Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny rendition of a pointless experiment!
This book is half a travelogue and half a witty diary written by an English stand-up comedian that went on a hitchhiking trip through Ireland while pulling along a mini-fridge in 1997. This is one funny story which is full of very dry humour and rather sharp/witty observations on the unique culture, customs and overall characteristics/personalities of the Irish people as...
Published on Jan. 24 2012 by Pat the cat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rolicking fun, but in the end you ask, um, what's the point?
Just a rollicking romp around Ireland on a dare: hitchhiking with a fridge in tow. That's what comes from drinking and betting in pubs. You wake up in the morning and realize you've got 30 days to buy a fridge and circumnavigate all of Ireland with it in order to win a bet that cost just about what you paid for it. And in the end, what've you got? An uncollected bet and...
Published on July 3 2003 by Peggy Vincent


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny rendition of a pointless experiment!, Jan. 24 2012
By 
Pat the cat - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This book is half a travelogue and half a witty diary written by an English stand-up comedian that went on a hitchhiking trip through Ireland while pulling along a mini-fridge in 1997. This is one funny story which is full of very dry humour and rather sharp/witty observations on the unique culture, customs and overall characteristics/personalities of the Irish people as viewed by an outsider. I was on familiar ground here because (1) I've traveled through Ireland, (2) I used to listen to the Gerry Ryan show online regularly and (3) I've been married to a Newfoundlander for 20 years. The similarities between the Irish people and their not-too-distant cousins in Newfoundland abound. Truth be told, one could easily substitute the word Ireland in the title/story by the word Newfoundland and you'd get pretty much the same effect, same type of odd ball characters.... This familiarity with the land/culture/people is probably why I found this book to be a fabulously entertaining story. I laughed out loud many times. I was sad to reach the end of the trip; I only wished the book would have been longer! As crazy as it sounds, I'm inclined to believe that there is more facts than fibs in the book. Great fun...read this book but only after you've been to Ireland so that you can appreciate it fully. For the genre, this is an excellent satire, 5 stars out 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very different guided tour of Ireland, May 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"Round Ireland with a Fridge" is a true story, but you'd be forgiven in thinking it to be an old folk tale. Tony Hawkes, a British 'person of note', perhaps a radio DJ, accepts a bet that he can hitchhike around Ireland (excluding the North. It takes place while there is still conflict there.)with a fridge! When he arrives, thinking he's made a mad bet, he finds to his relief, that the fridge, supplied by a friend, is only two feet square. And off he goes on a merry trip, meeting all sorts of weird and wonderful people travelling around Eire in all manner of vehicles. He becomes a celebrity people watch out for after he connects with a talk show listened to throughout the country. He is met by the show's host and a cheering crowd upon his return to Dublin, having completed the journey and won the hundred pound bet.
Tony Hawlkes reads the story himself, with a wonderful enthusiastic voice and vivid intonation. It's great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most fun I've had in a while, May 16 2004
By 
therosen "therosen" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Round Ireland with a Fridge (Paperback)
What happens when a drunken British comedian bets his buddy he can circumnavigate Ireland with a fridge? You get a hilarious story of Tony Hawks and his travels across the green Isle.
Although the topic sounds contrived, you'll find yourself laughing as Tony takes the fridge surfing, sleeps in the (literal) doghouse, and gets adopted by a local radio station.
The humor is light, self-depracating (like all good travel stories) and quick to give you a smile. Some sections may even make you spit milk through your nose. Enjoy for some good laughs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fall in love with ireland....., Feb. 5 2011
This review is from: Round Ireland with a Fridge (Paperback)
I've visited Ireland so was anxious to read about someone else's experience there. Hauling a small fridge around is one thing, but around a country that is blessed with such a warm-hearted fun loving people makes for a great chuckling read. The open acceptance of the man and his fridge, as if it was nothing more than a briefcase, and their eagerness to accommodate his needs for roof and beverage truly describes the soul of the Irish. Guinness all round!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Travel Story, March 12 2004
By A Customer
Fun, easy, short, comical read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is not supposed to be a travel book!, Feb. 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Round Ireland with a Fridge (Paperback)
Many reviews here have critisised this book as being a rubbish travel book. This is not a travel book and was never intended to be a travel book. It is simply the story of a man who travelled around Ireland with a fridge - end of story. I am Irish and remember when all this happened - I remember listening in to the radio show every day to hear what he was up to and remember his arrival to Dublin when nobody came out to see him. It is therefore interesting to read his actual story and see what was really happening behind his story on the radio. But it's not a travel book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More comedy! Less history!, Dec 5 2003
This review is from: Round Ireland with a Fridge (Paperback)
This is one of those rare travel boks where you feel completely wrapped up in the adventure without learning anything about the country it takes place in. (Minus the fact that in Ireland, every pub has it's own drunk. Which is nice to know.) Tony Hawks mixes two great forms of comedy; One being his observational humor about the oddities of the characters he meets. The other being the fact that he was funny in real life. Hearing his recaps of what he did and the speeches he give are well worth the price of admission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious read, great for sharing, Sept. 12 2003
By 
Bernard Farrell (North of Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Round Ireland with a Fridge (Paperback)
I got this book on the recommendation of some friends. I ended up reading it to my wife over the course of several weeks.
With two of us to share the comedy this was a wonderful book. Plenty of tales of possible disaster saved at the last minute by the present of The Fridge.
Recommended for anyone who feels like a pick me up. And definitely a great read to share with a friend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Most Bizarre Travelogue, Sept. 6 2003
By 
This review is from: Round Ireland with a Fridge (Paperback)
I love this book. The premise is that due to a bet while under the influence he has to hitchhike around the perimeter of Ireland in a month. The fact that he paid more for the fridge than the value of the wager makes the concept even more entertaining. Some have criticized (I believe unfairly) the book for not being a detailed travel journal. I think that is a factually correct statement, but the point here is not to be a serious travel guide, but to be a humor book about funny experiences during a very odd odyssey.
There are many amusing moments in the book, some of which are so well written that they made me laugh out loud. Purists may argue that it is a rather smallish fridge, but I don't think that matters; it's the concept of hitchhiking in a foreign country with a large, ungainly peculiar object that matters here.
Tony Hawks is a very strange, and very funny man. If you are interested in a book filled with unusual comic characters and situations, this would be hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had been with him for this VERY FUNNY romp!, Aug. 18 2003
By 
This review is from: Round Ireland with a Fridge (Paperback)
Undoubtedly, one of the funniest books I have ever read.....should be made into a movie! So well written that you could truly picture the situations and the people......water skiing with a fridge-absolutely laugh out loud funny! If I were younger and less sane....I would somehow, haul something, somewhere to see if I could duplicate this wonderful experience! (Naked in the room is hysterical!) Don't miss this super funny book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbcfcf888)

This product

Round Ireland with a Fridge
Round Ireland with a Fridge by Tony Hawks (Paperback - March 7 2001)
CDN$ 18.50 CDN$ 13.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews