Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for all Church Leaders!
This book appears to be written to provide direction to church leaders. Although I do not play a role of a pastor or leader within my own church, I learned soooo much from this book! It helps you identify how different personalities build their own spirituality. It gave me great insight to some of my brothers and sisters in the church and why they respond differently...
Published on Dec 9 2003 by Adrianna R. Bell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Falls short
The expectation from a Pastor of a church over 15k would be a book on dealing with the myriad of issues in such an environment.
This is a soft book, few challenging thoughts/ideas. IF you've read Swindoll, Blanchard, Hayford, Damazio, Maxwell and a plethora of other authors then you'll think you are in familiar territory. Frank Houston, Brian Houston, Kevin Conner...
Published on Feb. 18 2004 by Christopher B. Raczka


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Falls short, Feb. 18 2004
By 
Christopher B. Raczka (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Courageous Leadership (Hardcover)
The expectation from a Pastor of a church over 15k would be a book on dealing with the myriad of issues in such an environment.
This is a soft book, few challenging thoughts/ideas. IF you've read Swindoll, Blanchard, Hayford, Damazio, Maxwell and a plethora of other authors then you'll think you are in familiar territory. Frank Houston, Brian Houston, Kevin Conner and Ivan Herald will challenge you with every word, thought and idea.
Their books are not widely available sadly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for all Church Leaders!, Dec 9 2003
By 
Adrianna R. Bell (Des Moines, IA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Courageous Leadership (Hardcover)
This book appears to be written to provide direction to church leaders. Although I do not play a role of a pastor or leader within my own church, I learned soooo much from this book! It helps you identify how different personalities build their own spirituality. It gave me great insight to some of my brothers and sisters in the church and why they respond differently to new ideas. Bill also addresses several areas that are not often taught in the church but need to be and are completely scriptural. I found the book to be very inspiring and motivating and a must read for all church leaders!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for Christian leaders, Nov. 21 2003
By 
Kevin L. Stewart "Grimaldon" (Greenbelt, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Courageous Leadership (Hardcover)
This is one of the top five books on leadership in my library (another being "The Purpose Driven Church"). The chapter on spiritual pathways alone is worth the price of the book. It may be a little dicey for status-quo types or people in highly "traditional" churches, but even there it can be useful if executed carefully.
The premise of his works are if you have the gift of leadership why not hone your gift with effective leadership practices? Some of these are spelled out in the book while he encourages you to seek out good leadership books (even secular) to learn the others. He doesn't claim that all of what he gives applies to all churches, but most are general principles and should apply.
And speaking of the chapter on spiritual pathways, he also put the summation of that chapter up as a web page that is quite helpful. Just do a search for "Hybels" and "spiritual pathways". There are a few "spiritualized" versions out there so make sure you read his. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Book!, July 22 2003
By 
Robert Wynkoop (Washington State) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Courageous Leadership (Hardcover)
I have read a lot of books on leadership and I have read a lot of Hybles writings, but this simply is the best. For a Maxwellite this is a conclusion not easily made. This book should be must reading for every pastor, ministerial student and lay leader. In fact, if your Bible College or seminary does not require you to read it, sue them for malpractice. It is that good.
Courageous Leadership is a clarion call for pastors to step up to the plate and lead, to have the courage and passion not to abdicate leadership to church boards, committees or to every Tom, Dick and Harriet of the church. Hybles cuts to the quick: leaders get things done. If you are not getting things done, if you are not moving people toward a goal you are not a leader; and as a pastor if you are not getting things done you will soon lose credibility and your followers will lose heart.
Chapter Eight, A Leader?s Sixth Sense will transform your decision-making. Often leaders have to make difficult decisions with limited information that have the potential to make or break their ministry. Too often pastors, who by definition are like cocker spaniels- they like to be liked, put off their decision making until they have all the information and the outcome seems assured. What these pastors do not realize that by doing so they have, once again, abdicated leadership. If you are a pastor, or even a businessman who is in a position of leadership, BUY THIS BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Hybels on Leadership, Dec 18 2002
By 
Todd Hudnall (Colorado Springs, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Courageous Leadership (Hardcover)
Bill Hybels is a Christian leader who has known the elation of leadership success while also having experienced the agony of near fatal leadership disasters. He writes "Courageous Leadership" with conviction, passion, and empathy that could only be gained through his own leadership journey. This book is vintage Hybels, as his words paint compelling images of what effective Christian leadership looks like. He examines such subjects as vision, raising resources, developing the leaders around you, developing your own leadership style, decision-making, self-leadership, endurance, and the "God-factors" in leadership. If you have been a student of Bill Hybels, you won't find too much new material but rather a collection of his best leadership teachings. The two chapters on vision are easily worth the price of the book. If you've never read or heard Hybels you owe it to yourself to listen to what this proven leader has to say about this subject. I highly recommend "Courageous Leadership."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read for Pastors!, Jan. 27 2003
By 
David R. Bess (Charleston, WV) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Courageous Leadership (Hardcover)
Many younger and older pastors alike have stood in awe at the way God has used Bill Hybels at the Willow Creek Community Church outside of Chicago. Willow is currently the largest church in North America. Hybels is a dynamic speaker and author, in addition to being an extremely successful pastor. Now, he has gathered his leadership thoughts together in this volume, which is sure to be a great help to all Christian leaders.
Throughout this book, Hybels emphasizes the importance of possessing a Divine vision for God's people, then pursuing that vision relentlessly and casting it consistently. The author offers various thoughts and insights into what makes a great leader. Many of these lessons he has learned through his own "school of hard knocks" at Willow.
I recommend this book very highly to all pastors, regardless of church size or denomination. I always enjoy Hybels' writings, and this volume is undoubtedly one of his best. Don't pass on this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IF you want make a difference..., Sept. 26 2003
By 
Kelly K. Dunn "K K Dunn" (the Heartland of the United States of America) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Courageous Leadership (Hardcover)
IF you want make a difference... then read this book!
Bill Hybels is a mentor of mentors. He has and is paying his dues. The thousands of lives who have been eternally changed because of his commitment to the Body of Christ is reason enough to give him your undivided attention. But Hybels has also written other books to recommend his expertise in building into the lives of others.
Hybels does not sugar coat anything. If you are looking for an easy job as a leader, especially as a church leader then Courageous Leadership might not be what you are looking for in a book on leadership. If on the other hand you are willing to think outside of the box, gladly give of yourself, not care who you empower to see success in a common goal then you will want this book in your personal library!
-- K. K. Dunn, Kansas City
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal, Oct. 8 2003
By 
Paul B Stuart (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Courageous Leadership (Hardcover)
This book was awesome, and Bill Hybels is the "real deal". I can't imagine anyone in a position of leadership (especially within the church) not gaining tremendously from Bill's experiences, thinking and reading. Many of the ideas in this book he has talked about at the annual Leadership Conference, and it reads like a "best of the best" from his talks there and messages on Sunday at Willow Creek Community Church.
I plan to buy this book for some friends of mine in church leadership roles, and I know I'll continue to refer back to it as I continue to learn and grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LIFE CHANGING!!, Nov. 10 2002
By 
J. hutcheison "ineal4god" (HOUSTON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Courageous Leadership (Hardcover)
THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!! AFTER ATTENDING BILL'S CHURCH , WILLOW CREEK , I WAS MORE THAN IMPRESSED. ITS THE MOST INCREDIBLE , LIFE CHANGING , EXAMPLE SETTING CHURCH THAT I'VE EVER SEEN!! AND BILL'S BOOK IS DEFINATLY ONE OF THE BEST -EVER!! I KNOW GOD IS SMILING ON WILLOW CREEK CHURCH , BILL HYBELS , AND HIS KINGDOM BUILDING MINISTRY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Things you dare not do in a church, July 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Courageous Leadership (Hardcover)
This is my first reading of a Bill Hybels. Maybe I was setting myself up for a great time. Instead, I was left with a guilt and shame feeling. Making people feel guilty that they are letting the pastor and the Kingdom of God down by not showing up for a meeting....that takes something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Courageous Leadership
Courageous Leadership by Bill Hybels (Hardcover - Aug. 1 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews