march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon September 18, 2012
Lennox brings a great deal of intellectual credibility, and also sensitivity, to the discussion of creation, and how we reconcile the Bible and science. Although those of a young earth persuasion will not agree with Lennox's conclusions, I think they and all readers will find this short book to be a worthwhile introduction. Plainly, we don't always have an answer, and the text supports more than one possibility. But what is clear, both from the text and, Lennox argues, from science, is that intelligence is plainly involved in how the universe, and we, came to be.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2013
as Christian who has always held to a young earth view without really studying it i was initially disappointed to hear that John had written a book that opened up the possibility of something other than a young earth view. I just figured the Scriptures was pretty clear on that matter. As one who finds it a challenge reading i was both encouraged and impressed with John Lennox's approach to such a hotly debated topic. Very balanced, informed and systematic!

Highly recommend this book to both skeptic and believer alike!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2011
John C Lennox is fast becoming one of my favourite authors. His first three books focused on the arguments of the New Atheist's. Now he looks at the Genesis account of creation, using the lens of both science and theology. I am an old earth creationist and I adopt the framework view on Gen 1 which Lennox discusses. He has five chapters and five appendices.

1. But does it move? A Lesson from history.
2. But does it move? A lesson from scripture.
3. But is it old? The days of creation.
4. Human beings: a special creation?
5. The message of Genesis 1

Appendices
A. A brief background to Genesis.
B. The cosmic temple view (Gen 1 as God's temple)
C. The beginning according to Genesis and science.
D. Two accounts of creation?
E. Theistic evolution and the God of the gaps.

The book is also endorsed by Alvin Plantinga, Ravi Zacharias and Paul Copan among others. This book will suit Christians who have a science background and/or have an interest in science and religion.

NB. Appendix E has an extended discussion on theistic evolution. I would regard myself as a theist evolutionist and Lennox discusses this issue at length. He does refer to Paul Davies, Dennis Alexander and Francis Collins. His analysis on theistic evolution is worth the price of this book.

Appendix B. On the cosmic temple view on Gen 1-3, i.e. it is God's sanctuary. I think that there is some truth to this, in that Rev 21-22 shows the New Jerusalem as a place in which God dwells. The parallels with Eden should be obvious.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
John Lennox's book is very simple to read, very grounded in facts and amazingly well cited. If you want an intellectual christian view to this debate then this is the book to read. Not completely exhaustive in its look at the creation ( as said even by the author) but still amazing for what it has.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2014
Every university needs a Dr Lennox! Bold enough to challenge the philosophically tainted 'science' of both the Young Earth Creationists and the New Atheists, Dr Lennox displays an abundance of common sense in a world where ideologically driven sensationalism has made common sense a rarity.

You don't have to agree with his world view to appreciate the logic behind his push to follow the evidence wherever it leads, regardless of whether that means challenging one's own personal beliefs or not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2014
Simple facts overlooked by many: believers and atheists alike, including some scientists! John Lennox insights presented in this book are a must read for anyone interested yet doubtful of these very important subjects--science and religion--which do not contradict but complement each other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
This book carefully, clearly and honestly explores and presents the arguments for the old earth vs young earth positions. I found it helpful to clarify my own thinking. I highly recommend the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
I like the way the author lists the issues and gives possible answers. Good work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2016
A very well thought out book, and an incredible critical analysis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2015
Another good read by John Lennox
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse