Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Blend of Originality and Imagination
Sex therapist Grace Alexander is turning twenty-nine, and her track record in relationships with men has been less than stellar. Her closest friend Selena, a gypsy palm reader, is concerned that Grace lacks a love life and gives her a very special birthday gift. A two thousand year old book that, according to legend, contains a Greek God trapped inside its covers for all...
Published on May 17 2004 by klpepsi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but just a little too far-fetched
The story revolves around Julian, an ex-Spartan General who is condemned to spend eternity as a love-slave trapped inside of a book. He is released every few years to become the sexual toy of the woman who calls him into service. Enter Grace Alexander who is tricked by her friend into calling Julian from the book. Grace is a sex therapist, who has her own sexual...
Published on Sept. 22 2002 by TooManyHobbies


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Blend of Originality and Imagination, May 17 2004
This review is from: Fantasy Lover (Mass Market Paperback)
Sex therapist Grace Alexander is turning twenty-nine, and her track record in relationships with men has been less than stellar. Her closest friend Selena, a gypsy palm reader, is concerned that Grace lacks a love life and gives her a very special birthday gift. A two thousand year old book that, according to legend, contains a Greek God trapped inside its covers for all eternity, to be summoned by a woman as her own personal love slave. Grace is skeptical, but jokingly plays along with reciting the words to bring him forth. Nothing happens.
Well, initially nothing happens. But a little later she finds a huge, gorgeous, and very naked warrior in her house ready to fulfill her every fantasy. Now while most of us would nail shut all the windows and doors, take the phone off the hook, and never leave home again, Grace refuses to give in to her urges. In fact, she insists he wear clothes, takes him out in public, and treats him as a human.
A Greek general, and son of the goddess Aphrodite, Julian of Macedon was cursed by his jealous brother, and placed in the book to spend eternity alone. Except for when a woman summons him, and then he spends from one full moon to the next pleasuring her, and he knows everything about pleasuring a woman. Julian learned long ago to accept his fate, and no longer feels anything, but Grace changes all that. Now together they will work to figure out how to break the curse, but when they discover how, will they each be willing to follow through with what's required?
This remains one of, if not the most unique romance novel I've read to date. When I decided to read this book, it was with a mix of intrigue for the original storyline, and trepidation it would be too far-fetched, and might be to the point of ridiculous. But the fact this book is on the Romance Writers of America's Top Ten List, of the year it was published, prompted me to give it a try. And I have to say I wasn't disappointed. This story is very well written, and even though it stretches the limits of the imagination, it does not come off as ridiculous or silly as I had feared. The mix of myth, romance, tenderness, humor, intrigue, and yes, some really sizzling love scenes, makes for an intoxicating and memorable reading experience. I actually read this several months ago, and even though I've read many books since this, I still remember this one.
If I had to come up with something negative, it would probably be that I felt the climatic ending was stretched out a little too long. The number of events that occurred then went wrong, thus requiring Aphrodite's intervention, got a little frustrating for me. I'll leave it at that; so not too much of the ending is given away. In the grand scheme of things, that was only minor, and this book is definitely worth checking out for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly sensual and funny, May 21 2004
By 
Lealing (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fantasy Lover (Mass Market Paperback)
Julian of Macedon is half Greek God and half human, cursed by his brother Priapus to live in a book as a love slave to be conjured up by women to please their every sexual whim. Julian has been trapped in this book for 2000 years, when one day he is conjured up by Grace Alexander, a sex therapist who hasn't had a relationship in some time. Grace refuses to give into her body's desires and to use Julian as a sex slave because she is decent and has been hurt in the past. Together, Julian and Grace try to find a way to free Julian from the curse.
This book is hot and is very sensual but also very funny. The dialogue is very witty and will have you in fits of giggles every other page. Miss Kenyon sure knows how to turn up the heat. Reading this book is like going through hours of pleasurable foreplay and to arrive at a very satisfying climax. Julian is the most gorgeous hero you will ever meet in a romance novel and you too will be wishing that you can conjure him up from the book as a love slave. Although, there are plenty of sexual scenes, the love story is also gentle and sweet. A very highly recommended read.
Lealing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The #1 BEST EVER! So HOT my fingertips are scorched!, May 12 2004
By 
G. Jordan "ginazone" (Adirondacks, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantasy Lover (Mass Market Paperback)
Oh Julian, wherefore art thou MY Julian of Macedon??? WOW! A-hem. Whether a fan of romance or not, this is a book EVERY WOMAN MUST OWN, whew! I stayed up all night long, and I shamelessly admit to some major lip licking, messy drools...Awww come on Grace, share!
For anyone who has even the slightest "Love Slave" type secret fantasy, this is a must-own-it book, no library copies will do because you will NOT be able to give it back, that means you can forget borrowing a friend's copy! Uh-uh, no way! From page one to the very last typed word, I was ADDICTED! This book has a bit of everything--Magick, God/desses, Ancient history, love story, tragedy, tear jerker, side-achingly funny, action & sword fights, totally NON-stereotypical characterizations, all wrapped up in a most delicious package. Yummmy.
Forget credibility, but that's ok--even if you are like me and don't go for romance because you can't suspend your sense of reality THAT much--because you WON'T even NOTICE it's gone, a pretty neat trick if I do say so! Almost from the start of the story, with Selena bemoaning very publicly about Grace's non-existent sex life, followed by Grace's tomato-ripe protests, the reader falls in love with these characters, and becomes Grace somehow. One definitely loses all sense of time and space outside of this story and almost tumbles onto cloud 9, voyeurs or flies on the wall.
Grace is not your typical super-model type, and has been made fun of for her looks, so she is insecure--I think we all can relate to that! She's been used badly by one man and has become sexually anorexic herself while, ironically, working as sex therapy doctor! Witchy Selena, who couldn't be any more different from her best friend Grace, decides to give Grace the birthday surprise of a lifetime, and whew boy, did she!
I won't give away anymore of this story, just do yourself a favor and BUY THIS BOOK, then guard it from all your female friends (and maybe a few males too? haha). You won't regret THIS purchase, if anything you may regret that you didn't get it sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Story, March 11 2004
By 
Elizabeth "lking173" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fantasy Lover (Mass Market Paperback)
Okay I admit I am a Sherrilyn Kenyon fanatic. Once I discovered her "Dark Hunter" series I lost it! This is actually the first book before the Dark Hunter Series. It's a very beautiful and oh so sexy contemporary love story. Grace Alexander is not what you would call sexy by a long shot. She's a little chunky, and knows she is no beauty. Her best friend Selena gives Grace a book for her birthday. Selena informs Grace that this book contains a "love slave" who will become her every fantasy for a month if she calls him from the book. As a joke Grace calls forth the love slave, and meets Julian of Macedon.
Julian is a warrior who has been trapped as a love slave in a book for over 2,000 years by a bitter enemy. Grace sees past Julian's perfect body, and sees a person in torment. She is determined to help him solve the curse and find a way out of the book. She just hopes she can keep her heart as she spends each day with him. This is a great story. I would highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holy Green Guacamole, Oct. 11 2003
This review is from: Fantasy Lover (Mass Market Paperback)
'Fantasy Lover' is a funny romance, if a bit corny with the little lines that Kenyon uses in place of cussing. Grace Alexander, a twenty-nine-year-old sex therapist, is cajoled into performing a tiny ritual on her birthday to summon a love-slave from a very old Greek book. Surprisingly, it actually works. In fact, I'm sure that little Gracie was VERY surprised, seeing as how she busted out screeming when the love-slave, a.k.a. Julian, popped up naked in her living room. Later asking her for pizza, of all things.
As it turns out, Grace has nerves of steel and is able to resist the temptation of this incredibly sexual man--sometimes. She gets to know Julian, and among some other really horrible things about his life, she finds out that Julian is the bastard son of Aphrodite, and that his brother cast him into the book over two thousand years ago.
...He has a very disfunctional family.
Anyway, to continue, if Julian can't hold off the urge to have sex with Grace until the very last night for some twelve hours (I believe it is) then he'll be sucked back into the book and Grace will have lost the love of her life.
-Embyr Bradson (10/19/03)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy and emotionally satisfying, Aug. 7 2003
This review is from: Fantasy Lover (Mass Market Paperback)
Demigod Julian of Macedon has been cursed, tormented in a halfway life that makes him a love slave for one woman after another, each for a month. When her friend talks her into summoning a lover, Grace Alexander finally goes along--but the last thing she needs is a man who will love her and abandon her--as did the man who took her virginity years before. Things would be simple if only she didn't find Julian so attractive--and so noble.
Julian can't understand a woman who feeds him, talks to him, lets him out of her bedroom, and won't even have sex with him. But not having sex is simply not an option. As the month they have together goes by, he'll grow more and more insane. But his brother Eros/Cupid tells him that the curse can only be broken if he waits--and he cannot wait.
Even if she can free him from his curse, Grace knows that she can never have Julian for her own. However things turn out for him, for her, the only possible outcome is loss and loneliness.
Author Sherrilyn Kenyon writes a sexy and compelling paranormal story. Julian is an attractive tortured hero (although a bit anachronistic as a pre-Christian whose favorite curse is a corruption of Jesus). Cupid's appearance as a biker is charming.
FANTASY LOVER takes the fantasy of a male love slave and gives it an emotional depth. It's a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cover promises what Book delivers, Aug. 1 2003
By 
This review is from: Fantasy Lover (Mass Market Paperback)
It is a fabulous fantasy that Ms. Kenyon brings to life literally within the pages of her book, Fantasy Lover.
She puts a new twist to those old Greek gods and how they enteract with us humans. A work-a-holic, no-success-with-relationships, woman bows to her somewhat loony psychic friend's pressure when presented with a very erotically sexy picture in an ancient book. Is the old text for real? No. No way could HE be real flesh and blood, even if she did call out his name three times at midnight on a full moon while holding to the book to her heart! But that's exactly what happens. And, for the next four weeks, the odd couple is nearly inseparable... as he can't help but tempt her beyond endurance while she tries to hold him (and his hormones) at bay in an effort to rescue him from a curse and capture true love forever!
John De Salvo on the cover is superb, even if the picture is small. (A larger copy is on Ms. Kenyon's Web site!) But, the fantasy that Ms. Kenyon weaves is the dessert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Julian of Macedon, Julian of Macedon, Julian of Macedon!!!, July 15 2003
By 
N. Gordon "hot_mama" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantasy Lover (Mass Market Paperback)
I absolutely LOVED this book!!! It was referred to me by a friend and I ordered both it and the sequel, Night Pleasures. Julian was an endearing character, and I enjoyed the fact that he fell so hard for Grace, who isn't what people would consider sexy. After reading some of the reviews, I don't understand how anyone could give this any less than five stars!!!??? I've heard references to this being "soft porn". Well, I have to say that it IS romance, so most likely there will be sex involved. Also, the story has a sexual theme - he is a sex slave, they're attracted to each other and have to supress it, and the actual act is the only thing that can both save and damn him. The fact that he was constantly trying to be with her had a lot to do with the fact that he had an impulse to satisfy her, which Sherrilyn described during Cupid and Julian's talk. So that answers the questions about why they were always in the shower and such.
This book was a wonderful opener to the Dark Hunter's series and I expect great things from Ms. Kenyon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, May 17 2003
This review is from: Fantasy Lover (Mass Market Paperback)
A great series. I docked it one star because the male leads are portrayed as so gorgeous no woman can resist them, which I find irritating, because there should be more than just one woman in the universe who can see past a gorgeous face. Other than that I find the book a wonderful romp with a great plot line. The depiction of various gods is wonderful. It's got a lot of bite, and the various mythological personas are shown as dangerous and powerful, and passionate in both their cruelty and their love.
Before anyone get's the wrong idea, this is a "present day" novel series. But our female lead is a sensible practical female who through the meddling of outside forces (in this case Selena, a best friend who works magic) is pulled into a fantastic situation. For her birthday Grace is given a book that contains a "love slave" who if summoned will be at her service for the length of a lunar month. Thinking it's a joke, Grace plays along with her friend's urging to try the spell. When Julian of Macedon appears, she finds out it's no joke.
I highly recommend the series for fans of the Xena and Buffy type universes. This book sets up the universe that is full of magical entities that exist in a "regular" world. A great mix of outrageous and over the top beefcake romance, and more gritty fantasy action adventure. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's the perfect lover, April 21 2003
By 
R. Plaza-Gotay (New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantasy Lover (Mass Market Paperback)
Julian of Macedon, a man who used to strike fear in his enemies just by the mere mention of his name, a man who was fearless and immortal in battle, a man who fought with conviction was trapped into a scroll and condemned to be a sex slave for any women who conjured him out of the scrolls.
2000 years later Grace Alexander has a boring life, until her best friend Selena (who is as weird as her family and beleives in everything of the occult) gives Grace this particular book with the picture of the perfect man inside. Grace does not beleive for a second that by simply calling him Julian will appear in her home and please her anyway she wants for an entire month. However she does it and voila! Julian is in her living room... very much NAKED!
As the story evolves we learn about Julian's tumultuos past, as well as Grace's. How the get to know each other and how Grace refuses to use Julian as a lover, just like she was used several years ago in a bet. But in an unlikekly event they fall in love with each other and even before that Grace is convinced that she will help Julian break the curse and set him free.
The book is absolutetly wonderful with humor, tenderness, steamy scenes and a painful past so well written I found myself crying for Julian. Ms. Kenyon is a fantastic writter and I will read anything that has her name in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantasy Lover
Fantasy Lover by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 18 2002)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews