Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read... until the ending doesn't materialize
Extremely interesting book with insightful theories on why and how we make decisions. Unfortunately, you don't find out until the disappointing end that the "chapters" were independent essays. As with most books, I looked forward to finding out how the author will wrap everything up and tie the stories together in the end. Apparently, Gladwell either didn't feel...
Published on June 23 2005

versus
64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informed Intuition Beats Analysis and Knee-Jerk Prejudices
Like The Tipping Point, Blink has a very simple point which it elaborates from a variety of perspectives. In this case, the point is that our subconscious mind can integrate small, subtle clues to very quickly make great decisions . . . as long as we have been trained to know what clues to focus on.

In developing that simple idea, Mr. Gladwell makes the case...
Published on July 15 2006 by Donald Mitchell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as Good as the Hype, Jan. 16 2009
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
This book says that sometimes people make good decisions, sometimes bad upon first impression. It gives examples. Little attempt is made to show us how to make the good decisions instead of the bad ones. It says that sometimes deliberate choices, sometimes spontaneous choices are better. In other words, it's common sense. I found the subtitle to be misleading. I was expecting more of an explanation exactly just how to use that "power of thinking without thinking".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal book, Nov. 25 2008
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book. While the topic is quite scientific, the author
has been able to engage the reader easily with compelling, memorable stories. A great eye-opener!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars underrated, Nov. 3 2007
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
This book is a compelling read. It is initially somewhat like a novel, full of anecdotes, and this can lend an air of superficiality. However, in an efficient and very entertaining way, Malcolm Gladwell gets to the heart of how we make those split second 'gut reactions', and tackles an important subject in very accessible way. The anecdotal examples are a very useful tool, creating memorable scenarios in which to play out the concepts which are discussed.

He explores why sometimes these 'blinks' are right and sometimes they are wrong, and more significantly, how we can train ourselves to make more reliable instinctive reactions in future, by deliberate painstaking preparation and careful training of our brains with the necessary expertise, and also being aware of the standard errors, so that 'in the moment' it can make use of this absorbed knowledge to make accurate snap decisions.

Fascinating! And very accessible to the lay reader, with no advanced psychological background needed. Although it does touch on various existing concepts regarding false-positive defense mechanisms, overriding of red-flags, projection, dissociation etc, it is all explained in straightforward language, and in a quite individual style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't . . . or you'll miss it!, March 20 2006
I started this book in the early morning and couldn't put it down until I had read it all. The author challenges the traditional notion that intuitive decisions are based on mounds of subconscious information. He shares his concept of "thin slicing" with compelling examples. A worthwhile read. This is somewhat unusual for me, choosing instead some bestseller such as "Da Vinci" by Brown or "Katzenjammer" by McCrae-this book is a VERY OBVIOUS departure for me!!! That said, here's what I think: We are laden with too much information and many of us have the mistaken assumption that the best way to work with all of this information is through careful, detailed, analysis. Malcom gives us a wake-up call. Our mind is a pattern machine that is capable of making quick jumps and accurate conclusions with very little information. The book's premise and assertions are its strength. The writing is engaging but the packaging a bit too commercial and in some spots faulty. If you have to make a quick decision - I say buy the book and read it - just use it as a starting point to conduct your own observations of how to make quick decisions and be more intuitive.
If you're looking for a great fiction read, try the book KATZENJAMMER by J.T. McCrae, or the novel CAT'S CRADLE by Vonnegut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Interesting Book, Aug. 19 2006
By 
Jeff Summers "The Business Reader" (North Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was an awesome book to read - really makes you think. It was interesting to read about how fast we make judgements, but more interestly, why we make many of the judgements we do. If you like books that are about the "whys" of the world, then this is a great book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well written and interesting, Dec 19 2008
By 
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
I thought that Blink is a very good book, because it makes a simple and interesting point about split-second decisions, and then it blends in appropriate examples and anecdotes well. Gladwell's writing is interesting, he never really strays from his original idea that was presented well in the first few pages, and the book is short enough to hold your attention until the end.

If you are someone like me who often gets bored reading non-fiction books that drag on in various directions, Blink will likely be a refreshing alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not factually correct, July 9 2007
By 
Andrew S. Crooks "Andrew Sheldon" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read Michael R. LeGault's book 'Think' before I read this book, so was confused by the title, though now see the relationship. I could hardly flaw Michael's analysis of the thought process, as opposed to 'Blink' by Malcolm Gladwell. As a critical thinker, I think the art is under-appreciated...and the fact that this book was a best seller only highlights the fact that people have no skill in the art. So to society I say, buy this book...you deserve Malcolm. For anyone of higher intellect, I still think its worth reading if you possess the skills of critical analysis...as much as I dont like bad thinkers being rewarded, you can learn from his anecdotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revealing, March 3 2008
By 
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
Another great book by Gladwell. The best part is that he explains why gut feelings may not be correct. Many people go to the bank with gut feelings and lose. Gladwell explains why. On the other hand some people do well with gut feelings. (All is basically the quality of the information that you store in your subconscious.) An 'aha!' type of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful look at snap decisions, Nov. 7 2007
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
No wonder this is a best seller. The author explains in an easy to follow way, the power of snap decisions and how they work. It shows how powerful and accurate instantaneous decisions can be, that we often are at odds to explain how we arrived at. Gladwell explains how these decisions are arrived at by the meticulous gathering of information by our unconscious.

However they are not always accurate and this is largely due to bias, such as stereotyping and prejudices. No doubt hormones play a role in that bias too, such as when people 'fall' in love and go on to marry that person. Gladwell here sites a number of studies by psychologist John Gottman, who discovered after studying thousands of interviews with married couples that he was able to tell with 95% accuracy whether a couple would remain together after 15 years from just observing an interview with a couple for 15 minutes.

An interesting book that makes one think about the powerful working of the unconscious and how to use it in beneficial ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great study on how our minds work, Nov. 4 2007
By 
Lynne Grey (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
This well-written book shows several studies that have been conducted on how we can, in a 'blink', make an accurate assessment of any situation. The catch, however, is that one must be knowledgeable about the situation at hand.

It also shows how we can be programmed into biases by those who know how to do such things.

This book is very insightful on just how our brains are wired to work. A very interesting subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbb9def00)

This product

Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking by Malcolm Gladwell (Paperback - Dec 4 2006)
CDN$ 19.00 CDN$ 13.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews