Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to fill in the gaps
Have you read the books yet? If you haven't then this book is useless to you But if you've read most of the series so far then this is the book for you. Ever wondered what the Age of Legends were like or what the flags of the nations looked like? Have you ever wanted to know more about the Bore or the Aiel, well its all in here for you.
It serves as a reference...
Published on Jan. 15 1998

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Ok History Book
This is a nice, big illustrated coffee-table book that gives background on Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time fantasy series.
It's not that bad. However, since the series is ongoing, it doesn't focus on characters or plot details, so it aint much help in clearing up questions about the series. The most revealing thing you'll get is the occasional picture of a main...
Published on Dec 27 2003 by Ronald B. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to fill in the gaps, Jan. 15 1998
By A Customer
Have you read the books yet? If you haven't then this book is useless to you But if you've read most of the series so far then this is the book for you. Ever wondered what the Age of Legends were like or what the flags of the nations looked like? Have you ever wanted to know more about the Bore or the Aiel, well its all in here for you.
It serves as a reference book an fill in many of the details that were fleetingly mentioned in the book, but not elaborated on. If you love the series and want to know more about customs etc of the World of the wheel of time then I strongly recommend it.
And yes, the pictures do suck. Lan's face is bigger than Moraine's body, but the content is excellent. Remember the old saying? "Don't judge a book by its cover (or its pictures in this case)."
Ususally I'd just give Robert Jordan a rating of 10 on all his wheel of time books, but b/c of the pictures, the book deserves a 9.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wheel Of Time, Dec 7 2003
Artwork has nothing to do with the book. I create all the picturs in my mind anyway. If I want to buy a book for pictures I'll buy a comic book. This book however was great. In the large elaborate world of this series a guide is almost a necessity. I know it takes from some of the intrigue of the book. But there are so many characters that directly relate to the plot that I think some of the facts covered in this book will never see print in the series. I highly recommend this to all true fans. I have read the series almost as many times as there are book in the series. Maybe even more. I am unsure. But I still like the information presented here. Artwork is never as good as the pictures in my head anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Ok History Book, Dec 27 2003
By 
Ronald B. Turner "my blog: http://naughtypun... (Newport, Kentucky USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a nice, big illustrated coffee-table book that gives background on Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time fantasy series.
It's not that bad. However, since the series is ongoing, it doesn't focus on characters or plot details, so it aint much help in clearing up questions about the series. The most revealing thing you'll get is the occasional picture of a main character. Instead, the book heavily focuses on providing a history of the fantasy world depicted in the series. In this regard, the book breaks new ground by covering the events before and after the Breaking of the World, pictures of the Seanchan creatures, and hints of what other lands (Sea Folk islands, Shara, Isle of the Madmen) are like. There is also a rather nice section on the Forsaken and Shadow creatures.
The major flaw of the book is that the history can get pretty boring at times. There's a lot of unnecessary repetition and political history. The book doesn't just focus on the political background of kingdoms such as Andor and Illian, but on the long-forgotten kingdoms that preceded them as well. This attempt to make the land more complex just falls flat. Mantheron, once hailed as a mythic empire, is shown just to be one of dozens of tiny blobs on a map. Even more annoying, while the maps show dozens of lost kingdoms, Malkier is missing in action. Malkier was supposed to have been claimed by the Blight. Yet every map in the book dating back to the Breaking of the World shows the Blight as unchanged. Unless it was a tiny dot the size of Mayene you would think a kingdom that was supposed to intrude up into the Blight would show up.
All in all, despite its flaws, the book is ok. If you're a die-hard Wheel of Time then go for it. But if you're just a casual fan, or are looking for answers to plot details about the series, then don't bother with it. At most, you can pick it up and glance at the pretty pictures while killing time in a bookstore or library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good only if you want every possible piece about the WOT, Jan. 16 2002
My apologies to the artists who worked on this book. I feel bad for what I'm about to say about somebody's work.
However, the art in this book is so bad that it actually ruins the entire experience of reading. It's so ugly that you simply can't stand to look at it. I don't know who thought that the art submitted was good enought to be included, but they are almost certainly related to either Robert Jordan or Teresa Patterson who "co-wrote" the book. It's almost childish the quality of work contained here. Perspectives are off, the colors are unwisely chosen, and I pray that the character protrayed look nothing like this in "reality".
And another thing...who the heck is Teresa Patterson? Was Robert Jordan too busy to explain the world he created himself? I mean come on. Is this woman some sort of expert on the wheel of time? I mean the writing is okay, but it's also poorly orgainized and not too insightful. I imagine that a 14 year old fan could've written a better description of the history of Jordan's universe here.
Get this book only if you want every possible scrap of garbage you can get on the Wheel of Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WHY NOW?, April 20 2001
I'm a BIG WoT fan--I own all the books--which is why I couldn't resist the urge to buy this book. The main reason why I got it is because I've always been fascinated about the lands of the Seanchan and Shara. Although the book doesn't tell you much about those lands, there are MAPS of the WHOLE WORLD. There are Age of Legends maps and present-day maps. As for the artwork, it is not that good. The only picture that does a good job of resembling a character is the one of Lanfear. Now keep in mind that everyone's idea of "beautiful" will differ. Also keep in mind that Lanfear has different shades of beauty. The reason why I like that picture is because it makes Lanfear look attractive--at least--BUT AT THE SAME TIME you can see her potential for evil. It's that dark look in her eyes. As for the book itself, you'd expect more from Robert Jordan. I've heard somewhere that his pile of NOTES is TWICE as large as the whole series. If that's the case, I wonder what he's leaving out. I like the 7 book covers enclosed in the middle--but you can't take them out without damaging a very expensive book. These book cover pictures don't have the lettering, just the picture, and they take up two pages apiece. I just wish that they would have been made into tear-out posters. Finally, I don't understand why Robert Jordan published this book when the series wasn't even done yet. Tolkien was smart enough not to do that. In short, when the series IS done, you can bet that Robert Jordan will have to crank out ANOTHER textbook with ALL the covers and everything else. All in all, I'd say that ONLY HARDCORE WoT fans should get this book, if not for the artwork then for the narrative. Or, better yet, wait for the FINAL (?) textbook-like Wheel of Time book to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Supplement with Poor Artwork, Jan. 4 2001
By 
Paul (New Orleans) - See all my reviews
"The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time" (hereinafter "World") is a good companion book for any fan of this great series. Filled with helpful and original material, this companion book gives readers a look at the geography, society, and present & past history of this highly detailed fantasy world. This is a must read book for fans of this series.
However, there are two important caveats. First, the original artwork contained in this book can be described in one word: dreadful! Hideous, terrible, yuck, ugly, and other negative adjectives are also accurate. The artwork in this book is on the level of bad fan art, except most fan art I've seen is better than what is contained in this book. When compared to the cover art of Darrell K. Sweet, which is also found in this book, its enough to make you cringe when looking at the pathetic interior illustrations of Todd Cameron Hamilton. But bad as the artwork is, and it is BAD, it does not overcome the information contained in this book.
The second caveat is that "World" was published prior to the release of book 8, "A Path of Daggers". Two books have now been published (with who knows how many yet to come)since the release of "World", so there is some dating to this companion book. But there is enough original material to still make "World" a good purchase for any fan of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Info, Poor Artwork, July 10 2000
By A Customer
The information in this book was really great. It told a lot about the countries and the people, as well as history dating back to the Age of Legends. The maps were also really neat. It was really helpful. The info was good, but the artwork was just plain awful. All of the people in those pictures are extremely different than I imagined them, and some of the banners for the countries don't even match their descriptions. The description of the sigil and banner of Arad Domon are as follows: SIGIL A silver hand grasping a silver sword by the blade, point down; the Sword and Hand. BANNER The Sword and Hand on a field of four green and three blue horizontal stripes. The picture shows a silver hand grasping a silver sword by the hilt, point up, on a field of four green and three white horizontal stripes. I also find it interesting that Loial is pictured differently on the cover of The Great Hunt that he is in this book. And Galad is supposed to be handsome, not looking like he is half mad! Now, I know that the author does not choose the illustrators, so I am not blaming Robert Jordan. I just think that whoever did choose made some bad choices. From this review, you may think that I did not like this book, but that is not so. It is well written, with a lot of information, as long as you didn't look at the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money on this empty box!, April 21 2000
By 
David Rasquinha (Arlington, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has to be the worst case of reader exploitation I havecome across. This book, supposedly a guide to the WOT world simplyrehashes what has already appeared in the first 7 books and contributes precious little that is new. On the plus side, at long last we finally get to see maps of the entire World; Seanchan in slightly better detail, Shara is a largely blank slate and the Isle of the Fisherfolk is not much better. There also appears an Isle of Madmen to the south which makes me fear additional complications to come. I suppose one should be grateful for these maps, despite their paucity of detail, considering that none of the series books contains anything but the same wretched map of the immediate world and pathetic city maps. If at all the book has any new information, it lies in the biographical sketches of the Forsaken, outlining their background and motivation. But the motivations themselves frequently seem to contradict the delineation of the characters in the series, especially Asmodean, and are totally out of sync with the Aes Sedai concept. Shallow is the word that describes these sketches in fact, as also the brief histories of the Seanchan and the other peoples. Bad proof reading is compounded by some of the worst illustrations I have even seen. The artist has obviously not read the books, so blatant are the contradictions. Look at the pciture of Lanfear and tell me if this is the most beautiful woman ever! Or the caricatures (I can't call these illustrations) of Galad, Lan or Aviendha for instance and match them with their characters. And would you believe that Min, who plays such a key role in the series, is not even mentioned anywhere! Some Guide indeed. Or perhaps we should be grateful there is no illustration of Min at least. This "book" is nothing but a bare faced attemnpt by the publisher to (get) money from fans who are hooked onto the series. Do not fall for it. I think TOR and RJ owe an apology and a refund to anyone who bought this (book). I am giving it 1 star because the system does not permit anything less. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not overly usefull and could spoil things for new readers, Jan. 4 2000
By 
Amazon Customer (Ann Arbor, Michigan) - See all my reviews
While I truly enjoy the WoT books, I have to say this was a "Show me the money" book by TOR. The information in the book was primarlily a rehash of things readers discover or can infer through reading the series. In other words, for those that have read the complete series up to the date of this book there was not a whole lot of new information. For those that are just starting the WoT series, this book could spoil a lot of the suprises. I also have to admit that I thought the art was terrible and question wheter the artist even read the series.
On the plus side, the Guide provides a handy reference for hard core WoT fans. It also provides a number of maps that the books have lacked.
I would suggest buying this only after you have completed reading the series up to book 8 and have read the short story in "Legends." This is a good reference book to have if your re-reading the series or just trying to pass the time until the next book is out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nicely organised information but very poor illustrations., March 23 1999
I would expect from R. Jordan who in truth is an excellent writter and whose work and world reaches in authenticity and brilliancy that of J.R.R. Tolkien, to demand a much higher capability and talent from the person chosen to illustrate this wonderful book. I was trully disappointed by the drawings and I am obliged to say that I personally have a couple of friends who could illustrate this book with much higher accuracy and drawing ability. All the pictures, except the covers of the 7 books, are failures. The Dragharr is alien-like, Aviendha who is supposed to be of wild and amazing beauty is rather ugly and most of all, Lanfear who by the words of R. Jordan is one of the most beautiful women if not the most beautiful, of all ages, is like a cheap comic figure. On the other hand this guide proves to be valuable for the "Wheel of Time" fan and its contents are summarising the whole world and its known history in the best way. I wish that in the future R. Jordan will choose another artist to re- draw the characters. Only then, his fans will be able to forget the present failed ones...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time
The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time by Teresa Patterson (Paperback - Nov. 10 2001)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 18.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews