewees, say, or the scene-setting paragraphs --- starts to feel a bit contrived. But that's a minor glitch in the otherwise seamless narrative, sort of like hitting a rumble strip on a highway every now and then. You know it's there, but soon enough you're back on smooth asphalt again. Given the enormous amount of information and insight Strobel offers, it's a minor glitch indeed.
Simply put, THE CASE FOR A CREATOR has done for the existence of God what Strobel's other titles did for Christ and faith itself: amassed such a preponderance of evidence on the pro side that the con side starts to look downright foolish. You're not likely to find another book so packed with scientific data that is as compelling and enjoyable to read as this one is. It's a terrific starting point for anyone who has been hesitant to tackle denser tomes on origins and creation, but it's also a great resource for those who already have a fair amount of knowledge on those subjects.
--- Reviewed by Marcia Ford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Case For A Creator
Case For A Creator by Lee Strobel (Paperback - Feb. 24 2005)
CDN$ 19.49 CDN$ 15.59
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews