Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A not to miss cannot put down book!
If anyone likes Brenda Joyce then they will love this book. You will swept away in amzing sexual tension, a complex mystery, and drop dead gorgeous brothers who persue Francesca, the heroine.
Published on June 11 2003 by Randi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak yet Strong
This isn't really a romance book, but hints to be one. This book is more on mystery than romance. While we know that Francesca and Rick are the heroine and hero of this series, I do not feel that Rick feels anything for Francesca, from the beginning to the last page, even after Joel's last comment, which I was like "duh... how did it seem so?"
This book...
Published on Aug. 17 2001 by ACWJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely terrible, Aug. 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Deadly Love (Mass Market Paperback)
I was horribly disappointed by this book. When I bought it I though it would be a romance mystery. Unfortunately,its not a romance. The most romance in this book is a kiss between two main characters who can never get togeather, in this book or any other in the seiries. unexpressable unrequited love that is not overcome is not my idea of a romance. In addition to this, the myster part of the story is a major let down, boring and predictable from a mile away. If you want a romance or a mystery get a different book about the only thing this book is a waste of time. And for all of you who think that this may only be the case in the first book of the series i'm sorry to disappoint, none of the others in this series change this situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A not to miss cannot put down book!, June 11 2003
By 
Randi (SC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadly Love (Mass Market Paperback)
If anyone likes Brenda Joyce then they will love this book. You will swept away in amzing sexual tension, a complex mystery, and drop dead gorgeous brothers who persue Francesca, the heroine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining!, July 23 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Deadly Love (Mass Market Paperback)
I had read Deadly Affairs first, then Deadly Love, but I am glad because I know why Rick Bragg just wanted to be friends with Francesca Cahill. If I had read this book first, I would of felt it just left you hanging there, and there would be no completion to the story, like some other readers did. Everything made sense. There is really no character development or interaction, but do remember that they have just met and it is a beginning of a series. I had a problem with Montrose's attitude toward his infidility. He felt that he did nothing wrong because adultery is very wrong, even though it was legal to keep a mistress back then. Overall, it was more of a mystery than romance, but still had you hanging on the edge of the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Please, June 19 2002
By 
Phyllis Ginsburg (Granada Hills, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deadly Love (Mass Market Paperback)
I have found the Francesca Cahill series a joy to read. I must correct reviewer Shawna, the college is in Manhatten, not England. The story is set in "early' Manhatten. There are enough twists & turns in the plot to keep me reading & enjoying. Again, more please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Joyce brings depth in characterization and atmosphere, March 30 2002
By 
Desmond Chan (Bishan North Singapore) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadly Love (Mass Market Paperback)
As an ardent reformist in New York in 1902, Francesca Cahill refuses to be bound by conventions. She studies secretly in Barnard College to refrain from incurring the wrath of her mother and is socially active especially in the plans for the Police Department to eliminate rife corruption.
By chance of fate, she now takes on the role of a female sleuth to investigate the disappearance of Jonny Burton, a child of her neighbour who was mysteriously abducted. A series of notes and clues are sent. She joins forces with the new police commissioner, Rick Bragg to solve the crime and discovers that things aren't always what they seem....
Francesca Cahill is also the protagonist of Brenda Joyce's Deadly series to dabble in historical romanctic suspense. Deadly Love as the maiden book proves refreshing in the period of 1900 and is atmospheric in the description of New York's socialite. The mystery kidnapping itself isn't much of an intricate plot but the stunning revelations explores human foibles and crimes of passion which is rare in today's romances. The suspense is fast-paced and the chemistry between Bragg and Francesca crackles. Joyce succeeds in bringing out the complexity of her sub-characters like Connie, her sister and Neil, her sister-in-law through engaging sub-plots.
Though choppy at times and a rambling mystery yarn, Brenda Joyce is laudable for her humane portrayal of her characters and her penchance for historical details. It offers some high-voltage drama and grit at times and DEADLY LOVE is an auspicious start to her new series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The "Deadly" Series Books, March 29 2002
By 
Lilly Rabalais (Alexandria, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadly Love (Mass Market Paperback)
Brenda Joyce's "Deadly" series are wonderful. The stories are continuing from one book to the other. Thus far, I believe there have been three with a fouth due in May 2002. I love this series and love all the characters, especially Bragg and Francesca. Connie and Neil are great too and one wonders what will happen to Calder. Just keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The "Deadly" Series Books, March 29 2002
By 
Lilly Rabalais (Alexandria, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadly Love (Mass Market Paperback)
Brenda Joyce's "Deadly" series are wonderful. The stories are continuing from one book to the other. Thus far, I believe there have been three with a fouth due in May 2002. I love this series and love all the characters, especially Bragg and Francesca. Connie and Neil are great too and one wonders what will happen to Calder. Just keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Story!, Jan. 29 2002
This review is from: Deadly Love (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a thoroughly entertaining! I was quite surprised by the ending. I can't wait to read the next one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious Project-- Victorian Mystery, Aug. 27 2001
This review is from: Deadly Love (Mass Market Paperback)
Brenda Joyce makes a bold choice with the story "Deadly Love". She sets it in 1902 among the New York elite. One young woman from a well-connected, prominent New York family, Francesca Cahill, doesn't want to be married off. She has secretly enrolled herself in Barnard College and works to reform the social ills of New York (somewhat reminiscent of Jude Devereux's Temptation). It makes for an interesting premise that doesn't work so well on paper. I didn't warm to Francesca Cahill-- she was forever crashing into the middle of tense scenes, bungling police operations (although she did ultimately help the investigation). That kind of headstrong naivete is not a pleasure to read, especially in a mystery. And, yes, I think that kind of characterization insults readers' intelligence. But, yes, Francesca might mature in the books to follow. I hope she does.
I also did not like how one woman, who was supposed to be sympathetic, had committed adultry with half the men in New York. Sometimes Brenda Joyce creates characters who are hard to like. Warning: This novel is not a romance, but was marketed as one to pick up Brenda Joyce's romance readership. There are hints of romantic feeling, but that's it. So, Five stars for the interesting setting.
Five stars for the historical detail.
Three stars for the characters.
Plot, eh, three stars. Recommended for a quick one-time, one-night read. For better romantic suspense try Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake series, J.D. Robb's "in Death" series, and Dianne Day's "Fremont Jones" series. Anne Perry also sets her mysteries in the Victorian period in England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Weak yet Strong, Aug. 17 2001
This review is from: Deadly Love (Mass Market Paperback)
This isn't really a romance book, but hints to be one. This book is more on mystery than romance. While we know that Francesca and Rick are the heroine and hero of this series, I do not feel that Rick feels anything for Francesca, from the beginning to the last page, even after Joel's last comment, which I was like "duh... how did it seem so?"
This book is weak by itself in storyline and definitely in the aspect of romance. However, let us not forget that it is the beginning of a series of romance mystery between Francesca and Rick, and the people around her.
Deadly Love is like a small piece that makes up a big puzzle. While it may not be an enjoyment to read and does not live up to its expectations, Deadly Love, as the first book to the series, introduces and builds a set of characters we need to know for the future stories.
Thus, I think I will appreciate this book more as the story develops when more books are released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deadly Love
Deadly Love by Brenda Joyce (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 15 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews