Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Will Just Discuss the Book as a Book
Let me say I was shocked to read this book and how this guy spied for so many years, was a very devout catholic and supported a hooker on the side and nobody including his wife and co-workers caught on. That is amazing.
Now getting to the book review - 4 stars - compelling story, well researched, it all flows together. Havill does a nice job of bringing some facts...
Published on Dec 31 2003 by J. E. Robinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Attempt to Understand Robert Hanssen
Here we go...another attempt to get a book out in time to sell it before the general public forgets who the subject is. Problem is with that theory is that we have seveal books that are way too much a like. If only one would have covered his chilhood better and paid epecial attention to Opus Dei, both of which I believe had more effect than anyone will ever know. I'd...
Published on June 19 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Will Just Discuss the Book as a Book, Dec 31 2003
By 
This review is from: The Spy Who Stayed Out in the Cold: The Secret Life of FBI Double Agent Robert Hanssen (Hardcover)
Let me say I was shocked to read this book and how this guy spied for so many years, was a very devout catholic and supported a hooker on the side and nobody including his wife and co-workers caught on. That is amazing.
Now getting to the book review - 4 stars - compelling story, well researched, it all flows together. Havill does a nice job of bringing some facts together and making a smooth running story. It borders on being a page turner, but not quite.
Excellent if you like thus stuff. Recommend buying.
Jack in Toronto
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing and well written, Sept. 11 2003
By 
M. C. TYLER (HUNGRY HORSE, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Spy Who Stayed Out in the Cold: The Secret Life of FBI Double Agent Robert Hanssen (Hardcover)
Havill, once again, has written an engrossing book. I will proclaim my own bias by pointing out something, though. On page 173, Havill mentions the Clinton years "begin with the shoot-outs at Ruby Ridge and Waco." Well, actually, no, George the first was president at the time of Ruby Ridge. And Havill's comment about "King William" make me wonder about his agenda when most of the spying going on is during the Reagan-Bush years. In books about policies or personalities you expect that: you know where the author is coming from and you digest the material accordingly. In a book that is SUPPOSED to be about Robert Hanson I find it telling that the only president he mentions in a derogatory manner is Clinton. Makes me wonder if there is other information he left out. . .Still, you can't fault the guy's talent for spinning a phrase. A worthy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gets the Word Out, May 4 2003
By 
L. Dann "adhdmom" (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spy Who Stayed Out in the Cold: The Secret Life of FBI Double Agent Robert Hanssen (Hardcover)
Post 9-11, how many people really know how deeply Robert Hanssen damaged national security? A recent dinner with several academics suggested, not a whole lot, if that sample counts in any way. Havill's book may not satisfy the connoisseurs of this niche of investigative journalism, but the book serves an important function; it exposes the depth of the betrayal and the nature of the agency that he ravaged. That system and the people who oversee it, have much to be ashamed of. The press has magnificently implied that the damage was minimal. The adopted supposition then by a large part of the citizenry was that it was "low level" information that he handed to the Russians. The press did a great job of keeping the public snookered. Havill does his darndest to refute that suggestion with the details of the top secrets that were handed over to the Russians.
As a psychological case study; Hanssen is the archetype of the Jungian shadow. The religious, dour and convinced patriot by day and the vulgar, ... depraved, traitor at night. Indeed Hanssen betrayed everyone, primarily his overworked and short-changed wife, but also his country, his church and of course, his employer. Why then, did people just fall for his act? They didn't according to the author; there were members of his own extended family, starting with his brother in law, a fellow agent and fellow employees who at least hinted at the deceptive and twisted nature of his allegiance or lack thereof.
How can we correct such ... neglect of self-policing in our governmental offices? Well, it will not be easy, if the educated voter and the concerned public is somehow "picking up" that the damage was superficial. There are, afterall too many government sponsored daily security news items to sift through and ponder. Havill's work needs to be read and if it is as a form of entertainment; which it can be, all the better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid writing - Nothing fancy, July 3 2002
This review is from: The Spy Who Stayed Out in the Cold: The Secret Life of FBI Double Agent Robert Hanssen (Hardcover)
This is a well-written and footnoted account of the Robert Hanssen spy case. Author Havill provides ample background information on Hanssen's early years and his involvement in Opus Dei that sheds some light on the spy's troubled personality. On the face, Hanssen was dedicated to his family, his religion and was a right of center flag waver. On the other side of the coin, Hanssen spent tens of thousands of dollars on a stripper he "adopted" while his family struggled financially, and was a traitor who sold out his country for ego strokes and money. Havill did a solid job of describing Hanssen's acts of espionage, but Hanssen's motivation remains an unexplained, contradictory jumble.
The biggest shocker in all of this is how a genuinely fouled-up personality like Robert Hanssen eluded the FBI's internal security apparatus for 25 years, rising quite high in the Counter-Espionage hierarchy. One can only hope that FBI Director Mueller and Attorney General Ashcroft will do a better job at policing the agency than their predecessors did.
With people like Robert Hanssen in the FBI it is no wonder that terrorists can have their way with us and we never find-out about it until they fly airplanes into buildings. On September 11, 2001, nineteen terrorists hijacked four airliners with horrific results. We all know the rest of the story. After you read this book you will not feel as safe as you beforehand. Hopefully there is not a Robert Hanssen in the Middle-East Section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Attempt to Understand Robert Hanssen, June 19 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Spy Who Stayed Out in the Cold: The Secret Life of FBI Double Agent Robert Hanssen (Hardcover)
Here we go...another attempt to get a book out in time to sell it before the general public forgets who the subject is. Problem is with that theory is that we have seveal books that are way too much a like. If only one would have covered his chilhood better and paid epecial attention to Opus Dei, both of which I believe had more effect than anyone will ever know. I'd also like to know how an FBI Agent got his hands on all this supposed NSA and CIA information. Even in these days of "Homeland Security", these folks just don't share well at all. I think there is/was a middle-man (CIA?) in there somewhere. No way NSA or CIA would reveal info to the FBI, who they consider just to be the Federal police dept with no "need to know" anything important of an international nature. The whole thing sounds bogus to me. - Former NSA Employee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing Expose, May 24 2002
By 
Walter S. Mcintosh "walter james (mac)mcintosh" (Invercargill, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spy Who Stayed Out in the Cold: The Secret Life of FBI Double Agent Robert Hanssen (Hardcover)
Mr. Havill does a first rate job of detailing for us the activites of this traitor. The image of the FBI that emerges from this account is, however, very disturbing. One hopes that Mr. Ashcroft has read the book and is mad enough to make some serious systematic changes within the Bureau. James Woolsey's role as portrayed by Mr. Havill is disturbing as well.I would highly recommend this book to all concerned with our basic national security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive!!, May 19 2002
By 
Adrian C. Havill "BobHanssen" (Washington, D.C.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spy Who Stayed Out in the Cold: The Secret Life of FBI Double Agent Robert Hanssen (Hardcover)
After just reading the disappointing "Into The Mirror" as well as the rest, this book remains as the only complete account on Hanssen. The great photo section with photos of Hanssen in his youth is a bonus! Complete, with a great chapter on the creepy Opus Dei sect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing with a few interesting passages thrown in, May 9 2002
By 
"nessuno@iwon.com" (EVERETT, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Spy Who Stayed Out in the Cold: The Secret Life of FBI Double Agent Robert Hanssen (Hardcover)
I managed to delve into this book as required reading for English 111 class. This was a very promising subject, but was a very hard book to read. The structure breaks under the weight of unnecessary information, and even the necessary parts are jumbled and mishmashed. What I found the most interesting was the many eccentricities in which Robert Hanssen exhibited. If Adrian Havill included more of this guys freakish nature this book would be a must read.
Robert Hanssen was apparently not a stupid man, but he was idiotic in many ways. To feel the need to join a group such as Opus Dei one has to be a little moronic. He was also insane, and that is the main appeal of this book. I would like to read more about groups such as Opus Dei than the espionage parts, because the spy game while interesting is nothing compared to wackos and unstable individuals. This is the main reason I wanted to originally read about the Zodiac killer.
The fact that this guy would waste his money trying to reform a stripper with the intention of trying to redeem himself (p141-149) shows you that he was not playing with a full deck. On pages 155-159 you can read about Bob assaulting his female employee Kim Litchenburg and dragging her about on the floor.
The fact of the matter is that Mr. Hanssen never cared about anybody but himself. He was computer literate yet selfish and a social moron. I know there are more people like this in charge of government agencies. I would like to read their stories also. Maybe they will cannibalize someone as a means for redemption,or have all their underlings drink poison Kool-Aid Like Jim Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars REFUND!!!!!!!, May 8 2002
By 
This review is from: The Spy Who Stayed Out in the Cold: The Secret Life of FBI Double Agent Robert Hanssen (Hardcover)
This book was the opposite of what I expected it to be. I thought it was going to be interesting, but I was totally wrong.
Those letters threw me off completely. At one point it would be telling a story and then there would be a letter he wrote to the ussians. Maybe the author didn't think about the sequence before writing the book. Thats why I believe this book was a rushed job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE!!!!!, May 8 2002
This review is from: The Spy Who Stayed Out in the Cold: The Secret Life of FBI Double Agent Robert Hanssen (Hardcover)
HORRIBLE!!!...Mass
My classmates and I voted on this book because it seemed very interesting. As I began reading chapter after chapter, everything started to get confusing. There would be times in this book where the story would just stop and jump into another story, such as unnecessary letters. The book did not stay right on point with its story about Hanssen being a spy. As the story got into the Opus Dei's "religion" or their beliefs, I asked my self WHAT does this have to do with beig a SPY? I do not recommend this book to anybody. It's not a steady pace book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spy Who Stayed Out in the Cold: The Secret Life of FBI Double Agent Robert Hanssen
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews