Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can You Go Home Again?
When Glory Boughton returns home to Gilead to care for her ailing father, she carries with her the regrets and fantasies of a life of her own - now abandoned. But soon after her return to the old homestead, her prodigal brother Jack writes a letter, announcing that he, too, is on his way home.

After more than twenty years gone, she barely recognizes him - and...
Published on Nov. 17 2008 by Laurel-Rain Snow

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Are there really people like this?
Home
I finally finished slogging my way through this book, and found it a highly unsatisfying experience. First, the characters are not well-rounded, and in the end, we know and understand very little about them, their motives, their inner feelings. And that's what the book is about, in essence. While I understand that perhaps this novel is not meant to be entirely...
Published on Dec 6 2009 by Rosaleen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Are there really people like this?, Dec 6 2009
By 
Rosaleen "Rosaleen" (Halesworth, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home (Paperback)
Home
I finally finished slogging my way through this book, and found it a highly unsatisfying experience. First, the characters are not well-rounded, and in the end, we know and understand very little about them, their motives, their inner feelings. And that's what the book is about, in essence. While I understand that perhaps this novel is not meant to be entirely realistic, it certainly seems to set itself up within the category of realism. But the characters address each other in ways that seem so restrained, so delicate, and indirect, that I found the dialogue to be maddeningly unbelievable. Can people in a family really speak to each other so that every nuance, every line they say is so calculated? It seemed almost ridiculously circumspect. Moreover, I found that it was hard to differentiate who was speaking to whom, because the characters are so lacking in depth and personality and interest. The plot, such as it is, uses delaying tactics to the big reveal, but then nothing much is revealed after 300 pages of a what felt like a long read. It is a matter of much too little, much too late. The coda was particularly lame and had a sense of being an afterthought meant to tie some loose ends together. I didn't care very much about what happened to these characters, because I didn't know who they were. It's a novel about forgiveness and acceptance and family ties, but I found myself incredulous that anyone could be as caring of every word they utter, and talk so much about the same subject over and over, without giving much real drama or tension. I appreciate subtlety and indirection, but this fell into an altogether different mode of not giving the reader enough to go on. Unlike a writer like Chekhov, for example, where often the characters say things they don't mean, or can't say what they want to say, in this book what the characters do say is tendentious and repetitious. If you can grasp at subtleties and your imagination is stirred to fill in the blanks, then that is wonderful, but I did not feel the least desire to imagine anything much about these characters. I wish I could say something nicer about Robinson's book, because I am a fan, I could barely get through Home. It was a trying experience to read, and in the end, I found it simply a bore, about boring people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying novel, that drags on too long, March 16 2013
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Home (Paperback)
This novel lives in the shadow of its predecessor Gilead, which is shorter and better. Those 2 factors may be related.

Nonetheless, this is a powerful novel with moments of majesty and grace, all within the context of a muted domestic drama. The main characters are Glory Boughton, her aged father, and her wayward brothe Jack. Both Glory and Jack return home after long absences, setting off a painful process of attempted reconciliation and redemption. The power of this book is reduced by many scenes that are drawn out too long or just become unbelievably weighty.

Not a book for everyone therefore. I would recommend reading Robinson's novel Gilead before taking on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the Book for Me, March 3 2009
By 
MacFly (Regina, Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home (Hardcover)
Home by Marilynne Robinson is the story of the prodigal son. The son of an ailing minister returns home and settles into an uneasy relationship with the dying man and his grown, younger sister. I enjoyed the storyline of this book but found the plot to move very slowly and, ultimately, it left me wanting for more. There seemed to be a number of issues and stories that remained under the surface without being fully explained even at the end of the book. I finished the book but didn't really enjoy the slow pace and the unanswered questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can You Go Home Again?, Nov. 17 2008
By 
This review is from: Home (Hardcover)
When Glory Boughton returns home to Gilead to care for her ailing father, she carries with her the regrets and fantasies of a life of her own - now abandoned. But soon after her return to the old homestead, her prodigal brother Jack writes a letter, announcing that he, too, is on his way home.

After more than twenty years gone, she barely recognizes him - and a part of her resents his return, coming as it does at a time when the old man needs this connection so badly. But as time passes, she and Jack come to a deeper understanding of each other, revealing some of their own secrets that neither is eager to share with anyone.

Caring for their father together, fixing up the old homestead, which has become quite neglected in the past few years, they seemingly form a team...Protecting each other against the harshness of the life here, which remains the same, with the Reverend Ames sitting in judgment and the town folk glancing sidelong at Jack as if they half-expect him to steal from them...This is the reputation Jack once held, and his twenty-year abandonment of the family and any ties to this community, somehow reinforces this view. And Jack, self-deprecatory and doing nothing
to eradicate the image the townspeople hold of him, continues in his quiet way to try to make some kind of amends - on the home front and with the minister. Their father, too, a former minister, holds many beliefs that cast someone like Jack in a "sinner" role.

Slowly, the author peels away the layers that conceal the sadness and loss carried by these two, as they walk along the old familiar paths in the town and as they fall into the humble patterns of their youth in this home that is filled with memories of a time long ago...Dreams and loves and fantasies have been cast aside. In many ways, it seems as if these two
people are sacrificing some other life to be here, caring for the old man, who barely recognizes them at times. And as the days and weeks pass, it becomes clear that, despite the moments of reconnection, time has not healed all the old wounds and the future is not what they expected...

In Home, Robinson cleverly depicts those poignant, nostalgic moments we each carry with us.

By Laurel-Rain Snow, Author of "Web of Tyranny", etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Not-Quite-Sequel to Gilead, Jan. 21 2010
By 
Prairie Pal (Winnipeg, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Home (Paperback)
Marilynne Robinson doesn't write very often but when she does she packs a punch. Her first novel 'Housekeeping' was a Pulitzer Prize nominee; her second book 'Gilead' was widely acclaimed as a masterpiece and won numerous awards including the Pulitzer for Fiction. 'Home', only her third novel, has won the Orange Prize for Fiction.

'Home' brings the reader back to the same Boughton family at the same moments in time as 'Gilead'. We see the same characters from a different perspective and, as in Kurosawa's 'Rashomon', we learn that different viewpoints often reveal different truths. We come away caring even more about the feckless Jack, the dutiful Glory and their father Robert. This is a wonderful novel that deserves to be read but is probably best approached after having first taken on 'Gilead.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is this actually written by the same person who wrote Gilead?, Dec 8 2009
By 
Bethann McLaren "Farm girl, voracious reader,... (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home (Paperback)
I was heartily disappointed with Marilynne Robinson's latest fiction. It is similar to Gilead, but without all of the richness, complexity and roundedness that her Pulitzer Prize winner posses. All that is left is a rather dreary story about rather dreary, and dare I say it, irritating characters. The Boughtons all got under my skin. The only character who is even remotely intriguing is Della, and this could be because she is only physically in the story for a few pages. I will concede that the last 10 pages or so are beautifully written and quite touching, but this in no way makes up for the blandness of the first 300.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home: A Novel
Home: A Novel by Marilynne Robinson (Paperback - 2009)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews