Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tea roses are always a lovely and unexpected delight-just like this book
picked this book up because a positive review compared it to the Thorn birds. I read forty pages the first night I had it, and finished the book (all seven hundred some pages of it) the next day. I literally couldn't put it down.

The story of Fiona and her love Joe two poor kids from Whitechapel who've been in love their whole lives only to lose each other when...
Published on Dec 31 2007 by Lilly Flora

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable beach novel
The beginning of the book leads off with "take you there" descriptions of the slums of Victorian London. But shortly after, the novel descends to typical soap opera stuff. The book is long, over 500 pages, but by page 200, I had predicted 90% of the remainder of the book.
Most of the events just happen to coordinate so perfectly that I was rolling my eyes...
Published on Jan. 5 2003


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Historical Fiction and one of the best romances ever!, April 20 2013
By 
L. Lapsley (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tea Rose: A Novel (Paperback)
This book took me by surprise - one of my favourite books ever (and I've read alot of books). We passed it around my neighbourhood and one by one we all fell in love with this book. I highly recommend it to Historical Fiction and romance novel lovers equally!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book about London at the end of the 19th century, Dec 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tea Rose: A Novel (Paperback)
I loved this book. It was easy reading, good plots and storylines and wonderful characters. I would put this book on the list with other great writers...Ken Follett and Philippa Gregory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy read, June 4 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tea Rose: A Novel (Paperback)
This is a great book! I didn't want to put it down! It was an easy read, a good summer book! Can't wait to read the next two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ENCHANTING!! SPELLBINDING!!, May 5 2003
By 
Leslie Lehman (Croghan, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tea Rose: A Novel (Hardcover)
Jennifer Donnelly has succeeded in bring the past vividly to life in this wonderfully spellbinding novel which weaves romance, suspense and history brilliantly together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Has become my favorite book!!, Jan. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tea Rose: A Novel (Hardcover)
What a wonderful story. I couldn't put this book down... I loved it. It is a book that I know I'll read again and enjoy every last word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I NEVER CRY, Oct. 8 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tea Rose: A Novel (Hardcover)
I never cry while reading. Well, never, until now. Donnelly had tears in my eyes by page 37. This book is what a novel should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a fun read, Feb. 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tea Rose: A Novel (Hardcover)
I had a blast reading this story; it actually kept me up until 3 a.m. most nights because I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tea Rose: A Novel (Paperback)
I enjoy reading about London! This was an excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 27 2014
This review is from: The Tea Rose: A Novel (Paperback)
Loved it! Once I started couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A book you just can't put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tea Rose: A Novel
The Tea Rose: A Novel by Jennifer Donnelly (Paperback - Dec 10 2007)
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews