Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, read and guide, Sept. 7 2013
By 
D. TUOMI "Scrounge" (Barrie, Ont. CAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Route 66, 75th Anniversary Edition: The Mother Road (Paperback)
I have been down Rte. 66, and this book has lots of information that I missed. I am going to have to do it again with this book at my side. Lots of information and pictures in one place to make a Rte. 66 trip more enjoyable. A must have!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lyric journey with 66's poet laureate, May 9 2002
If you ever wanted to make a real journey to a place that's both real and imagined, a place in your heart as much as in your geography, and if that place happens to be Route 66, take this book.
Michael Wallis is the unofficial poet laureate of 66 and this book reflects exactly what the Mother Road meant to America and can mean to you. He's covered every inch of it, and he knows where it leads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best at Capturing the Essence of the Mother Road, March 3 2002
By 
Mark Adkinson "rte66man" (Warr Acres, OK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
MIchael and Suzanne have done the best job of capturing why so many people are still fascinated by a ribbon of concrete that didn't even cross the entire continent. As he so eloquently states, it's not the road, its the people along the road. This is a must read, not just for all Mother Road fans, but for anyone who is interested in a genuine slice of Americana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still the best book on route 66, Dec 3 2001
By 
Phyllis Herring (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Route 66, 75th Anniversary Edition: The Mother Road (Paperback)
I read Wallis' original book some years ago and now he has offered us an update. It is now 75 years since the highway numbering system went into effect, and more than ten years since the original book came out. What we get is an extra chapter in the back outlining some of the many changes that have occured in the past decade. Some old friends of the road have passed away; and a whole lot of new ones added. One gripe. We don't hear how Angel and Juan in Seligman are doing these days. Experienced 66 hands will know who I mean--the rest of you, make sure you find out about those two fine gentlemen. This, new, book will help you on your way. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real 66, Aug. 15 2001
By 
Electron (TULSA, OKLAHOMA United States) - See all my reviews
A really fantastic book that tellsthe story of this famous road. It'svery well written and the images arewhat I remember as a child riding inmy father's '41 Cadillac with a canvas water bag on the front of the car and a swamp cooler hooked to thepassenger window. Tulsa to Los Angeles was our route on Route 66.Michael and Suzanne Wallis really know their stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good as history and a travel guide, Aug. 3 2000
By 
Brian D. Rubendall (Oakton, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Rout 66: The MOther Road" is a good coffee table book that serves as both a travel guide and as a history of America's most famous highway. Chocked full of pictures both old and new, it is sure to fill you with the desire to hit the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REMEMBER THE JACK RABBIT?, Jan. 17 2001
By 
Loren D. Morrison "amateur_reviewer" (Los Angeles County, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Between about 1958 and 1963, I was lucky enough to drive the western portion of Route 66 twice in each direction. (From about Tulsa, Oklahoma to its terminus at Santa Monica, California) Today's Interstate Highways have cut the driving time down considerably, but, as this book shows so well, that which has been sacrificed for speed is an experience of place and people that is irreplaceable.
Even today, when I think of Arizona, I can't picture it without the series of Jack Rabbit signs along westbound Route 66. As I remember them, the first inkling of things to come was a small sign along the roadside with a small, black, long-eared jack rabbit on it. No information, just a lonely little jack rabbit. After another 10 miles or so, there was another one, only a little bigger, then another and another, each a little bigger than the previous one. Eventually, you came upon the sign shown on page 186; still just a jack rabbit only much larger, and now with the words, "Next Exit." No other words, just "Next Exit." Finally, one last sign as shown on page 187, this one billboard size, a huge black jack rabbit and the words "HERE IT IS." Then "IT" came into sight: The Jack Rabbit Trading Post in Joseph City, AZ, as shown on pages 186-187. A huge Jack Rabbit stood on the roof. After having your curiosity piqued for a hundred miles or so, how could you not stop? This is the kind of memory that is brought back by the illustrations on almost every page of the book.
With a State by State rundown, and with multiple pictures, reproductions of old postcards, photographs of both ruins of and still standing motels, gas stations, and cafes, and interviews with some of the "characters" who populated and had businesses on the Mother Road, this book would seem to have something for anyone who ever drove along old Route 66, or who would like to know what traveling was like in the days when there really was something new and different around every curve in the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on tape!, June 10 1999
By A Customer
This is an excellent tape, with its narration by the author. I have listened to this book while travelling Route 66, and it really makes for excellent driving/listening! Sound quality is excellent; the abridgment does not compromise the book at all. Wallis really knows the road and its people, and his narration brings the book to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, great storyteller, brings old road to life!, Dec 7 1997
Wallis is a skillful storyteller who brings this highway alive! He ignites in the reader the desire to travel the road & get to know the cast of characters who live & work on the shoulders of Rt 66. Lots of great memories for baby boomers who took family driving vacations. The book reminds us that so much of what we love about America; the "mom & pop" businesses, the quirky tourist attractions and the good people are still out there, waiting to be rediscovered on Route 66.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3aa6978)

This product

Route 66, 75th Anniversary Edition: The Mother Road
Route 66, 75th Anniversary Edition: The Mother Road by Michael Wallis (Paperback - June 23 2001)
CDN$ 26.50 CDN$ 16.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews