Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage Personal Care Furniture Kindle Music Deals Store Cycling Tools minions

Customer Reviews

3
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 1, 2004
Very few people have lived through the trauma Molly Burke has and remained sane but somehow she has managed it. Her parents were emotionally distant (some might call them abusive). She did a tour of duty in the hell that was South Vietnam and came home to discover she couldn't have any children thanks to the effects of Agent Orange and to this day still suffers from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. Yet with all that she is one of the best trauma nurses in St. Louis because she cares about her charges.
Working two jobs just to stay above the poverty line Molly is doing her best to deal with the threatening letters she is receiving. Her troubled nephew Patrick comes to stay with her while she is trying to cope with her stalker who is now sending her human skulls and femurs. The killer informs Molly that she knows him so she is in the middle of a very dangerous homicide investigation, trying to identify the perpetrator before he strikes against. Molly also deals with her rambunctious nephew and a media onslaught that turns her home into a glass house.
Although the heroine thinks she is a head case, she is one of the sanest characters to walk the pages of a crime novel. After what life has thrown at Molly, she somehow not only manages to cope but also has become a stronger person. Eileen Dreyer is a superb writer who manages to keep surprising the reader with one unexpected revelation after another. Fans of Patricia Cornwell and Robin Cook will love HEAD GAMES.
Harriet Klausner
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on April 27, 2004
I won't elaborate on the book's plot--others have already done that. I almost put the book aside several times because of Molly Burke. I found her to be insufferable! The oh-so-witty repartee she and other characters engaged in was over the top. I kept wanting her to get on with it. And the constant bickering and downright nastiness between Molly and her so-called boyfriend Frank was sickening. I'd hate to see how she would treat a guy she REALLY doesn't like!
The only reason I kept reading was to find out who was sending her the "gifts" and notes, and I will say the ending was a real surprise which I had not figured out.
I will try another Eileen Dreyer book but probably not one featuring Molly Burke.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on June 9, 2004
Molly Burke is a complex character; it helps to have read "Bad Medicine" to understand some of her background. The action in this book is non-stop, and the ending is thought provoking - it challenges you to reconsider what you think you know about how someone becomes a monster.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse