Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, but lawyers should see Comon Sense Rules of Advocacy
Some good lessons in Spence's book, but learn how YOU can be a more effective courtroom advocate with "Common Sense Rules of Advocacy for Lawyers" by Keith Evans, which is also a wonderful book for 3Ls and new lawyers who want to learn how to be effective advocates. However, Common Sense Rules of Advocacy is NOT a book for litigators, but for advocates...
Published on July 6 2004

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much
This was too much Spence for me. Having met an investigator who worked for Spence and saw the man behind the fringe, I must say that his public persona and actual self seem to differ substantially. After learning some of the information that will never be written -- at least not by Spence -- I lost much of my desire to read his crafted memoir.
Published on Aug. 14 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, but lawyers should see Comon Sense Rules of Advocacy, July 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Making of a Country Lawyer: An Autobiography (Paperback)
Some good lessons in Spence's book, but learn how YOU can be a more effective courtroom advocate with "Common Sense Rules of Advocacy for Lawyers" by Keith Evans, which is also a wonderful book for 3Ls and new lawyers who want to learn how to be effective advocates. However, Common Sense Rules of Advocacy is NOT a book for litigators, but for advocates.
What others have said about Evans book:
"Valuable review for the old timers and an excellent primer for those who are starting the climb."
-- Jacob A. Stein, Stein, Mitchell & Mezines, Washington, DC
"Superb how-to book ...that is refreshingly readable."
-- Karl Tegland, author, "Courtroom Handbook on Washington Evidence"
"A wonderful 'Bible' for the trial lawyer who wants to win. If only we had had this in law school!"
-- Browne Greene, Greene, Broillet, Panish & Wheeler, Santa Monica, CA
"Even the most experienced trial lawyer can pick up some new techniques here."
-- Frederick C. Moss, Professor, Dedman School of Law, Southern Methodist University
"Valuable insights and practical lessons for anyone who advocates for a living."
-- Steve Clymer, J.D., mediator, arbitrator, and facilitator with ACCORD Dispute Resolution Services, Inc.
"Remarkable compendium of useful advice."
-- Roxanne Barton Conlin, Roxanne Conlin & Associates, Des Moines, IA (first woman President of Association of Trial Lawyers of America)
"Great introduction for the new lawyer and a wonderful learning tool for the advocate with experience."
-- Sherman L. Cohn, Professor, Georgetown University Law Center (first national President of American Inns of Court)
"Terrific guidebook."
-- Philip H. Corboy, Corboy & Demetrio, Chicago, IL
You can see more testimonials and more information about Evans' book at RulesOfAdvocacy.com. Or search Amazon for ISBN 1587330059.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This century'sTom Paine, June 16 2004
By 
Gene Cisco "Moon Man" (Alameda, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Making of a Country Lawyer: An Autobiography (Paperback)
Next to "The Paper Chase",I found Gerry Spence's autobiography to be extremely inspirational, and yet, this time he offered wisdom for the rest of us who do not take up the law. One reviewer missed the point about "country lawyer"(the common man), trying to weaken Spence's building diatribe against corporate America. His vivid, meticulous storytelling ranges as wide as the landscape of his upbringing, where Horatio Alger meets Franklin and finishes with Thomas Paine. In other words, he offers hope for the little guy, the citizen, if men of his cloth would abandon their ways and the rest of us would stop acting like lemmings. This captivating, truth-telling journey to adulthood, runs from the depression to the consumptive new millenium. His many Lincolnian lessons throughout make it a deservedly classic manual for the under-taught. Spence proves Darwin wrong. It's not the fittest, the prepared truth-seekers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Peek At What's Inside The Man and Attorney, Feb. 12 2001
By 
rodboomboom (St. Louis, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Making of a Country Lawyer: An Autobiography (Paperback)
Telling expose of what he sifts out of his life story. Indicative of his legal approach is the life changing backgournd of this interesting, now national figure.
The road to where he is today of dealing with individuals who contend against big biz and government find their roots in this Wyoming bred and based defense attorney.
Haunting him is the tragedy of his young mom committing suicide at the tender age of 20. Time sure doesn't heal any wounds, just kind of glazes them over. Revealing his comments with grandma about the unanswered prayer for a bicycle.
He asks basic questions, and gets to the core of issues quick. No wonder he's so sought after as trial lawyers are these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spence's Roots, July 19 2001
By 
operamaryc "operamarty" (DIAMOND BAR, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Making of a Country Lawyer: An Autobiography (Paperback)
Gerry Spence's books have all been favorites of mine and I always enjoy his commentary and personna. This bio is written in his usual compelling style and I loved hearing about his childhood, family and the experiences that helped mold him into the remarkable man he became. Definitely worth the time invested to read this book and I recommend all of his books to anyone interested in the complexities of the legal system in this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Too much, Aug. 14 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Making of a Country Lawyer: An Autobiography (Paperback)
This was too much Spence for me. Having met an investigator who worked for Spence and saw the man behind the fringe, I must say that his public persona and actual self seem to differ substantially. After learning some of the information that will never be written -- at least not by Spence -- I lost much of my desire to read his crafted memoir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's behind the curtain?, Aug. 24 2000
By 
Aviator (New Lenox, IL. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Making of a Country Lawyer: An Autobiography (Paperback)
Although I found this book to be interesting, I still feel it lacked something. Spence tells us of his growing up, his reason for becoming a lawyer, and the trials and tribulations in life. All well and good, but what isn't he telling us? If you over look the fact that one man cannot be this great (at least I don't think so)then the book will give you some insight into his world. The review of his cases are fasinating, and there is no argue from me that he is a fantastic Attorney. Overall an enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Making of a Country Lawyer: An Autobiography
The Making of a Country Lawyer: An Autobiography by Gerry Spence (Paperback - Oct. 15 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews