march boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars27
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 16, 2016
A very interesting and historic book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2015
Outstanding and obligatory reading embracing detailed history and specialized cultural information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
purchased for a book club and haven't got past the first several pages as I find it really boring. hmmm
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2015
The beginning of the book was dense with detail but over time as the characters were developed it became more and more a compelling read.
Imagine if you can a political society that embraces minimization, then extermination, all while artistic accomplishments are being hoarded.
The descriptions of living in the different cities/societies is quite interesting and well developed. However, man's inhumanity to others is overriding and disturbing.
After a challenging beginning, a great read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2015
Wonderfully written, an incredible journey through the highs and lows of this magnificent family's ordeals. I can't wait to read it again,it's so rich!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2015
Love the book and the story line but I wish the author had not been so eager to impress us with his vocabulary. My friend who recommended the book reads with dictionary in hand. I was running to the computer to see the artists' works. The book really takes one to another time and place - lets you feel what is was like to be Jewish in Europe just before the war. And what those people accomplished in their lifetimes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2014
The book came in excellent condition .As to the content , I am not sure yet as I am only halfway into it . I do not know if the the rating has to do with the condition of the book , or the content .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2014
The last part of the book v. interesting - I learned a lot about life in wartime cities. Difficult to get into the first, introductory, part. My husband agrees. Rather an esoteric subject but informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
The stories that eminated from the second world war appear to be infinite. this story of a very wealthy family is woven through the collection of Japanese miniature sculptures and is truly capitvating.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
I was very pleased, as usual, with the prompt delivery and accurate quality description that I find on Amazon. The book is a non-fiction and was difficult to get into. It makes an interesting read if you in to historical recounting of families.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse