Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to fill in the gaps
Have you read the books yet? If you haven't then this book is useless to you But if you've read most of the series so far then this is the book for you. Ever wondered what the Age of Legends were like or what the flags of the nations looked like? Have you ever wanted to know more about the Bore or the Aiel, well its all in here for you.
It serves as a reference...
Published on Jan. 15 1998

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Ok History Book
This is a nice, big illustrated coffee-table book that gives background on Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time fantasy series.
It's not that bad. However, since the series is ongoing, it doesn't focus on characters or plot details, so it aint much help in clearing up questions about the series. The most revealing thing you'll get is the occasional picture of a main...
Published on Dec 27 2003 by Ronald B. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wheel Of Time, Dec 7 2003
Artwork has nothing to do with the book. I create all the picturs in my mind anyway. If I want to buy a book for pictures I'll buy a comic book. This book however was great. In the large elaborate world of this series a guide is almost a necessity. I know it takes from some of the intrigue of the book. But there are so many characters that directly relate to the plot that I think some of the facts covered in this book will never see print in the series. I highly recommend this to all true fans. I have read the series almost as many times as there are book in the series. Maybe even more. I am unsure. But I still like the information presented here. Artwork is never as good as the pictures in my head anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to fill in the gaps, Jan. 15 1998
By A Customer
Have you read the books yet? If you haven't then this book is useless to you But if you've read most of the series so far then this is the book for you. Ever wondered what the Age of Legends were like or what the flags of the nations looked like? Have you ever wanted to know more about the Bore or the Aiel, well its all in here for you.
It serves as a reference book an fill in many of the details that were fleetingly mentioned in the book, but not elaborated on. If you love the series and want to know more about customs etc of the World of the wheel of time then I strongly recommend it.
And yes, the pictures do suck. Lan's face is bigger than Moraine's body, but the content is excellent. Remember the old saying? "Don't judge a book by its cover (or its pictures in this case)."
Ususally I'd just give Robert Jordan a rating of 10 on all his wheel of time books, but b/c of the pictures, the book deserves a 9.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Ok History Book, Dec 27 2003
By 
Ronald B. Turner "my blog: http://naughtypun... (Newport, Kentucky USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a nice, big illustrated coffee-table book that gives background on Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time fantasy series.
It's not that bad. However, since the series is ongoing, it doesn't focus on characters or plot details, so it aint much help in clearing up questions about the series. The most revealing thing you'll get is the occasional picture of a main character. Instead, the book heavily focuses on providing a history of the fantasy world depicted in the series. In this regard, the book breaks new ground by covering the events before and after the Breaking of the World, pictures of the Seanchan creatures, and hints of what other lands (Sea Folk islands, Shara, Isle of the Madmen) are like. There is also a rather nice section on the Forsaken and Shadow creatures.
The major flaw of the book is that the history can get pretty boring at times. There's a lot of unnecessary repetition and political history. The book doesn't just focus on the political background of kingdoms such as Andor and Illian, but on the long-forgotten kingdoms that preceded them as well. This attempt to make the land more complex just falls flat. Mantheron, once hailed as a mythic empire, is shown just to be one of dozens of tiny blobs on a map. Even more annoying, while the maps show dozens of lost kingdoms, Malkier is missing in action. Malkier was supposed to have been claimed by the Blight. Yet every map in the book dating back to the Breaking of the World shows the Blight as unchanged. Unless it was a tiny dot the size of Mayene you would think a kingdom that was supposed to intrude up into the Blight would show up.
All in all, despite its flaws, the book is ok. If you're a die-hard Wheel of Time then go for it. But if you're just a casual fan, or are looking for answers to plot details about the series, then don't bother with it. At most, you can pick it up and glance at the pretty pictures while killing time in a bookstore or library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good All Around, April 17 2003
By 
This review is from: The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time (Paperback)
Not bad really. The pictures were awful though! The artist must have never read the books at all! If you've read or seen the Wheel of Time Roleplaying book, the pictures are much better there.
Stuff on the Seanchan and Shara weren't bad, but most of the stuff thru the book was pretty vague, like Jordan didn't want to reveal anything. Which makes sense considering this book came out only when Jordan's 7th in the series was out. A lot has happened since then.
But basically, everything in the book you could get from the series, if you just read it carefully. It's a good companion book for extra history and details, but it could've been better with more maps, better pictures, and more history and details. Don't buy it unless you're a hardcore fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good!, March 14 2003
By A Customer
I don't know about you guys but I enjoyed it. Yeah, the pictures aren't Michael Whelan or Keith Parkinson quality but I think what they do lack, you make up in your imagination. I would rather see a sketch of a character I have fully imagined in my head versus seeing a complete rendition of a character that I have imagined to be something else comepletly. The sketch kind of makes you...Fill in the spaces. These pictures were obviously sketches, lol. Anyways, the rest of it is interesting and if you don't want to look up a bunch of info on the books in the books, look in here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Reminder to a *Long* Series, Aug. 30 2002
By 
For those who liked the Silmarillion best of all Tolkein's works- who really enjoy history and geography, even if it's fictional, this is an excellent work. Jordan provides the history, culture, philosophy, xenology, and geography to his world, with many extra bonuses that you won't find (yet) in any of the novels. For a series that has dragged on way too long, with some 7,000 pages, it is really hard to keep track of who is doing what, and who is who. This very encompassing work gives you the background you need to remember whenever that new Jordan novel comes out. And it is amazing to discover secret tidbits that you can't find anywhere else, like a large continent to the South of the main two, populated by madmen, where the anarchy and lasse faire attitudes towards the One Power rain supreme. You got to check out this book to find out more about this place, and many others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately disappointing..., Aug. 20 2002
By 
Having read all of the Wheel of Time books (so far) I,like any other fan, love to imagine the world of the books in my head and I was very excited when I heard this book existed. Alas, it wasn't what I hoped it would be. Although it was imaginative and it clarified many of the points in the books in the end it just felt like the authors were writing this book with one hand tied behind their backs. They had no idea how the series was going to turn out so they had to write a very limited view of Randworld. In my opinion they should've waited until the end of the series to write this book. And yes, my god, they should've gotten a better artist. The drawings look like they were done by seven year olds. The faces are ugly, the bodies are out of proportion and the colors are dull and lifeless. Is it so hard to find good artists? Get Barlowe. Then we would have a guide worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great WoT Background History, April 15 2002
This book gives great background history for Robert Jordan's Wheel Of Time Series. It has lots of information that you won't find just reading the novels. This book is a must read for any true WoT fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This may have been a good buy when it first came out . . ., April 3 2002
By 
Bart Humphries "Banaticus" (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Widely reffered to on WoT (Wheel of Time) webpages, including "official" webpages, as the BBA (Book of Bad Art) this book (with the release of several more volumes of the WoT series) has become incredibly dated. It is nice to have some of this information in a readily indexed format, though.
If you don't already have it, don't buy it unless you are a WoT fanatic, purchasing every WoT item that you can lay your hands on. Although, if you are a WoT fanatic, you probably already bought this book when it first came out, back when it was worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., Feb. 21 2002
By A Customer
The information helped a good deal in giving a better view of the series and background on nations and cultures. Such as the Aiel. I would suggest this book for any WoT reader as a good reference guide, however, I thought the art could have been much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time
The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time by Teresa Patterson (Paperback - Nov. 10 2001)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 18.80
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews