Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
When i bought this book i thought it would be teriffic. I was not disssopointed. Being fairly new to fantsy books this gave me many new seris to read
Published on July 29 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Two great stories
If it hadn't been for Stephen King's Little Sisters of Eleuria and George R.R. Martins The Hedge Knight, this compilation would have been a big disappointment. The rest of the stories were not anywhere near as good as these two.
Published 9 months ago by susan huskins


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Two great stories, July 2 2013
By 
susan huskins (port maitland, Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If it hadn't been for Stephen King's Little Sisters of Eleuria and George R.R. Martins The Hedge Knight, this compilation would have been a big disappointment. The rest of the stories were not anywhere near as good as these two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, July 29 2003
By A Customer
When i bought this book i thought it would be teriffic. I was not disssopointed. Being fairly new to fantsy books this gave me many new seris to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what you'd expect, Feb. 16 2003
By 
"stupage_stu" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legends: Stories By The Masters of Modern Fantasy (Hardcover)
What would you expect from 11 short stories from 11 of the best selling famous of modern fantasy writers? The stories are set in the same worlds of the original best selling works. The results are pretty much the same as the originals, in other words best selling quality short novels. If you liked the original you'll enjoy the short story. The stories all add something without being crucial. If you're a fan of any of the authors listed, or just wanted to read something by them then you should check out this book. I give it an A on the StuPage Book Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Legends are not born, they are written., Feb. 12 2003
By 
sc_demandred (Irvine, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legends: Stories By The Masters of Modern Fantasy (Hardcover)
Robert Silverberg's idea to collect short stories and novellas from some of this era's most notable and talented Fantasy authors is pure cream-filled joy for fans of the Genre. Despite having read the pertinent series by Stephen King, Robert Jordan, Tad Williams, Terry Goodkind, and Orson Scott Card, this book opened up new worlds to explore and new chapters in some of my favorite series.
My favorites were the ones by King, Williams, Silverberg, Feist, and McCaffrey. I have lost all interest in Terry Goodkind mostly because I find his characters to be wooden and uninteresting, and this story was no more compelling than the last book of his that I read. Goodkind also has a penchant for the "gotcha" ending, something that is frustrating to any reader who struggles to find logical connections between events and character motivation.
The best of this book, however, is The Hedge Knight by George R. R. Martin. I had never heard of Martin when I picked up Legends, and the first thing I did after finishing The Hedge Knight was to go pick up his novel "A Game of Thrones." Thanks to this book, I am now a fan of what may be the best epic fantasy series ever written, and yes, that includes Tolkien, Goodkind, and Jordan. The Hedge Knight is a simple tale of a young man recently knighted trying to make a name for himself in a tournament. The plain and honest style of Martin's prose hooks you in, and suddenly you care very deeply about this hedge knight, Dunk, and what is to become of him as he runs afoul of a vain and dangerous prince. Set approximately 100 years prior to the events that begin in "A Game of Thrones," this tale is a wonderful introduction to Martin's Westeros and the rich mythology and history he has built into it.
I was also intrigued by Feist's The Wood Boy, a tale that, for all it's positioning and setting as a chapter in a tale of strange alien invaders, is about nothing more complex than human nature and the compulsions that make us what we are as a species. Silverberg's Majipoor is also a very intriguing world, and I will be investigating it in the future.
Terry Pratchett's entry is also a key one, showing that not all fantasy need to be deadly serious or take itself very seriously at all. Pratchett almost recalls Douglas Adams' contributions to Science Fiction.
I think most Fantasy fans will be very happy with this book, largely becuase it is not a one-trick pony. There's something in here for every fan of the genre. Are you into fantastic worlds of extremes and mythology? Try Majipoor. Do you like to read tales that chill you and freeze your blood? The little sisters of Eluria are your ticket. Curious about an America that might have been? Orson Scott Card is yor man. Into knights and jousting, intrigue and politics? Martin and Jordan are for you. You can hardly go wrong buying this book, because if even one of the stories catches your interest, there's a new author for you to love. Thank you, Robert Silverberg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS is what we've all been missing!, Aug. 28 2002
By 
John Simpson "john_the_gnerphk" (Old Town, ME United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legends: Stories By The Masters of Modern Fantasy (Hardcover)
There are many of us who have never read Jordan's "Wheel of Time", who indeed are overawed by the vast mass of his epic work. Herein lies the answer: "New Spring", a single story that can serve as an introduction to the whole of Jordan's world. It is marvelously entertaining in its own right; as well, it contains glimpses of the past and future that no Jordan aficionado should miss.

Within this volume, one can find not one, but eleven novellas by the finest talespinners of our age. Each represents an essential element of one of the world's greatest fantasy series. Were Tolkein alive today, doubtless a tale of Middle-Earth would grace these pages... but surrounded by this awesome store of treasures, his absence can be but scarcely noted.

I have no doubt that this is the finest fantasy anthology yet seen by my generation. Neither the collector nor the serious reader should permit it to pass by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing short story, May 11 2002
By 
Evan Wearne (Silver Spring, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legends: Stories By The Masters of Modern Fantasy (Hardcover)
I would have to say Robert Jordan's submission to Legends is perhaps his best work. This was a short story, about 80 pages. It was almost a completely new writing style. Gone were his repetitive descriptions and explanations. For this story, Jordan assumes the Reader has read the series and creates a much more fast paced and interesting plot. It is also a change to able to finish one of his stories in one day. All of the information remains fresh, I never struggled to remember why something was happening. Additionally the plot was well constructed. Reading about Moraine and Lan while they were younger was quite interesting. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Robert Jordan's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jordan's story is worth it alone!, Dec 23 2001
By 
Bryan "Bryan" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
If you're at all a fan of Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time saga (and how could you not be!) then this book is worth the buy for that story alone. It details how Lan and Moiraine first met...awesome. The story is incredibly detailed and the plot doesn't stop twisting until the final sentence is read. Jordan is truly a modern master.
I haven't even read any of the other stories yet but it's got Terry Goodkind, Anne McCaffrey and Stephen King as well as about NINE others. After finishing the Robert Jordan story I immediately hoped on Amazon and bought the other two editions and can't wait to read those!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for Stephen King fans!, Nov. 23 2001
By 
Michael H Cameron (Hyde Park, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legends: Stories By The Masters of Modern Fantasy (Hardcover)
There are two stories contained within this book that I consider absolute must-reads, and worth the price of the book on their own.
The first is "The Little Sisters of Eluria", which is a Stephen King Dark Tower-based story. I've read the DT books three times each; they're easily my favorite King works, and like many fans, I'm going nuts waiting for the next book. This short story flew completely under my radar, until I accidentally happened across a reference to it on some random site. It's about Roland of Gilead, pre-The Gunslinger.
The second is "Dragonfly", and it is set as in the Earthsea trilogy, which I belive won the Nebula award. This story, and the original trilogy, along with the book IV "Tehanu" which came later, are similar to Harry Potter stories, i.e., about magic & easy reading, but they are much more dark and mature than the Potter books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More from the best, Oct. 17 2001
^Legends^ presents original stories from the best writers of fantasy literature. George R.R. Martin's "A Hedge Knight" is a must read for anyone who enjoys his "A Song of Ice and Fire" series (which should be everyone). Orson Scott Card's "A Grinning Man" is a gem that surely will put a smile on your face. It should be a law: Writers this gifted need to publish a new novella every year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss..., March 2 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Legends: Stories By The Masters of Modern Fantasy (Hardcover)
I was thrilled to see Silverberg put this book together. Several wonderful authors, contributing glimpses into their own creations.. brilliant! (No Dennis McKiernan or Neil Gaiman, but you can't please everyone.) Then, after waiting a year, I see the publishers expand it to three separate (and separately-priced) paperbacks. What? Maybe they couldn't fit it into one, I'm not sure of how that's arranged, but there's no reason they couldn't do it in two books. Except the obviou$ one of cour$e.. find the collection in a library or borrow it from someone, but don't encourage the book company by paying for all three books! Please!
Ok, that rant out of the way.. this collection is fantastic overall, but somewhat hit and miss. Williams, Pratchett and Silverberg provide some wonderful short tales, definitely worthy of their series. Robert Jordan's, though very well done, will likely be incomprehensible and pointless to anyone not familiar with the series. (And even if you've read the series, it adds nothing. Too bad.) Feist's is only average.. probably could have come from anyone. But there's plenty of other Riftwar material out there. Martin and McCaffrey's contributions I found interesting, but nothing made me want to read more of their works. King's contribution was pointless and went nowhere.. much like the Dark Tower series so far. Hopefully he'll wrap it up in a nice way, but this small diversion is worthless. Goodkind was simplistic and had a too-impossibly-happy ending (just like the rest of his books). Decent, but he's better at longer stories. OS Card's awful piece of drivel is the worst clunker here, but Le Guin's bunch of aimless ramblings comes in a close second. Maybe it's because I haven't read any Earthsea books, but nothing was explained and nothing happened in the story. Still, why argue? Fantasy fan or not, this collection has something for everyone. Just decide how much you're willing to pay for it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb58f88d0)

This product

Legends: Stories By The Masters of Modern Fantasy
Legends: Stories By The Masters of Modern Fantasy by Stephen King (Hardcover - Aug. 15 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 18.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews