Customer Reviews


322 Reviews
5 star:
 (241)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series
Loving this whole series, great quick easy read. With some laugh out loud parts. You can breeze through these books in an afternoon and you will want to download the next one.
Published 3 months ago by Becky

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than High Five
Hot Six is like a breath of fresh air after going through the suffocating smog that called itself High Five. Stephanie's sixth outing is slightly better than her fifth.
For one thing, the romance sub-plot is not so prominent here as in the previous book. The humour which made the series popular is also back. Along with Grandma Mazur there's the Mooner, the Dealer and...
Published on May 24 2002 by K. H. ZAINAL


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, Jan. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loving this whole series, great quick easy read. With some laugh out loud parts. You can breeze through these books in an afternoon and you will want to download the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hot damn, wish I had that problem with too hunky guys!, Aug. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hot Six (Hardcover)
I would recommend this book to everyone. The series has been great thus far. Can't wait to read the rest of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great series, June 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hot Six (Paperback)
The Stephanie Plum series of books are great, can't wait to finish 5 so I get to move onto this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Six has me clamoring for Lucky Seven., June 21 2000
This review is from: Hot Six: A Stephanie Plum Novel (Hardcover)
After High Five left me feeling like I was hanging...five, I was concerned that Hot Six would leave me feeling Deep Sixed. Not on your life. Ms. Evanovich weaves a tapestry of interwoven plot-lines and kaleidoscopic characters like no other. A colleague of mine called it Plum pudding, but to my untrained palate, a dish peppered with spicy characters and sweet revenge can only be called one thing...honey and spice pudding. In the past two years, I have only read one other book that rivals this one, and, because it is a true story, I would give the nod to the other. The book is called "Inside Job: Deep Undercover as a Corporate Spy," and it is the most colorful tale I have ever read on the subject of private investigators...fictional or otherwise. Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of both of these compelling recipes for crime. Combined, they're your lucky Seven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, easy read, Aug. 29 2004
By 
This book is hilarious. It is an easy read and keeps you laughing out loud all the way through. Stephanie and her fellow colleagues and love mates are interesting and snappy. Gotta love Stephanie Plum. I plan to read all of hers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WORLD'S MOST INEPT (BUT LOVEABLE) BOUNTY HUNTER, June 29 2004
By 
Loren D. Morrison "amateur_reviewer" (Los Angeles County, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Six: A Stephanie Plum Novel (Hardcover)
After reading, in no particular order, a half dozen or so of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum novels, I decided that I had to review at least one of them (call it a compulsion to do so), and __HOT SIX__, being the most recent one I've read, got the nod.
I believe that the plots in these novels are mostly there to provide a background for the machinations of our intrepid bounty hunter and her friends and relatives. The plot has been pretty well described in the 300+ previous reviews, so I'll just give it a very short discussion before getting into the part of this review that's the most fun for me.
In her position as a bounty hunter (officially bond enforcement agent), Stephanie is given the job of apprehending and bringing to court, the man who taught her everything she knows about the art of bounty hunting, the elusive man known as Ranger. Ranger, who is out on bond, has missed a court appearance. He is the suspect of choice for a murder. Stephanie, and everyone else, knows that bringing in Ranger is impossible -- no one captures Ranger. No one! But, it does seem that everyone wants to find him, the good guys, the bad guys, and a few intermediate semi-bad guys. This situation provides background for the true meat of the novel, Stephanie's adventures and misadventures along the way.
To give you a an idea of just how good a bounty hunter Stephanie is, consider the following: Most of the time Stephanie sets out on her apprehension tasks by leaving her gun at home in a cookie jar. When she does take it, it usually has only one bullet, or even none, because she has forgotten to buy more. When she does catch up with someone, her intended target more often than not gets away, and in so doing, wrecks her car, and/or sets her on fire, and/or handcuffs her with her own handcuffs, and/or just walks away while she is preoccupied with something else. At any rate her success rate on the first few tries with each bail jumper is very, very low
She attempts clandestine surveillance in a nice inconspicuous "Rollswagon," a car with the front of a Rolls Royce attached to the body of a Volkswagon. Nobody'll spot this car! It's a temporary replacement for her most recent wrecked car.
While trying to peer into the window of a suspect's house, our Stephanie falls out of a tree into his walled off back yard, and gets shot at.
There's lots more, but you get the idea.
Stephanie lusts after two men, the aforementioned Ranger, and her sometimes lover, sometimes protector, sometimes a few other things, Joe Morelli, police detective. This lust is reciprocated by both men.
Stephanie has a grandmother who frequently totes a gun herself, thinks that she, too, would like to be a bounty hunter, and, spreading fear throughout the area, somehow passes the driving test and gets a drivers license.
Stephanie has a sidekick named Lula who is a retired prostitute and who frequently accompanies Stephanie on her misadventures. Lula is a very large woman who dresses in skintight spandex apparel, carries two or three guns and, on every case, tells Stephanie what havoc she is going to wreak on each target. Then when the time comes, tends to run away even faster than Stephanie.
Stephanie has a long suffering mother whose answer to any problem is to start ironing.
And, oh yes, did I mention that Stephanie's idea of home cooking is to make a peanut butter and potato chip sandwich.
There are also a few other colorful characters in Stephanie's life, both human and animal. These include her cousin Vinnie, the owner of the bonding agency, and her boss; her "arch enemy," Joyce Barnhardt; the inadvertantly comedic duo of Moonster and dougie, "the dealer" as well as her pet hamster, Rex; and Bob, the dog who eats everything he can reach, including furniture, and whom you'd like to hate, but can't because he's just too sweet.
When you toss all of these people and animals in a hopper, then add a few gangsters and lunatics to the mix, you end up with a laugh or two or even three on every page from the opening line right up to to the concluding sentence. Thanks, Janet Evanovich, you keep me laughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistably Fun, May 23 2004
I'm normally turned off by the fodder usually topping the bestseller charts, finding it to often be mindless, formulistic garbage like "The DaVinci Code," overhyped and poorly written. Evanovich's work, however, truly stands out as endlessly entertaining, full to the brim of original characters, snappy dialogue, bizarre adventures, and a consistently lovable heroine. Don't miss this series - you WON'T be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So much fun! Please keep these books coming!, April 21 2004
By 
Ratmammy "The Ratmammy" (Ratmammy's Town, CA USA) - See all my reviews
HOT SIX by Janet Evanovich
In the sixth installment of the Stephanie Plum series, HOT SIX is yet another fun and exciting novel featuring this accident-prone bounty hunter. This time around, Grandmother Mazur has had a fight with Stephanie's father, so guess who is moving in with Stephanie?
Besides dealing with Grandmother Mazur's snoring at night, Stephanie's latest assignment is to track down her old buddy Ranger who is now a fugitive with the law. She also has two bumbling idiots following her wherever she goes, thinking that she would lead them to Ranger. Morelli is of course in the picture, and things are getting hot and heavy between the two of them. And Stephanie has also temporarily acquired a huge dog that cannot seem to stop eating.
I cannot express how much I enjoy this series. HOT SIX was yet another fun read and I am looking forward to the next one. Janet Evanovich, please do not stop writing these books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie and Grandma Mazur become roomies, April 2 2004
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
At the end of my review of the previous book in the Stephanie Plum series, HIGH FIVE, I wondered if author Janet Evanovich was on the verge of trying too hard with her plotting. Then, of course, there was thread left dangling on the last page. Whose name, Morelli's or Ranger's, did Stephanie pull out of the bowl in her Night of Passion Lottery? In HOT SIX, it seems to me that Evanovich is indeed pushing it. And it turns out that Joe Morelli is the one that got lucky.
Plum is a bounty hunter in Trenton, NJ, employed by Vincent Plum Bail Bonds, the owner being her scummy cousin, Vinnie. Stephanie's modus operandi is either Keystone Cops or Bull-In-China-Shop, depending on her mood and the amount of junk snacks that she's consumed. The fact that she ultimately succeeds is based purely on dogged persistence and good fortune.
The skeleton of the HOT SIX plot is that Vinnie tasks Plum with apprehending Ranger, his best bond enforcement agent and Stephanie's friend and frequent mentor. Ranger has skipped bail on a ridiculous concealed weapon charge - everyone carries in Trenton - and it doesn't help that the local cops want to question him about the recent murder of a crime kingpin's son. Plum wants no part of it, least of all because she hasn't the skill to nab the ex-Special Forces soldier. But, as the bodies pile up, bagging Ranger becomes the least of her worries.
Don't get me wrong. HOT SIX is as funny as any previous book in the series. It's just that Janet's imagination has, in my opinion, finally gone over the top in populating the storyline with weird characters and dropping her heroine into bizarre situations. It's gotten to the point where less wackiness may be better. It's fine that her feisty Grandma Mazur, reminiscent of Sophia (Estelle Getty) of American TV's GOLDEN GIRLS sitcom, must move in with her, but not necessary that the former take driving lessons, date the ancient geezer upstairs, or purchase a red Corvette. It's not unusual that Stephanie apprehends a couple of oddball fugitives over the course of the book, but not required that one of them here be costumed as Captain Kirk at a Trekkies gathering during the takedown. And not surprisingly, Stephanie is followed by a couple of goons who also have an interest in finding Ranger. But does one of them really have to be a Pakistani emigre who, back in the old country, used to beat unruly children working in the village rug factory? What has before simply seemed to be Plum's bad karma is now too heavy a concentration of weird to be believed.
Finally, the reactions of Stephanie's mother to her antics - she say's "Why me?" and makes the sign of the cross a lot- are getting old. And Stephanie's long-suffering Dad continues to be a virtual cipher. It's time both characters were fleshed out.
At least Stephanie is making progress in her love life. Is that a proposal of marriage coming from Morelli at the book's end? You think? After finishing this review, I'm off to purchase SEVEN UP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This one burns up the pages!, Feb. 4 2004
By 
S. Schwartz "romonko" (alberta canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is so hot, you burn your fingers while you turn the pages. Stephanie is out dealing with the dregs of society while she tries to bring in her bond jumpers. But in this one she's got two new roommates. Grandma Mazur has moved in with her and she's acquired a part Golden Retriever dog called Bob. Stephanie's mentor and friend Ranger is in trouble in this one. It appears that he was seen leaving the scene of a fire where a corpse that had been shot was found. Stephanie's boss Vince wants him brought in, but Steph can't convince herself that Ranger could possibly have killed someone, and like she says, "he's smoke", so how could she catch him. But she tries to help him and by doing so gets involved in a mafia gang turf war that almost costs her her life. This book rollicks through to the conclusion like only Evanovich can. It's unputdownable, and the best in the series so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xba35b294)

This product

Hot Six: A Stephanie Plum Novel
Hot Six: A Stephanie Plum Novel by Janet Evanovich (Hardcover - July 14 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews